We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quiet retreat by the water” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Waterview on The Bay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Waterview on The Bay
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Wiarton
Certificate of Excellence
Stratford, Canada
Level Contributor
54 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Quiet retreat by the water”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2012

Stopped in after a long day driving. Hotel was half full & we took 2nd floor room with jacuzzi. Clean, quiet and comfortable room. Beds are good. The best part....was access to the gardens & the water. Sat on a chair with feet in the bay watching the sun go down with glass of wine. They even have a sandy beach (perhaps trucked in). Very nice. A great spot for a wedding I would say. Would go back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank K2C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    201
    83
    22
    15
    6
See reviews for
112
141
10
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brampton, Ontario, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2012

We were a group of 6 Families with 2 pets and we had a great time at the resort. Friendly owners and staff, clean linens and rooms. We had a lovely stay and would recommend this resort to anyone wanting to have a nice relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank S Anand S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2012

Our family really enjoyed our stay at Waterview on the Bay, we watched beautiful sunsets from our balcony, had great evening bonfires, kids enjoyed the pool, bbq's and relax time. The rooms were kept clean, the bed was very comfortable, it was a wonderful way to spend the week in the Bruce, planning day trips, Tobermory, Lions Head etc., and of course driving to Sauble Beach was only 20 minutes away. Will be returning next year, it is extremely hard to find a place in the Bruce that is equivalent to a 5 Star Hilton, what the other reviewer was looking for, I would suggest go vacation in the big cities, very unfair rating a place that only has 6 months of a year to accomodate vacationers, if you can find something better in the Bruce let me know. Only thing is we wish there was a choice for daily breakfast and the TV's were updated to LCD's and larger in size.

J. Turner
Windsor, ON

Room Tip: Get a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brantford, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012

This is not a resort! Initially, we had some conflicting information making reservations, and apparent clerical/internet issues upon calling. The owners seemed nice enough, but we really didn't have much of a need to interact with them. Found the "resort" so over priced, we paid $110 +taxes a night, with a min two night charge! We only really needed to stay the night, with late afternoon check in and early out, so we really spent most of the time in the room, and no breakfast! Our small room with balcony and lake/pool view, was painted a taupy grey, and grimly decorated with mismatched used furniture that looked like it was picked up road side garbage day. The beds were very comfortable, sheets and towels looked clean, and bathroom looked surface clean. However, the bathroom was very old, and not in a good way. Moldy caulking around tub, stained toilet, and dust accumulated air vents/ bath fan. The room had a strong musty, odor which made it hard to sleep. We had a good time there, but mostly because we were joining our family for a celebration. The grounds are lovely, but I don't think that this is the only requirement needed to fulfill resort status. We've stayed at 3 other b&b's in Ontario, and 4 others internationally (and many countless hotels, which I am not making a comparison to here). Not all lucky enough to have such a nice property, they still make this one seem rather terrible, and particularity over priced. Definitely, a $60 a night stay not a penny more. Just can't see what the other reviewers are saying! I don't have a personal beef with the place, but I was reading the reviews, and it just doesn't seem like it makes sense. Perhaps it is the nicest motel in Wiarton, as I am unfamiliar with the area. Chances are I don't have to stay here again, and I won't.

Room Tip: If you have money to burn spend it on the best suite...middle priced rooms were akin to that of a na...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 502Sara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meaford, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2012

So grateful to find a family resort that accommodated our family pets as well. A little disappointed that there was no beachfront for swimming really, but the pool did make up for it.

Room Tip: The food service was unable to provide gluten free options which was disappointing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank G0G0B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

My wife and i attended a wedding, on this property. There could not have been a better place that you could be Courtious staff and Owners where fantastic.

Room Tip: Stay on the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Al H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

Greatly enjoyed the Waterview on the Bay. The room was clean and had a great view of the beautiful grounds. The Muskoka chairs down by the water were so inviting, allowing us to delight in the beauty of the exquisite sunsets. I will definitely return when I'm in the area, and would recommend this resort to anyone wanting a beautiful, quiet getaway in Wiarton!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelBugChicks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wiarton
14.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Inn On The Bay
BEST WESTERN Inn On The Bay
#1 of 10 in Owen Sound
4.5 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
20.8 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#1 of 4 in Southampton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
15.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Owen Sound
Comfort Inn Owen Sound
#4 of 10 in Owen Sound
3.5 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.8 mi away
Knights Inn Owen Sound
Knights Inn Owen Sound
#2 of 10 in Owen Sound
4.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
10.5 mi away
Sauble Beach Lodge
Sauble Beach Lodge
#4 of 6 in Sauble Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
1.9 mi away
Peninsula Motel
Peninsula Motel
#4 of 9 in Wiarton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterview on The Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterview on The Bay

Property: Waterview on The Bay
Address: 501205 Grey Road 1 | RR 1, Wiarton, Ontario N0H 2T0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Bruce County > Wiarton
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Wiarton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Waterview on The Bay 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Waterview is a 4-acre waterfront resort/motel located on the shores of Georgian Bay minutes from the town of Wiarton on the beautiful Bruce Peninsula. There is a variety of rooms to choose from, some even have fireplaces and in-room Jacuzzis with private decks - all overlooking the bay, add a heated in ground outdoor pool, fully equipped banquet hall for special events such as weddings, evening bonfires, and hosts that go out of their way to please! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Waterview on The Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterview On The Bay Wiarton, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing