We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romance”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Waterview on The Bay
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Wiarton
Certificate of Excellence
Burlington, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Romance”
Reviewed March 28, 2009

We celebrated our 15 anniversary here and it was fantastic. The private balcony with a hot tub was a dream for my husband and a nice fireplace. The staff were a dream come true. The view of Colpoy's bay was even nicer in the winter if that is possible. We had a great time freezing in the bruce. My friend commented how come we never go south and I always say we LOVE CANADA. yeh.........

  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank colleensaunders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    90
    22
    15
    6
See reviews for
116
148
10
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
1 review
Reviewed November 9, 2008

Thank goodness for the Waterview on the Bay! From the moment we saw it we fell in love and knew that this was the place for us to get married. Evan and Dave were 100% supportive and so on the ball with all of the organizing it made things so much easier for us. We had a beautiful (and quite entertaining) weekend wedding the last weekend of September. From the first moment of booking our wedding to the last moment of us driving away (almost with our hotel key in hand) at the end of the weekend, we never stopped being so impressed and completely appreciative of everything that Dave and Evan and the rest of the staff did for us. They were great at accomodating everybody's dietary needs and arrival schedules, always greeting new guests with a wonderful smile and great energy. We really couldn't have asked for better people to be involved in making our wedding so fantastic and totally memorable
...and really, who wouldn't want to be hanging out in their wedding dress by an amazing bonfire singing songs with the people she loves?

  • Liked — i loved the idea of a family run business. the owners are always interested in making your stay a great one.
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Scottthedudebox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2008

After booking last minute by phone and confirming how late check-in was available, we drove up to the Waterview and talked to the same person who we booked the motel with and he complained that we were arriving too late. It was late (11pm) in the evening but the fellow indicated when we booked that he was available until midnight for check-in.

We have never been treated so rudely and we ended up leaving and finding another room elsewhere.

When we called earlier in the day, he was not very professional and complained how busy he was. We should have known then that there could be a problem.

Not sure how the rooms are but my experience with the customer service is terrible.

  • Disliked — Terrible customer service
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Check in / front desk
Helpful?
2 Thank The_Speedie_Dee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaterviewOnTheBay, Owner at Waterview on The Bay, responded to this review, November 14, 2008
We are very sorry to hear that anyone would feel that we were less than professional or unfriendly. We pride ourselves, a fact subtantiated by the vast majority of our guests, in providing a warm, welcoming atmosphere, where we go out of our way to ensure our guests comfort and "feeling of being at home". We have hundreds of letters and postcards on file attesting to the Waterview being a fabulous place to stay. I'm not sure why this person chose to write a negative review about the Watrerview, but we encourage you to check us out yourself. You will be more than pleased, we assure you! David & Evan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, ON
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2008

We are a couple in their early 30s who live in the GTA. Our families are from the Wiarton area and Manitoulin Island so we do have a fondness for Georgian Bay!

On May 24th, 2008 we got married at the Waterview on the Bay, it was an entire weekend event and we encourage you to read more about it on their website. We were actually lucky to get that weekend because we started talking to the staff at Christmastime and everything else was already booked. Dave and Evan are the owners and are absolutely fantastic to work with (I can't forget their right hand lady Tracey too). In four short months we were able to plan the perfect wedding for us. It helps that they have so much experience and there really is so much in place - one place for the wedding, accomodations, reception, many decorations already in place and fabulous food (not to mention fireworks, bonfires and spiderdogs!). That left us flowers, photographer, DJ and a cake to take care of.

The Waterview offers a great atmosphere with a wide range of room styles and prices. I would recommend it to anyone! Many of the rooms have fireplaces and whirlpool tubs and are perfect for a romantic getaway. We plan on heading back there in the future for sure! Dave and Evan are great hosts and will recommend all sorts of stuff in the area from hiking to icecream parlours. On-site there are paddleboats, volleyball net, dock and pretty gardens.

This is a great spot for a wedding, hosting any event, or just getting away for a few days. In terms of the wedding, everything was fantastic. There sure were a lot of people who loved the food! We'd highly recommend the bacon wrapped green beans and apricot stuffed pork!

We stayed an extra few nights after the wedding and are thrilled we did! It was quiet and picturesque. To be honest we finished off the weekend by ordering pizza and going down to the lake to eat it on the beach ... along with champagne of course since it was our wedding weekend! So as you can see, the Waterview offers something for everyone!

If you are planning a wedding there and looking for some great vendors in the area please don't hesitate to contact us mann1050@aol.com.

Enjoy your vacation at the Waterview! Tina and Jack

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank mann1050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Ontario
1 review
Reviewed August 22, 2008

We tried this spot based on a recommendation and couldn't have been happier. Our room was nicely decorated and properly equipped, the grounds were pleasant, the staff and owners were truly caring and the view tremendous.

They have an excellent quality breakfast buffet. The pool was clean and comfortable. Great spot for a family or a quiet weekend get away.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Jethro905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London Ontario
1 review
Reviewed August 2, 2008

We don't get away very often but my husband and I stayed here for 2 nights and loved this place. We stayed in one of the Colpoys Suites and the room was clean and comfortable with a very private balcony overlooking the pool, the grounds and the bay. It's within driving distance of a lot of beautiful scenery and points of interest. The only complaint we had (which doesn't reflect on this property at all) was that it was almost impossible to find somewhere in Wiarton to eat after 8 p.m. other than Subway and New Orleans Pizza.

  • Liked — View and Privacy
  • Disliked — Nowhere nearby to eat
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Ready2Retire60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wiarton
10.9 mi away
Sauble Beach Lodge
Sauble Beach Lodge
#3 of 6 in Sauble Beach
133 reviews
21.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#1 of 4 in Southampton
136 reviews
14.7 mi away
Best Western Inn On The Bay
Best Western Inn On The Bay
#1 of 10 in Owen Sound
496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.8 mi away
Knights Inn Owen Sound
Knights Inn Owen Sound
#2 of 10 in Owen Sound
156 reviews
15.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Owen Sound
Comfort Inn Owen Sound
#4 of 10 in Owen Sound
166 reviews
9.9 mi away
Kit Wat Motel Restaurant & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterview on The Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterview on The Bay

Property: Waterview on The Bay
Address: 501205 Grey Road 1 | Rr 1, Wiarton, Ontario N0H 2T0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Bruce County > Wiarton
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Wiarton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Waterview on The Bay 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Waterview is a 4-acre waterfront resort/motel located on the shores of Georgian Bay minutes from the town of Wiarton on the beautiful Bruce Peninsula. There is a variety of rooms to choose from, some even have fireplaces and in-room Jacuzzis with private decks - all overlooking the bay, add a heated in ground outdoor pool, fully equipped banquet hall for special events such as weddings, evening bonfires, and hosts that go out of their way to please! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Waterview on The Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterview On The Bay Wiarton, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing