We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Visit instructive and invigorating.”

Navajo National Monument
Ranked #1 of 1 things to do in Tonalea
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Home to Betatakin and Keet Seel, the ruins of dwellings dating back to 950-1300 A.D.
Curitiba
Level Contributor
78 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Visit instructive and invigorating.”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Beautiful place. Easy and free access. After a nice walk for about 15 minutes we reach the point where we can observe (with binoculars provided by the park) the ruins of a pre-Columbian settlement. The structure of the park is great with friendly staff, a good gift shop and bathrooms, and ample parking. Regularly they promote hiking to the ruins. Is only 9 miles from the main highway and it seems to me a place that should be visited by those who visit the Grand Canyon and Monument Valley.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Andre B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    68
    13
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Thompson Review”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

What an great place to see and very scenic! The Navajo and State Parks should make people more aware of this site as it isn't well sign posted. We spoke to various other couples who had either missed the turn off or did not know it existed.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lee T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, Indiana
Level Contributor
502 reviews
217 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 240 helpful votes
“Lovely stop to see Navajo ruins”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stopped by here on our way to Grand Canyon North Rim and we very pleased with the welcome center (there were artisans in the lobby making baskets, pottery, textiles) as well as the ruins themselves. The walk to see them was completely paved and easy to navigate. Worth the stop on your way to or from Monument Valley.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Linda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Hidden gem!!!”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

As we were driving to Monument Valley, we saw a tiny sign along the road that said "Navajo National Monument". We made a snap decision to swing a U-turn and see what was up. We were so glad that we did! This place is a hidden gem! First of all, while there is a fee, it is nominal. I was actually shocked at how inexpensive it was. There is a little museum and gift shop with restrooms -- no food. So, it is about a 1.5 hike toward the Canyon where you then have a beautiful overlook to ancient Puebloan ruins -- a full city built out of mud inside a cave (of sorts). Amazing!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank amywhetzel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cool adobe-type houses”
Reviewed August 3, 2013

We drove from Sedona. It was a long drive. It was a good thing that we went early because we didn't know that they're in the mountain time zone. When we left, we saw people pulling up but the park had already closed. You could still visit and go to the trails but the visitor centre is closed after 5:30 MT. We did manage to get to one of the lookout points and saw the houses from afar. Apparently, there are trails to take us further right up to the dig site (I think). But nonetheless, it was quite an experience to see.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank E F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Navajo National Monument also viewed

 

Been to Navajo National Monument? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing