We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall it was a good stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Benmiller Inn & Spa
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Goderich
Reviewed August 20, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for 2 nights in August 2012. Deciding we needed a vacation from our other vacation we thought the Benmiller Inn would do the trick and there was a good mid-week special on that she found on their website. As others have mentioned there is still some tornado damage to the property, but this consists mainly of downed trees on the property and will not detracted from a stay. The property and facilities are showing a bit age and the resort has a more rustic feel than something uber-modern. However, the room we had was great (Select room) and overlooked Sharpe’s Pond and I really had no issues with it. My wife took advantage of the spa portion of the trip and had good things to say about the services. The dining room severed a good breakfast and our dinner was good as well. The menu was not overly creative but sourced its food locally. Diner of 2 appetizers, 2 entree’s 4-drinks came to $150 with tax. if you like to hike there are some good trials very close and the towns of Goderich and Bayfield are close-by and really great low-key, slow paced locations.

My only real beef was the bridge construction that was going on so the tranquility of the resort, at least on the pool/spa side, was not great during the day time, they usually left around 6-ish.
It would also be nice if there was a more traffic free-access between the two sides of the resort.

Room Tip: The resort is not contiguous and separated by the pond and bridge. If you are on the main side you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank novak500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawn B, Front Office Manager at Benmiller Inn & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2012

The bridge work will be done in a few weeks and unfortunately was something that was beyond our control. Our country Inn is a quiet, peaceful place where one can come to relax and rejuvenate. I am glad your wife had a chance to check out our Aveda spa and enjoyed it.
We do hope to see you again in the future. Thank you for taking the time to post a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (358)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

241 - 247 of 358 reviews

Reviewed August 19, 2012

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Mimi654
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Dawn B, Front Office Manager at Benmiller Inn & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

My husband and I stayed here during the mid-week, so we enjoyed the special package which included a dining and spa credit. Our room had a picture perfect view in the Gledhill House. The pool was right across the road which was very convenient for a quick hot tub in the evening. We used the nearby hiking trails and saw a bald-eagle. As other's have mentioned there is a lot of evidence of the storm last summer.

As with many historic inns, you are definitely not going necessarily for a "modern" experience but I believe some paint touch ups, weeding and cleaning the room fan (which had a fair layer of dust on the blades) would go a long way in the general appearance and feel of this place.

The dining room food was good but based on the price point, we would expect our servers not to be wearing yoga pants as their uniform.

Overall, it was a relaxing time away. The spa was great! Unfortunately there was bridge construction during the time we were there so from 8 a.m. -6 p.m. the sound of drilling overshadowed the sound of nature. I am glad we were on the mid-week package and would have been very disappointed if we were paying full-price.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kara2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawn B, Front Office Manager at Benmiller Inn & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We always appreciate feedback as that is how we grow and become a stronger better team. The bridge repairs will be over in a few weeks and though we tried to get them to postpone starting until late fall, we were not able to.
The renovations from the tornado are almost complete and in another week all rooms will be reopened again and we are very much looking forward to completing them and moving forward - getting things back to normal.
We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

We just celebrated our 10th anniversary with dinner and a stay at the Benmiller. Our room in the Gledhill House was amazing with a balcony almost over the river. Our suite was massive with a king size bed, jacuzzi,sauna, and a separate room for reading or watching TV. We were right across from the indoor pool that we had all to ourselves. Spend the extra $50 or $100 and get the a room in the Gledhill House.
Our stay included a $100 dinner voucher and two free breakfasts. Yes, you have to walk the equivalent of two blocks to get to the restaurant. The walk incudes a bridge over a beatiful river and through a wonderful property despite the tornado damage. And that dinner, get the scallops and steak followed by creme brulee. It may just be the best meal you'll ever have. Yes, diiner takes just under 2 hours. Take your time. Talk to the person you are there with. Enjoy the view of the river (sit in the far room by one of the windows).
Breakfast is nothing special when you compare it to dinner but I haven't seen anything better in Ontario.
The staff was wonderful for the entire time even with a wedding going on. They sent drinks to our room and brought out a vase for the flowers I made my wife carry around all day (just like her bridal bouquet). This place is only a short drive for us but Blyth Goderich and Bayfield are all within 20 minutes. It is certainly worth the drive if you are looking for a quiet romantic evening.
Did I mention I paid $350 for the whole thing? How can you beat that?

Room Tip: This place is super cheap for what you get so don't cheap out; get one the Gledhill house suites...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Greentaco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawn B, Front Office Manager at Benmiller Inn & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to your next stay. Cheers to many more Happy Anniversaries!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2012

Goderich still has visible signs of the storm damage from last year.This is also the case at the Benmiller Inn.However, this did not detract from our two nights stay in The Gledhill House.Our room was very large and comfortable,with a small refrigerator,
a Keurig coffee maker and sink. What impressed me the most was how quiet it was! The package we chose gave us a very nice breakfast. You are very close to Goderich and it offers a good opportunity to wander the main square. Some of the usual options you have like the hiking trails are still closed due to the storm damage.I would not take the full package with dinner unless you are staying only one night. Great getaway and not too far to drive from Sarnia.You can even stop in Grand Bend,Bayfield or go up to Port Elgin or Southampton.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank DiamondjimSarnia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawn B, Front Office Manager at Benmiller Inn & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2012

We are so glad you enjyed your stay and we hope to see you again. Keep an eye on our website as we post our monthly special on there. Great deals to come. Thanks for posting!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

My husband and I had a 2 night stay July 2012 t the Benmiller's Gledhill property. Our room was clean and very spacious - we had a king size bed that was extremely comfortable. Our room was equipped with a full sitting area and small kitchenette. Having a Kheurig coffee maker in our room "made our mornings". This property is a few steps away from the pool and spa as well, which was very convenient, and a short walk to the main Inn building.
The property was beautiful, staff was courteous and friendly.
Dinner prices were in range with other comparible Inns, however the food we found to be "a hit or miss" for the price.
Definitely a great place for a relaxing couples retreat!

Room Tip: We were extremely happy with the King suit in the Gledhill Building
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aandlar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawn B, Front Office Manager at Benmiller Inn & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2012

Thank you for the wonderful review. We are so happy that you enjoyed your time here with us and we look forward to having you back again. More special packages to come so keep an eye on our website.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2012

After surviving a tornado which severely damaged BenMiller Inn on August 21st, 2011, and after having dealt with the trauma associated with that experience we decided to give the Inn another opportunity. We took a two nghts package which included a voucher for dinner and two breakfasts. The Inn has been largely restored--still a bit of work going on--but it is now once more a comfortable and hospitable environment. one can see the devastation all about especially the forests along the Maitland River. But the Inn is now back to its best standards--well, almost. Rooms are lovely and comfortable. Many have views over the old millpond or over the River. Amenities are spa related and quite delightful. Small refrigerator and Tasimo coffee/tea machines are a nice addition.
Staff are very helpful and dining room staff first rate. Dinner menu is excellent. Nice variety and well presented. Wine selection perfectly acceptable--perhaps a little over-priced considering what they can be bought for in the Ontario LCBO shops--but sufficiently diverse to be moderately attractive. We did order a wine which was not available (after a busy weekend) and another higher-priced wine was offered at the same price as the original (lower-priced) we hd ordered. A nice, caring, touch.
Front desk staff are always pleasant and helpful when information on local attractions is needed, eg. theatre in Blyth. Room grooming staff we met were most efficient as we wanted use of the room while they were engaged in grooming. They were speedy and quiet.
Two weak spots: the included breakfast while adquate and wholesome was identical on both mornings--same spinch and eggs! And, we had wanted a spa treament but were unable to find times available which accommodated our schedule. Perhaps they lack a complete staff for all the services offered.
We believe we received very fine value for our money for the package we bought. Still, however, no effort has ever been made to connect with those of us who suffered the dreadful experience of the August 2011 tornado. Not a good way to manage your long-term relationships.

Room Tip: Endeavour to Obtain Rooms with Views--most have a view but those looking over water are better than...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NamutKwu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Goderich
4.2 mi away
Samuels Hotel
Samuels Hotel
#2 of 9 in Goderich
281 reviews
4 mi away
Cedar Lodge Motel
Cedar Lodge Motel
#3 of 9 in Goderich
248 reviews
10.6 mi away
The Ashwood Inn
The Ashwood Inn
#2 of 4 in Bayfield
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21 mi away
Hessenland Country Inn
Hessenland Country Inn
#1 of 4 in Bayfield
71 reviews
4.9 mi away
Dreamz Inn
Dreamz Inn
#1 of 9 in Goderich
176 reviews
4.4 mi away
Maple Leaf Motel
Maple Leaf Motel
#4 of 9 in Goderich
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Benmiller Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Benmiller Inn & Spa

Address: R.r.#4, Goderich, Ontario N7A 3Y1, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Huron County > Goderich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Goderich
Price Range: $122 - $198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Benmiller Inn & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Hotwire so you can book your Benmiller Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Benmiller Inn And Spa
Benmiller Hotel Goderich
Benmiller Inn & Spa Goderich, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing