We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb accomodations”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Colborne Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 5 Goderich B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Glencoe, Ontario
2 reviews
“Superb accomodations”
Reviewed February 20, 2012

We spent two nights at the Colborne B&B for a quiet winter get away. The room was warm and inviting, the hosts were gracious and the food was excellent! Couldn't have asked for anything better. We were made to feel extremely welcome as soon as we arrived, Suzanne had even prepared a lovely snack tray and refreshments of our choice, a very welcoming touch. Home is exceptionally clean, rooms are beautiful and very comfortable. We would highly recommend and will surely be back, great job John and Suzanne!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LizJeffery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    10
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
62
6
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2011

Spent one night at the Colborne B&B while traveling north. Room was inviting and spacious with fine bed linens, a jacuzzi bathtub, views of the backyard garden as well as being exceptionally clean. Breakfast was a special treat,,,white linens, fine china, and a delicious variety of breakfast foods cooked to perfection. Hosts John and Suzanne were very warm and welcoming. This was a very pleasant experience--a wonderful addition to our trip. Colbourne B&B is located just a few blocks from the center of town and a very short drive to the waterfront. Enjoy!

Room Tip: We enjoyed a room that faced the backyard--very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnArbor50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed November 10, 2011

My sister and I stayed at the Colborne for about a week in mid-October. We were there to take care of our dad in the hospital and our mom at her assisted living facility, so it was an emotional visit. We both felt very well cared for by Suzanne and John, including two times they gave us their own phone when they received surprise after-hours phone calls for me. They sent us off each morning fortified with a scrumptious, nutritious breakfast, recommendations for places to get needed items (we are not that familiar with Goderich, and weren't sure about places that had been hit by the tornado), and good cheer. When we came "home" at the end of our long days, usually after 9 PM, we almost always found cookies in the common area, and the menu for the next morning. Our room was a perfect place for us to process the events of the day and to plan for the next. The beds had good mattresses and cozy comforters. The day we left, Suzanne had wrapped up some muffins for our journey. This is a beautiful, comfortable place to stay, with excellent breakfasts, and you couldn't ask for a better couple to be your hosts. Thank you Suzanne and John!!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peg C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Colborne Bed & Breakfast one night in November 2011, and we really enjoyed our stay. Our room was very comfortable and clean. Free wi-fi and parking. Breakfast was tasty, and location is great. The owners were very friendly and helpful. I would highly recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Constantine-TA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmarket, Ontario, Canada
1 review
Reviewed October 14, 2011

We stayed at the Colborne B&B for three nights after our wedding in October of 2011.

The room was lovely - spacious, warm and comfortable; the food was exceptional, and our hosts made us feel welcome and wanted - like part of the family.

Tornado or not, Goderich remains one of the prettiest places imaginable - we couldn't help but admire the pluck of everyone in town, which is rebuilding at an amazing pace.

The town square is a block away, and there are several nice restaurants within walking distance or a very short drive. Truly, we could not have picked a better place for our honeymoon. Thanks Suzanne and John!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BillAndMeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ontario
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights in early September. The room was large and spacious. The bed was very comfortable. The breakfast was absolutely top-notch. Lots of choices and all very well prepared and presented. John and Suzanne the hosts were very helpful and certainly made sure our stay was comfortable. There is a large common room to sit in and read as well as a lovely sun porch. The furnishings are comfortable in all rooms.

The location is very good. You can walk around and explore Historic Goderich very easily. There are good hiking trails within minutes from their door, access to the Beach area is easy.
I would recommend this B&B to anyone who wants good accomodation, good food, friendly and courteous hosts and a good comfortable space.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank johnpaul1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Louis MO
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2011

The Colborne B & B has everything one expects in a B & B. Historic character, updated decor, oversized ensuite room with a great bed and lines, spotlessly clean, plus wonderful hosts and marvelous food. This B&B is located close to the city center and the lake. Even though the town was just hit by a tornado,only a block away, John and Suzanne carried on with such grace and unflappabilty, we decided to pass up their offer to cancel our reservation for a place with electricity and gas. A marvelous hot breakfast was cooked on the grill, hot water was delivered to the room and long day light hours and flashlights made our trip memorable, in a good way. All utilities soon returned and we throughly enjoyed our stay in everyway. Would definely recommend to others and return. Not a bad thing to say about this wonderful B&B.

Room Tip: Loved the Kennedy room, where we stayed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeschacht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Goderich
0.7 mi away
Cedar Lodge Motel
Cedar Lodge Motel
#3 of 9 in Goderich
235 reviews
4.7 mi away
Benmiller Inn & Spa
Benmiller Inn & Spa
#6 of 9 in Goderich
338 reviews
0.9 mi away
Samuels Hotel
Samuels Hotel
#2 of 9 in Goderich
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
The Ashwood Inn
The Ashwood Inn
#2 of 4 in Bayfield
82 reviews
22.4 mi away
Hessenland Country Inn
Hessenland Country Inn
#1 of 4 in Bayfield
68 reviews
0.3 mi away
Maple Leaf Motel
Maple Leaf Motel
#4 of 9 in Goderich
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colborne Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colborne Bed and Breakfast

Property: Colborne Bed and Breakfast
Address: 72 Colborne St, Goderich, Ontario N7A 2V9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Huron County > Goderich
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Goderich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Colborne Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Colborne Bed and Breakfast located in Goderich Ontario Canada, is a beautiful Victorian era home. Situated near the Historic down town Square and within walking distance to our beaches, it was built in 1890. This former manse for the Presbyterian Church, has three stories with four en-suite bedrooms, a guest only parlour, a dining room and a sun porch. Within a brief and leisurely walk to the Downtown Square and beaches, Colborne Bed and Breakfast provides a convenient location, close to many amenities yet situated on a quiet street. The Colborne Bed and Breakfast serves as an excellent base to explore our unique shops, museums, historic sites, heritage walking tours, biking and walking trails and several golf courses. Take pleasure in our three beautiful beaches where you can view AMAZING sunsets (twice if you are quick), walk along the boardwalk, or watch the boats coming in and out of the harbour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Colborne Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colborne Bed And Breakfast Goderich, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing