We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Samuels Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$157
$110
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cameron's Cove Bed & Breakfast(Goderich)(Great Value!)
$85
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Maple Leaf Motel(Goderich)(Great Value!)
$85
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cedar Lodge Motel(Goderich)(Great Value!)
$85
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Harmony Inn(Goderich)
$92
$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dunlop Motel(Goderich)(Great Value!)
$77
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$69
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Dreamz Inn(Goderich)
$136
$132
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (289)
Filter reviews
289 results
Traveler rating
208
64
14
0
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
208
64
14
0
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscupcakescontinental breakfastmaitland riverboutique hotela river view roomyogurtsmall patioice machinehome basepatio doorslovely little hotelsmall hotelexcellent staymodern decorwalk in showerroom was cleanplace to stay
Filter
Updating list...
243 - 248 of 289 reviews
Reviewed April 19, 2013

We stayed at Samuels Hotel and loved it! I am very picky where I stay due to lots of allergies and spend alot of time trying to find gems like Samuels. We found it clean, modern, nicely furnished and very comfortable. The view and the added little details made it unique. The floors were great and I wish more places went with the same idea. The staff were all pleasant and professional. The breakfast was just right. Goderich was a pleasant surprise with old architecture and beautiful views. The hotel is just outside of Goderich maybe a minute or two so very quick to hope into town. We will return to Goderich now that we have found Samuels hotel as it definitely made our stay pleasant. I just wish they were everywhere we travel!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jodi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fchild, Owner at Samuels Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2013

I'm very glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Although we always consider scent, feather, and dietary allergies it is wonderful that you let us know ahead of time how we could serve you best. It's great that you 'discovered' our lovely little town, it has so much to offer! We look forward to seeing you one day again. Thank you for taking the time to post a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Very nice rooms and excellent self-serve breakfast. Amazing restaurant. If this place had a pool, it would be over the top! We stayed as a family of four and it was very pleasant and comfortable.

The location is far from the town, unfortunately, but close to the airport. Walking to town not recommended-must walk along highway.

Despite the location, this is easily the nicest hotel in Goderich.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cathdamico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fchild, Owner at Samuels Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

We're glad you enjoyed our hotel and the complimentary continental breakfast. We make sure there are always things baked fresh from our oven along with the other assortment of foods. Each of my front desk staff is also a baker and they all have their favourite muffins/breads/cookies etc that they like to make.
It is a twenty minute walk on the sidewalk beside the highway to town, but only a two minute car ride. The trails can also be taken into town, but it is a scenic 45 minute hike that way. Thank you very much for taking the time to review us, it is much appreciated!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Our family (4) recently stayed at Samuels Hotel while visiting family in the area for Easter. It's a lovely small boutique hotel overlooking the Maitland River. It's our second stay at the hotel and has now become our 'place to stay' when visiting Goderich. The rooms are clean and well-appointed and the staff are all very friendly and accommodating to any needs we have. The continental breakfast is yummy with many fresh-baked goods on display. We used to stay at The Benmiller Inn but find this hotel is much better value for our money. Give it a try - you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dawn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fchild, Owner at Samuels Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Thank you for staying with us. We're glad your stay was great again and we look forward to your next stay. We appreciate your taking the time to write a review on Samuels for TripAdvisor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

We stayed at Samuels the end of October for a one night stay. Loved, loved, loved our room! The decor was beautiful, the fireplace romantic, the bed very comfortable and cosy, the shower was stunning and the room spotless. Really liked the hardword floors. Staff were very accommodating and we were able to get a pot of tea in the evening. Breakfast was delicious with homemade pastries. We will be returning for another visit. Thank you so very much for a lovely time.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Donna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fchild, Owner at Samuels Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2012

We are very glad that you enjoyed the decor and amenities in your room. We took great care just over two years in creating rooms that were comfortable, but modern with special touches for our guests. Thanks for taking time out of your day to write a review. Reviews are always appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

This was our second stay at Samuels Hotel. We travel to Goderich 3 - 4 times a year and have stayed at a couple of different hotels in the area. This hotel is located a little off the beaten track but it is worh it. Clean well appointed rooms, all located on the ground level, continental breakfast is included. We book the king room. This is by far the nicest hotel we have stayed in located in the Goderich area.

Room Tip: River view rooms have a lovely little patio area that face the river and depending on the time of year the scenery varies but it is much nicer than the rooms that face the parking lot.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SherriMR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fchild, Owner at Samuels Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2012

We're very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are also excited about the new, extensive gardens on the riverside that were installed this fall. Next spring our guests will sit on their patio amongst over 2,000 spring bulbs and the gardens will greet guests all summer long with pretty scents and big blossoms. Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews