We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delightful dinner!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Samuels Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Samuels Hotel
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Goderich
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Goderich, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delightful dinner!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

We had a relaxing time with friends with an excellent meal at Samuels Hotel. A small dining room with great service & atmosphere. Delicious food presented eloquently along with some good wine choices. Oh and don't forget the desert!

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Liantim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fchild, Owner at Samuels Hotel, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
We're so glad you enjoyed your dinner, here at Samuels. Thank you for taking the time to write a little about your experience. We appreicate it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    51
    10
    1
    1
See reviews for
40
126
3
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

We enjoyed everything about our stay at Samuels. We stayed in the king jacuzzi room. Room was spacious, comfortable modern design and very clean. Bed was very comfortable. Our room had a nice view looking out to the bridge and a small patio and bistro set which would have been lovely to sit at with a coffee but it was too cool during our stay. Continental breakfast was fresh and plentiful, breads, bagels, pastries, fresh fruit, yogourt parfaits and cereals. We recommend the fresh waffles with fruit which are included in the continental breakfast. A very nice indulgence! Cookies, cupcakes or other baked goods were waiting for us at the front desk when we returned from a day out. Hotel staff were very friendly and went out of their way to ensure everything was perfect! About 5minute drive to downtown Goderich. We would definitely go back again or recommend to anyone looking to stay in the area.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Allthingspurple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fchild, Owner at Samuels Hotel, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
We are always happy to hear about our guests experiences at our Boutique Hotel. We're glad to hear your visit was memorable and we look forward to seeing you one day again. The next time you visit you will see that we have expanded our breakfast services and now include several hot menu items for a small additional charge. Our continental breakfast will, of course, always be included in your room rate. Thanks again for taking the time to write a review for us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmarket, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

We stayed at Samuels Hotel and loved it! I am very picky where I stay due to lots of allergies and spend alot of time trying to find gems like Samuels. We found it clean, modern, nicely furnished and very comfortable. The view and the added little details made it unique. The floors were great and I wish more places went with the same idea. The staff were all pleasant and professional. The breakfast was just right. Goderich was a pleasant surprise with old architecture and beautiful views. The hotel is just outside of Goderich maybe a minute or two so very quick to hope into town. We will return to Goderich now that we have found Samuels hotel as it definitely made our stay pleasant. I just wish they were everywhere we travel!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jodi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fchild, Owner at Samuels Hotel, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
I'm very glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Although we always consider scent, feather, and dietary allergies it is wonderful that you let us know ahead of time how we could serve you best. It's great that you 'discovered' our lovely little town, it has so much to offer! We look forward to seeing you one day again. Thank you for taking the time to post a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Very nice rooms and excellent self-serve breakfast. Amazing restaurant. If this place had a pool, it would be over the top! We stayed as a family of four and it was very pleasant and comfortable.

The location is far from the town, unfortunately, but close to the airport. Walking to town not recommended-must walk along highway.

Despite the location, this is easily the nicest hotel in Goderich.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cathdamico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fchild, Owner at Samuels Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
We're glad you enjoyed our hotel and the complimentary continental breakfast. We make sure there are always things baked fresh from our oven along with the other assortment of foods. Each of my front desk staff is also a baker and they all have their favourite muffins/breads/cookies etc that they like to make.
It is a twenty minute walk on the sidewalk beside the highway to town, but only a two minute car ride. The trails can also be taken into town, but it is a scenic 45 minute hike that way. Thank you very much for taking the time to review us, it is much appreciated!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

Our family (4) recently stayed at Samuels Hotel while visiting family in the area for Easter. It's a lovely small boutique hotel overlooking the Maitland River. It's our second stay at the hotel and has now become our 'place to stay' when visiting Goderich. The rooms are clean and well-appointed and the staff are all very friendly and accommodating to any needs we have. The continental breakfast is yummy with many fresh-baked goods on display. We used to stay at The Benmiller Inn but find this hotel is much better value for our money. Give it a try - you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fchild, Owner at Samuels Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you for staying with us. We're glad your stay was great again and we look forward to your next stay. We appreciate your taking the time to write a review on Samuels for TripAdvisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Thomas, Ontario, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

We stayed at Samuels the end of October for a one night stay. Loved, loved, loved our room! The decor was beautiful, the fireplace romantic, the bed very comfortable and cosy, the shower was stunning and the room spotless. Really liked the hardword floors. Staff were very accommodating and we were able to get a pot of tea in the evening. Breakfast was delicious with homemade pastries. We will be returning for another visit. Thank you so very much for a lovely time.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fchild, Owner at Samuels Hotel, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
We are very glad that you enjoyed the decor and amenities in your room. We took great care just over two years in creating rooms that were comfortable, but modern with special touches for our guests. Thanks for taking time out of your day to write a review. Reviews are always appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
154 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

This was our second stay at Samuels Hotel. We travel to Goderich 3 - 4 times a year and have stayed at a couple of different hotels in the area. This hotel is located a little off the beaten track but it is worh it. Clean well appointed rooms, all located on the ground level, continental breakfast is included. We book the king room. This is by far the nicest hotel we have stayed in located in the Goderich area.

Room Tip: River view rooms have a lovely little patio area that face the river and depending on the time of ye...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SherriMR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fchild, Owner at Samuels Hotel, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
We're very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are also excited about the new, extensive gardens on the riverside that were installed this fall. Next spring our guests will sit on their patio amongst over 2,000 spring bulbs and the gardens will greet guests all summer long with pretty scents and big blossoms. Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Goderich
0.9 mi away
Cedar Lodge Motel
Cedar Lodge Motel
#3 of 9 in Goderich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
4.2 mi away
Benmiller Inn & Spa
Benmiller Inn & Spa
#5 of 9 in Goderich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
12.2 mi away
The Ashwood Inn
The Ashwood Inn
#1 of 3 in Bayfield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Dreamz Inn
Dreamz Inn
#2 of 9 in Goderich
5.0 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
0.7 mi away
Maple Leaf Motel
Maple Leaf Motel
#4 of 9 in Goderich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
1.3 mi away
Harmony Inn
Harmony Inn
#6 of 9 in Goderich
3.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Samuels Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samuels Hotel

Property: Samuels Hotel
Address: 34031 Saltford Rd, Goderich, Ontario N7A 3Y1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Huron County > Goderich
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Goderich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Samuels Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the Maitland River, 1 km north of Goderich, you will find Goderich's most contemporary Boutique Hotel. Samuels is a member of Ontario's Finest Inns. Every room has all expected amenities plus a private terrace and fireplace, with king or queen beds. Relax in our jacuzzi rooms, enjoy hiking trails or fishing directly from our property. Golf, beach, shopping, airport, marina, snowmobile trail, all within 2 kms of hotel. Complimentary continental breakfast included, free wi-fi. Licensed dining room. Room service and Bistro on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Samuels Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samuels Hotel Goderich, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing