We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boutique hotel in Goderich”
Review of Samuels Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Samuels Hotel
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Goderich
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Very nice rooms and excellent self-serve breakfast. Amazing restaurant. If this place had a pool, it would be over the top! We stayed as a family of four and it was very pleasant and comfortable.

The location is far from the town, unfortunately, but close to the airport. Walking to town not recommended-must walk along highway.

Despite the location, this is easily the nicest hotel in Goderich.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cathdamico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fchild, Owner at Samuels Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

We're glad you enjoyed our hotel and the complimentary continental breakfast. We make sure there are always things baked fresh from our oven along with the other assortment of foods. Each of my front desk staff is also a baker and they all have their favourite muffins/breads/cookies etc that they like to make.
It is a twenty minute walk on the sidewalk beside the highway to town, but only a two minute car ride. The trails can also be taken into town, but it is a scenic 45 minute hike that way. Thank you very much for taking the time to review us, it is much appreciated!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (281)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

237 - 243 of 281 reviews

Reviewed April 7, 2013

Our family (4) recently stayed at Samuels Hotel while visiting family in the area for Easter. It's a lovely small boutique hotel overlooking the Maitland River. It's our second stay at the hotel and has now become our 'place to stay' when visiting Goderich. The rooms are clean and well-appointed and the staff are all very friendly and accommodating to any needs we have. The continental breakfast is yummy with many fresh-baked goods on display. We used to stay at The Benmiller Inn but find this hotel is much better value for our money. Give it a try - you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dawn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fchild, Owner at Samuels Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Thank you for staying with us. We're glad your stay was great again and we look forward to your next stay. We appreciate your taking the time to write a review on Samuels for TripAdvisor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

We stayed at Samuels the end of October for a one night stay. Loved, loved, loved our room! The decor was beautiful, the fireplace romantic, the bed very comfortable and cosy, the shower was stunning and the room spotless. Really liked the hardword floors. Staff were very accommodating and we were able to get a pot of tea in the evening. Breakfast was delicious with homemade pastries. We will be returning for another visit. Thank you so very much for a lovely time.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Donna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fchild, Owner at Samuels Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2012

We are very glad that you enjoyed the decor and amenities in your room. We took great care just over two years in creating rooms that were comfortable, but modern with special touches for our guests. Thanks for taking time out of your day to write a review. Reviews are always appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

This was our second stay at Samuels Hotel. We travel to Goderich 3 - 4 times a year and have stayed at a couple of different hotels in the area. This hotel is located a little off the beaten track but it is worh it. Clean well appointed rooms, all located on the ground level, continental breakfast is included. We book the king room. This is by far the nicest hotel we have stayed in located in the Goderich area.

Room Tip: River view rooms have a lovely little patio area that face the river and depending on the time of ye...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SherriMR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fchild, Owner at Samuels Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2012

We're very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are also excited about the new, extensive gardens on the riverside that were installed this fall. Next spring our guests will sit on their patio amongst over 2,000 spring bulbs and the gardens will greet guests all summer long with pretty scents and big blossoms. Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Do not sell this Hotel short. Excellent quality modern appointed rooms, superb front desk service and warm natural garden settings for a well done complementary buffet breakfast make for a wonderful stay at a reasonable price. Try for a river view room for the most pleasant experience. Unbeatable. Will not disapoint.

Room Tip: Book a little early in prime season, ask for a river view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jmac105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fchild, Owner at Samuels Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2012

We are glad you enjoyed your stay once again! The dining room is a great little tropical oasis, especially now that there is snow outside. We are always grateful for guests that take the time to write a review of our Boutique Hotel. Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

very stylish renovation. Very quiet night. Take care that the front desk closes at nine pm. The in room electric fireplace is a nice touch. Also the buffet breakfast was very good, with high quality ingredients, including local baked goods.

Room Tip: lower numbered rooms will be close to the ice maker which is in the hallway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jnyyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fchild, Owner at Samuels Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2012

Thanks for taking the time to write a review of our little boutique hotel. We're glad you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

I travel a lot, and Samuel's Inn is the standard against which I measure other hotels. It is beautifully decorated, luxurious, and the service is first-rate. The river valley location is gorgeous, yet convenient to the rest of Goderich. The food is excellent, the staff charming, and the price very reasonable.

I look forward to my next stay.

Room Tip: Try and get one that fronts onto the Maitland River.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rossintx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fchild, Owner at Samuels Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review our Boutique Hotel. We're glad that our hotel exceeded your expectations. We were happy to serve you, as our guest, and we enjoyed hosting the get together your company had in our dining room. We look forward to your next stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Goderich
4.2 mi away
Benmiller Inn & Spa
Benmiller Inn & Spa
#6 of 9 in Goderich
358 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cedar Lodge Motel
Cedar Lodge Motel
#3 of 9 in Goderich
248 reviews
12.2 mi away
The Ashwood Inn
The Ashwood Inn
#2 of 4 in Bayfield
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.9 mi away
Hessenland Country Inn
Hessenland Country Inn
#1 of 4 in Bayfield
71 reviews
5.2 mi away
Dreamz Inn
Dreamz Inn
#1 of 9 in Goderich
176 reviews
0.7 mi away
Maple Leaf Motel
Maple Leaf Motel
#4 of 9 in Goderich
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Samuels Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samuels Hotel

Address: 34031 Saltford Rd, Goderich, Ontario N7A 3Y1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Huron County > Goderich
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Goderich
Price Range: $116 - $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Samuels Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Samuels Hotel. And we totally mean that! Stay where the rooms are awesome, the staff is genuinely happy to greet you, the food is local and top notch, but not pretentious. All for a fair price. Get what you deserve! Free wifi, free continental breakfast, free in-room chocolates and water, free DVDs, free parking, and free EV Chargers. Kick back on your private patio or by the fireplace in your room. Every. Single. Room. Not just the larger rooms or riverside rooms. We’re modern, boutique, and on the fabulous Maitland River. What’s on our property? Access to fly fishing, hiking trails, snowmobile trails. What’s within 2-5 minutes drive? The beach, marina, airport, golf course, tennis, splash pad, Little Theatre, flea and farmers’ markets, museums, festivals, and a cool town centre in the shape of an octagon that locals call, “The Square”. Umm, yes, that’s right. You gotta see it to get it. We’re pet friendly.Direct book only for pets. Just please don’t bring your hippo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Samuels Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samuels Hotel Goderich, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing