We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Samuels Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Samuels Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Samuels Hotel
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Goderich
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Ajax, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Samuels Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

My family of 4, including 2 young children stayed here one night while visiting Goderich. This is a charming hotel, very modern and clean. Definitely categorized as a boutique hotel. Our night came with a breakfast in their breakfast/dinner bistro area and the food was excellent quality. The owner is very courteous and professional.

The location is a few minutes away from their main tourist district and very quiet. I would highly recommend this hotel and we will stay there again.

Room Tip: We chose a room overlooking the river which was very quiet, although you can't actually see much...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tracyh2437
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fchild, Owner at Samuels Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Thanks for choosing to stay with us at Samuels. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and our Boutique Hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    51
    10
    1
    1
See reviews for
40
126
3
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012 via mobile

Friendly service. Clean, modern decor. Rooms have all the nice 'tech' touches like iPod iPhone docking station. Downtown Goderich is only a 5.min drive. Well worth the stay. A class above the usual motels In the area.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rogein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fchild, Owner at Samuels Hotel, responded to this review, August 4, 2012
It was great to have you stay with us. Thanks so much for taking the time to write such favourable things about our Boutique Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
92 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2012

We found the room bright and clean with a nice patio overlooking the river although the view was not quite what is shown on the web site. A/C was great. Bed, linens, towels and toiletries were all great. Location is just outside of downtown but was not a deterrent to our visit. Breakfast over a long stay was monotonous but all very good and plenty of it. The home made waffles were a bit hit. "Nosh" items that we tried were excellent (meat balls and warmed brie). Wish this boutique hotel much success. Oh, and great staff, especially housekeeping.

Room Tip: We booked a river side room on advice of other reviewers, but honestly would have been fine with a p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dascoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fchild, Owner at Samuels Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at our Boutique Hotel. I agree, my housekeeping girls are a delight! Thanks so much for taking the time to post a review of your experience at Samuels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toledo
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2012

The best place to stay on southern Lake Huron's coast, by far! Kim and her staff have created a truly beautiful environment! The breakfast and dining area were fabuous! We will return, for sure!

Room Tip: definitely choose a room with view of river. river is quite a ways from hotel, but other rooms face...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jttoledo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fchild, Owner at Samuels Hotel, responded to this review, July 26, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to write a review of Samuels Boutique Hotel. I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

We visit the Goderich area on an annual basis. We found out about Samuel's on a "fluke" last year, and very happy that we did. This year was no exception, the rooms are clean and modern, beds wonderfully comfortable and fresh. As mentioned by some of the other posts, there is no actual restaurant on site but you have the option of ordering in your dinner. The town of Godeich is only a 3 minute drive away and we prefer to dine out, so this was not an issue for us.
All immenites however are within driving distance, so if you are the type of person who likes to park their car, and walk this may prove to be challenging.
We always look forward to staying at Samuels, because we are never disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aandlar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fchild, Owner at Samuels Hotel, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
Thanks once again for taking the time to write a wonderful review of our little Boutique Hotel. We are glad you enjoyed your dinner at Thyme on 21 nearby. While we don't serve dinner at Samuels, drinks, light lunches and appetizers are there should you need a little something to tide you over till dinner. We look forward to your stay sometime in the future once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
253 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2012

This is a great place to stay when in Goderich. Although it doesn't have a restaurant, there are a few around. The rooms are done so well - it is just an absolute treat.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sahayoga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fchild, Owner at Samuels Hotel, responded to this review, June 20, 2012
Thank you again for choosing to stay at Samuels Boutique Hotel. Although we do serve light lunches,appetizers and desserts, we are licensed and Thyme on 21 restaurant delivers wonderful room service. And you are quite right, there are lots of great dining options nearby. Thank you for taking the time to write a review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level Contributor
54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2012

We live in Goderich and yesterday we had unexpected guests arrive and wish to stay in Town. They were looking for a clean, well kept hotel that was reasonably priced. We called Samuel's and spoke with Kim. While it was the last minute and they were booked up, Kim worked through some adjustments and was able to find space for the visitors to our community.
This morning our guests reported how pleased they were with the location.
The rooms, were very modern, clean and spacious. The room came with a breakfast.
Being the first time to Goderich their pleasant stay at Samuel's exemplified a great visit.
Thank you Samuel's staff!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Luv2travel6768
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fchild, Owner at Samuels Hotel, responded to this review, June 8, 2012
We were glad to accommodate your unexpected guest. Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review of our Boutique Hotel. Your feed back is very important to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Goderich
0.9 mi away
Cedar Lodge Motel
Cedar Lodge Motel
#3 of 9 in Goderich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
4.2 mi away
Benmiller Inn & Spa
Benmiller Inn & Spa
#5 of 9 in Goderich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
12.2 mi away
The Ashwood Inn
The Ashwood Inn
#1 of 3 in Bayfield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Dreamz Inn
Dreamz Inn
#2 of 9 in Goderich
5.0 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
0.7 mi away
Maple Leaf Motel
Maple Leaf Motel
#4 of 9 in Goderich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
1.3 mi away
Harmony Inn
Harmony Inn
#6 of 9 in Goderich
3.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Samuels Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samuels Hotel

Property: Samuels Hotel
Address: 34031 Saltford Rd, Goderich, Ontario N7A 3Y1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Huron County > Goderich
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Goderich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Samuels Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the Maitland River, 1 km north of Goderich, you will find Goderich's most contemporary Boutique Hotel. Samuels is a member of Ontario's Finest Inns. Every room has all expected amenities plus a private terrace and fireplace, with king or queen beds. Relax in our jacuzzi rooms, enjoy hiking trails or fishing directly from our property. Golf, beach, shopping, airport, marina, snowmobile trail, all within 2 kms of hotel. Complimentary continental breakfast included, free wi-fi. Licensed dining room. Room service and Bistro on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Samuels Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samuels Hotel Goderich, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing