We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Family Reunion place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Waterview on The Bay
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Wiarton
Certificate of Excellence
Sarnia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Best Family Reunion place to stay”
Reviewed March 12, 2013

This was such a great holiday and a wonderful atmosphere for our family to get together. The hosts were awesome and did everything they could to make our stay comfortable. We enjoyed the rooms and the grounds. What a beautiful gem this is on the shores of Georgian Bay. Prices were great and we will visit again.

Room Tip: Balcony rooms facing the water are super.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    90
    22
    15
    6
See reviews for
116
148
10
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Evan and David are wonderful hosts and the event we attended at the hotel was just great! They go out of their way to be helpful and are accommodating in every way. The room was clean and we had a beautiful view of the bay. The room could use a little updating but i'm sure that is in their plan somewhere! The breakfast on Saturday and Sunday morning was yummy and fresh and out of this world ...thank you Martin! Our relatives had their anniversary tea dn dinner here and the food and hospitality was great! I would definately stay here again!

Room Tip: Definately get the main floor or the upper floor for best view of the Bay ! Road bit noisy but calms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Booked for three nights but after viewing the room cancelled third night. Room 11 very disappointing. Small and inconvenient. No table or chair or place to put luggage. Small Bathroom only has toilet & odd shaped shower stall. Balcony overlooked water so the view was nice but only had one dirty plastic chair & small wire table. Counter & sink was large enough for a small coffee maker which was supplied with 1 pouch of coffer & written suggestion that if more was needed it could be purchased for $2.00. Three creamers were in the small fridge and curdled when put into my coffee so was thankful there was a Tims a short drive away. A small TV table was usefull! Towels and Linens were clean but very tired as well as everything else in the room. No point in saying more other than I can't believe we stayed at the same place as the other reviewers, our experience was nothing like they describe. I would not recommend Room 11 & at half the price it would still be overpriced. We would not stay at Waterview again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kori37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
1 review
Reviewed September 21, 2012

The Waterview on the Bay is located on the outskirts of Wiarton Ontario which is close enough for a morning run to Tim Hortons and the 24hr grocery store. It has a lovely view of the bay, a private beach, banquet and event facilities and lovey landscaping fit for photo ops as well as an outdoor swimming pool for lounging and relaxing. The bridal suite was warm and cozy equippent with a large, luxurious four post bed, a fireplace and a jacuzzi tub. We drank some wine and watched the sunset from the private deck off our 3rd floor room. Over all it was a clean, comfortable, welcoming room. We will stay there again.

Room Tip: The top floor are the top rated, jacuzzi rooms with the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ckp113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Our family of 4 (2 kids) recently stayed at the Waterview and we could not have been happier! the rooms were meticulously clean and were clearly evident of a great degree of care and interest from the owners. The owners by the way, are a lovely couple who are very engaged with their property and all their hard work is evident throughout.
My family is originally from Grey Bruce, so I know the area very well, and can confidently say that this is the nicest property in the area. We stayed on the upper level (room 1) and a lovely main level room( A) view, amenities, and cleanliness were pristine.
Please do not be discouraged when you first pull in from a main street- the rooms are very quiet and face the beautiful waterfront. The little beach and dock are so calming and lovely and the sunsets are gorgeous. The hotel is a great spot for day tripping and the kids loved the pool!
the Breakfast buffet on the weekends is very good,the staff lovely, the night skys beautiful for star watching.
The hotel itself is older so noise from some adjoining suites/balconies may be noticeable, however, we just left our fan running and truly, in the end, it was no big deal....didnt even have to do that really..... When we returned home, we forgot a mattress cover we left to protect the lovely mattress from our occasionally bed wetting 7 yr old....the hotel contacted us and were willing to mail it back to us...very wonderful service...very nice
If you go to the Waterview you will be falling asleep early due to the fresh country air so enjoy the days and know that this is a great property for the area
will always recommend the waterview!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cindy g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshawa, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

We come up to Sauble Beach every summer. For the past three years we have stayed at the Waterviw in Wiarton, which is about 15 min from Sauble, buts worth the drive. The Colpoy rooms on the top floor have wonderful comfy beds, fridge and coffeemaker, and an incredible private deck where you can eat breakfast or dinner overlooking a private view of Colpoys Bay. It is facing the sunset, so you are shaded in the morning and have an incredible view at dusk. Dave and Evan have a campfirex every night with roasted marshmallows and music. Heated pool if you prefer, or if the lake is cold. Private beach to walk out, but a bit rocky to swim. Barbecue on the side dek for anyone to use allows you to cookout and then eat up on your private balcony. Only thing we dont like is that the fridge is is the bathroom...but at least there is a fridge, which is really handy.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms worth the few dollars extra for the private balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shadowcats2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Ontario, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 12, 2012

I've been going there now for 9 years. Great service, very clean rooms. Great staff. Always friendly. I love the landscaping. Great beach. Amazing sunsets. Great for photographers. The location is ideal if you want to tour the whole peninsula. Can't wait to go back next year.

Room Tip: Every room is awesome. You can't go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wiarton
10.9 mi away
Sauble Beach Lodge
Sauble Beach Lodge
#3 of 6 in Sauble Beach
133 reviews
21.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#1 of 4 in Southampton
136 reviews
14.7 mi away
Best Western Inn On The Bay
Best Western Inn On The Bay
#1 of 10 in Owen Sound
496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.8 mi away
Knights Inn Owen Sound
Knights Inn Owen Sound
#2 of 10 in Owen Sound
156 reviews
15.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Owen Sound
Comfort Inn Owen Sound
#4 of 10 in Owen Sound
166 reviews
9.9 mi away
Kit Wat Motel Restaurant & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterview on The Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterview on The Bay

Property: Waterview on The Bay
Address: 501205 Grey Road 1 | Rr 1, Wiarton, Ontario N0H 2T0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Bruce County > Wiarton
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Wiarton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Waterview on The Bay 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Waterview is a 4-acre waterfront resort/motel located on the shores of Georgian Bay minutes from the town of Wiarton on the beautiful Bruce Peninsula. There is a variety of rooms to choose from, some even have fireplaces and in-room Jacuzzis with private decks - all overlooking the bay, add a heated in ground outdoor pool, fully equipped banquet hall for special events such as weddings, evening bonfires, and hosts that go out of their way to please! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Waterview on The Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterview On The Bay Wiarton, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing