We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful retreat in our own backyard”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Waterview on The Bay
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Wiarton
Certificate of Excellence
Hamilton, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“beautiful retreat in our own backyard”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

We visited this Resort five years ago for a short visit 5 years ago ,with our new puppy (Charlie)one of the few hotels that allow pets at that time , and that was one of the main reasons five years later to go back to Waterview Resort.Again with(Charlie ) ,we enjoy our stay very much , the pool and the beach (private)the breakfast on the weekend was pretty good including the local paper on your table , we enjoyed dinner in our balcony overlooking the bay, and we meet new people by the fire pit,drinking wine .the owners treat you like family and very attentive to our needs, our dog had a great time playing on the beach with two other dogs , we will be back more sooner than later.
will be great to have BbQ dinners on Saturdays night by the patio, nothing luxury; just burgers and sausages and some salads , .Dave & Evan you guys Rock.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms are newer and bigger , Jacuzzi and fireplace,but you have to climb 2 set of stairs .
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mauricio G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    93
    22
    15
    9
See reviews for
123
151
11
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, Canada
1 review
Reviewed July 10, 2013

My husband and I along with our bulldog, Roxy just spent the weekend at the beautiful Waterview and would love to go back. We had a room on the upper floor with a fireplace and jacuzzi and the room felt just like home. The balcony from all the rooms overlooked the heated pool with a view of the bay. David and Evan have paid special attention to every detail so that guests will be comfortable. Breakfast buffet for $10 was great too! This was our first time in that area and we will definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovsons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

There were 9 of us in our group and a dog. I'm sure that Evan and David will never forget our group - Some fun kids from the Rama area! (actually there were no kids). Stayed July 6/7th, enjoyed the beach all day, the sunsets and the bonfire. Probably too much wine as well. The buffet breakfast was splendid. I suggest you read the 'manual' that's in your room, as it answers all your questions about this property/area, the history and the neat behind the scenes look at how things once were. It was a great adult get away for us, and the property size is good, you can have enough room to do your own thing (outdoor games/cooking) without disturbing anyone. Bring water shoes! It's a bit rocky. A cooler with wheels is handy to roll down to the beach area. The mini fridge in the room was handy too, as we brought our own food items for the bbq area.
We will be back next year, with more friends!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aquagal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Our 18 people (6 family including senors 68 and children 7 years) planed the long weekend trip to Bruce Peninsula since the end of May. At the begining we prefer to rent a cottage, but we find no such big cottage for so many people or fully booked already or have to book 1 week. Try to seach all motels and hotels in Peninsula or Owen sound, suddenly find this family style motel (general condition=2 star motel such as Red roof motel). Really good price (nearly the cheapest motel and hotels), 45mins to Bruce peninsula national park and 1 hrs Tobermay (80/100km drive), located in Georgian Bay and small town Wiarton 3mins lose to Tim horton, Petro Canada, restaurant, supermarket, convenient store and hospital. Air conditioning,shower and toilet working very well and heater in the room, wireless internet free, (many motels shower and toilet not working good, dirty and smell bad), clean room, many towers avaialable. we enjoyed the beach valleyball although ball is not too good, the sands are good and comfortable, beach chairs comfortable and stand in beach already, BBQ available, swimming pool good, a huge party room with many tables and enough space for fun, you can play very late without disturbing others (not adhere to your rest room). The owners are really warm heart, nice and helpful. We also enjoyed the fireworks with the music in the beach. In general, we are very satisfied with all equipments and rooms and the service, more than we expected. A perfect place to stay ! ( many intersting places closed to this motel too)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ericc L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alliston, Canada
1 review
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Stumbled upon the Waterview over a decade ago while touring the Peninsula with my 4 kids. It was late and I didnt want to miss the scenery along #1 so we pulled in for the night. They were booked solid except 1 room on the bottom floor. Dave and Evan graciously accommodated our need for extra cots (there was 6 of us!) and hosted a wonderful bonfire with spider-wienies and s'mores for the kids while we sipped drinks and met several other travelers! The next morning we had a lovely breakfast in the rec. hall, a swim in the pool and a quick paddle boat/canoe ride along the private beach. Before we left, Evan showed us the 3rd floor suites with jacuzzi-tub, fireplace, super-comfy beds and an incredible view over Colpoy bay and the rock-face cliffs across it from a private large balcony! We promised ourselves a return trip, without the kids, and have enjoyed most of the 3rd floor suites in every season! The gardens are constantly growing and slowly filling in the 4 acre paradise. We always look forward to coming back. Dave and Evans hospitality remains sincere and gracious as our first visit many summers ago! Thanks guys, for a wonderful experience! see you soon...

Room Tip: pre-book 3rd floor suites... they go fast!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikenjo-go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 20, 2013

After having a terrible experience at Wiarton Willies Motel we went to the Waterview on The Bay and were greeted with exceptional service and a beautiful room. Both Dave and Evan went all
out to make our stay very enjoyable. We had a beautiful view of Colpoys Bay and the bed
was very comfortable.We will definately recommend this beautiful place.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bar2468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
409 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

On Fathers day we went to Owen Sound, stopped in Wiarton, and stayed at the Waterview Resort. It was such a pleasant stay, Dave & Evan made us feel so at home. From our room, we has such a beautiful view of the lake and sunset. We also had a bonfire at night. I will say this is a wonderful place to stay, and the bed was very comfortable. We will be going back hopefully in the fall.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 282Juliette282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wiarton
20.8 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#1 of 4 in Southampton
142 reviews
10.5 mi away
Sauble Beach Lodge
Sauble Beach Lodge
#3 of 6 in Sauble Beach
139 reviews
14.6 mi away
Best Western Inn On The Bay
Best Western Inn On The Bay
#1 of 10 in Owen Sound
521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Owen Sound
Comfort Inn Owen Sound
#4 of 10 in Owen Sound
168 reviews
14.7 mi away
Knights Inn Owen Sound
Knights Inn Owen Sound
#2 of 10 in Owen Sound
163 reviews
1.6 mi away
Wiarton Willy's Inn
Wiarton Willy's Inn
#4 of 4 in Wiarton
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterview on The Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterview on The Bay

Property: Waterview on The Bay
Address: 501205 Grey Road 1 | Rr 1, Wiarton, Ontario N0H 2T0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Bruce County > Wiarton
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Wiarton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Waterview on The Bay 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Waterview is a 4-acre waterfront resort/motel located on the shores of Georgian Bay minutes from the town of Wiarton on the beautiful Bruce Peninsula. There is a variety of rooms to choose from, some even have fireplaces and in-room Jacuzzis with private decks - all overlooking the bay, add a heated in ground outdoor pool, fully equipped banquet hall for special events such as weddings, evening bonfires, and hosts that go out of their way to please! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Waterview on The Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterview On The Bay Wiarton, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing