We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Spirit Rock Outpost & Lodge
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Wiarton
Reviewed June 27, 2013

My family booked three rooms a few months ago. The Spirit Rock is under new ownership and what a difference. The owners and staff were polite and accommodating. Its nice to see owners that truly care about their business and their customers satisfaction. the rooms were spotless, the rates were reasonable. you will not find a better place to stay in this area.

The new "Outpost" is awesome and has a great selection of gear for any outdoor activity on the Bruce

Room Tip: there are different types and room configurations to choose from. staff will point these options ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bill j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (50)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 50 reviews

Reviewed June 26, 2013

We stayed for a weekend. I had booked the reservation months in advance so was a little worried they would have forgotten or lost it. No worries whatsoever on check in. Check in was quick, the rooms were nothing fancy but fresh and clean, as was the bathroom. We were hiking in the area, so showers were important, lots of hot water and good pressure. The bedding and towels were decent too. The beds were not the best for comfort, but not terrible. perhaps the queen rooms are better? We stayed in a room with two doubles. Bob, our host was outstanding. We were provided with a continental breakfast, there was a kitchen area where we could prepare our own food and barbeques if we wanted to grill supper. At night, we sat around the campfire our host had prepared for us. All in all a great stay. We will be back in a few weeks for more hiking, we will definitely stay here.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wendy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

We stayed at Spirit Rock for one evening after attending a family event. We stayed here a few years ago under the previous owner who had the quilt shop and motel. While some things have been updated such as the bed linens, and the front lobby which now features hunting gear and ice cream, (interesting combo) most things were the same. What is good is still good - location, outdoor back area with firepit, bbq's and play area for kids, basic, clean rooms and good water pressure! What was poor is still poor - hard beds, lumpy pillows (we used our own), thin towels and a back door that doesn't lock (wooden broom handle substitutes). New owners are friendly and want to make this place successful. Continued updates to the rooms to justify the new pricing will help!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sailorgirlmn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Great sheets and bedding, wonderful water pressure, new tub surrounds. Overall clean and fresh rooms. Reasonable prices. New owners were so helpful, and made us feel at home. Staff were all eager to help. They made our stays so much easier.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tammy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

We stayed there for a night on a bike trip. I am glad we drove through the town to find this gem up on the hill. If has great curb appeal and the rooms are basic, but nice. The new owner was nice. The room was $99, which I feel is standard for a room anywhere during the busier season in a town like this. I would hope the winter rates would be a little lower.
Our room did not have a hair dryer which my wife was looking for, but we were on the bike so helmet head would set in shortly anyway.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Our hiking club, the Lambton Outdoor Club, reserved the entire Lodge for the Victoria Day weekend when we hiked the Bruce Trail. All of us agreed that Bob did a terrific job of making us feel at home and did everything possible to ensure we were satisfied. He exceeded our expectations. He has upgraded all the units to a point they are very clean and comfortable. I am sure the upgrades will continue. The large open area behind the Lodge was perfect for us to meet and relax. We definitely look forward to our next excursion into the Wiarton area so we can experience such wonderful service.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2015, traveled as a couple
Thank Jacinthe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wiarton
1.1 mi away
Waterview on The Bay
Waterview on The Bay
#1 of 4 in Wiarton
368 reviews
20.4 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#1 of 4 in Southampton
149 reviews
10.0 mi away
Sauble Beach Lodge
Sauble Beach Lodge
#3 of 6 in Sauble Beach
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
Lakeview Motel & Cottages
Lakeview Motel & Cottages
#2 of 6 in Sauble Beach
94 reviews
1.6 mi away
Wiarton Willy's Inn
Wiarton Willy's Inn
#4 of 4 in Wiarton
52 reviews
8.9 mi away
Kit Wat Motel Restaurant & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Spirit Rock Outpost & Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Spirit Rock Outpost & Lodge

Address: 877 Berford Street, Highway #6 North | Box 179, Wiarton, Ontario N0H 2T0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Bruce County > Wiarton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Wiarton
Price Range: $94 - $97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set against a backdrop of cedar and hardwood bush, just a short walk to a spectacular view of Georgian Bay, The Spirit Rock Lodge has 11 units. 7 units have 2 double beds and 4 feature 2 queen beds and a pull out futon. All rooms lend the feeling of heading to the cottage for some needed time away. In each room you will find a fridge, A.C., and walkout to the backyard playground with barbecues, an outdoor kitchen and fire pits. There is a common kitchenette area which any guest may use at any time and select rooms contain microwaves.A continental breakfast of fresh muffins, cereal, fruit, yogurt, juice and coffee is served in the Outpost each morning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Spirit Rock Outpost & Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Spirit Rock Outpost & Lodge Wiarton, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing