We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
other traveler has booked this property
Very private spacious 8 Bedroom Cottage sleeps 24.  Very large very quiet private yard.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Very private spacious 8 Bedroom Cottage sleeps 24.  Very large very quiet private yard.
Large lounge and dining area.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very private spacious 8 Bedroom Cottage sleeps 24.  Very large very quiet private yard.
Large lounge and dining area.
Fire pit with free camp fire wood.
Sunset Beach in Port Albert, Ontario.  5-7 minute drive from the Cottage
4 bathrooms.  One on each floor.
View of Lake Huron from the Balcony.
3rd floor Loft
Full kitchen with BBQ.  Propane is provided.
2 fridges and 1 deep freeze
Ashfield Park and Public Beach.  Free parking.  8-10 minute north of the cottage.
Ashfield Park and Public Beach.  8-10 minute drive north of the cottage.
Port Albert Fish Ladder.
Port Albert General Store.  Produce, tasty take out food, gas, ice cream cones.  A 5-7 minute drive.
Conservation area in Port Albert, Ontario.  A five minute drive from the cottage
Waterfalls in Port Albert just a 5-7 minute drive to the south.
3rd floor balcony
Miles of secluded sandy beaches.  Pet friendly cottage.
South side of the river mouth in Port Albert, Ontario.  5-7 minute drive from the cottage
Port Albert, Ontario.  A five minute drive from the cottage
Front Foyer
Sunset Beach in Port Albert, Ontario just a 5-7 minute drive south of the cottage
Deck
Ashfield Park Public Beach and Conservation Area.  8-10 minute drive north of the cottage
Walking on the ice.
3 bedrooms in the lower level have heavy blackout curtains instead of doors.
4 bathrooms.  1 on each floor
back yard
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
8 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 24
Goderich, Huron County, Ontario

Reviews from our community

Poor - based on 1 review
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Brian1337
San Francisco
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Some positives, but generally disappointed”
Reviewed June 21, 2017 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Our large extended family stayed at the Shamrock Beach House last summer. While it has several useful features, we overall had a fairly disappointing experience.

Advantages:
* Decent living room for hanging out in, plus dining (lots of chairs)
* Large backyard - lots of room for activities
* Isolated and quiet - there aren't really any other houses nearby

Disadvantages:
* Listing mentions that the kitchen has "full kitchen facilities" and a "fully equipped kitchen" - but there's no dishwasher. Also, the utensils, pots, pans, etc all seemed to be very low quality (some falling apart).
* The property is supplied by well water that has a heavy rotten egg smell (lots of sulphur?). No one in our family wanted to drink the water. We bought many jugs of drinking water during our stay.
* The windows have no blinds or curtains - we had to tape up black garbage bags over the bedroom windows in order to keep the sunlight off of us at 6:00am
* No doors on the bedrooms downstairs (just thin curtains)
* A generally poor level of maintenance throughout - e.g. one of the bedroom doors doesn't latch closed. We had to use a bungee cord on the outside of the bedroom to hold it closed while a baby was napping inside. Another example: The ceramic soap holder in the ground floor bathroom shower had a giant chunk missing, leaving sharp edges. Another example: A large number of the electrical outlets don't work. Another example: The dryer vented directly into the laundry room / bathroom due to a broken exhaust tube. (We fixed it.)
* Wasps - three of our guests got bitten by wasps from the nests in the backyard deck. Owners gave us a can of bug spray when we brought it up.
* Broken glass on the loft balcony when we arrived. One of our guests cut their foot (bleeding).
* No air conditioning
* Dirty floors - on the first evening, after spending time inside, all of our feet were pretty dirty. We did not track dirt inside in these first few hours.

Also, one thing to be crystal clear on: The beach that's 5 minutes walking away is just a narrow rocky shore beside some residential homes, and isn't appropriate for your everyday beach activities (sandcastles, tents, etc). You'll need to drive 8-10 minutes away for that.

Also, FYI: This property has had exclusively poor reviews in the past. But the owners seem to have deleted the old listing, and created this new one, clearing out the old reviews.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 16, 2017
Hello Brian. Thank you for reviewing this cottage and providing your feedback. I am sorry that you were disappointed with some aspects of this cottage during your stay. I value suggestions so that we can make improvements to increase guest satisfaction. This cottage is under new management since April 2017 and significant improvements have been made since your stay in the summer of 2016.

I will take this opportunity to address some of the things you have mentioned about Shamrock Beach Cottage. We make every effort to be clear that this cottage in a rural location close to a sandy beach. We are unsure as to where the rocky beach is that Brian referred to in his review. All the beaches we are aware of and refer in our advertising are beautiful, quiet, sandy beaches. This cottage is a 5-7 minute walk to Shamrock Beach which is a private sandy beach. Two other quiet, sandy public beaches are within a 5-10 minute drive where your entire group can gather and park for free at the sands edge. The public beach in Port Albert, Ontario to the south is a sandy, quiet beach and it is a 5-7 minute drive from the cottage. Ashfield Park Public Beach is an 8-10 minute drive to the north and is a very large beach that normally has few people.

At Shamrock Beach (the private beach) there is no parking and at this time we are only allowing 6 or less people to access it at a time. However the entire group may walk the lane along the shoreline as a group. The beaches we have mentioned in our advertising are sandy beaches. Guests may find areas with pebbles and stones and this can occur at the river mouth where strong currents can wash away the sand. There are pictures of the beaches on our website and facebook which will give a good indication of our closest beaches along Ontario’s sandy west coast!

The closest neighbours to this cottage are almost ½ km away and this allows for a great degree of privacy. However because the cottage is located in a very quiet, natural setting it is not uncommon for guests to encounter some insects and lots of birds. On occasion raccoons or even deer may stroll across the yard. We do provide bug/bee aerosol spray that guests can use if they should find they are being bothered by bugs. There are very few mosquitos near Lake Huron however it never hurts to bring some repellant if you are staying during the summer months.

The water at Shamrock Beach House is supplied by a well which is 105 ft deep and the water comes from the porous rocks in the water table. For this reason the water has a high mineral content (calcium and iron) and some guests may not like the taste if they are accustomed to chlorinated city or town water. It is advised to bring bottled water for drinking if you are not used to drinking well water.

All the bedrooms have blinds and all electrical outlets are functional. The 3 bedrooms in the lowest level do not have doors. Rather they are equipped with heavy blackout curtains. All bathrooms and showers are well maintained and in good working order. All bedrooms have functioning latches. The kitchen does not have a dish washer. All pots and pans are in excellent condition and continually inspected.

I have had many groups stay at this cottage since taking over management in April and have had the chance to meet and speak with them and ask for feedback. The response has been consistently positive and the reviews on other travel websites confirm this. We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay, Brian.

I am grateful to have hosted so many happy groups this season so far and hope that I can continue to improve the vacation experience for groups choosing to stay at Shamrock Beach Cottage located near Ontario’s sandy west coast just north of the tiny lakeside village Port Albert, Ontario.

Sincerely,
Melissa
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Goderich hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing