We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great for young and old”

Huron Historic Gaol
Ranked #2 of 26 things to do in Goderich
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Kitchener
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great for young and old”
Reviewed September 13, 2013

We visited the gaol with two kids (age 8 and 9) and 4 adults. We all found it extremely interesting and the write ups that they have throughout the building allow you to do this as a self guided tour. We bought the tickets that also allow access to the Historical Museum around the corner and were also very impressed with the depth of that museum for being in a small town. Definitely worth a visit if you are staying anywhere in Huron County!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank RQH123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    36
    6
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Port Dover, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Worth the time to see for adults and for kids”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

My child and I both really found the trip to Huron Historic Gaol interesting and educational. It allowed us an opportunity for great discussion about how we manage and punish our social problems, historically and today. The volunteers were great and informative.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Susan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goderich, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Living History”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

I live in Goderich and finally visited a wonderful tourist attraction in my own backyard. Each summer, volunteers reenact life in the Huron County gaol (jail) as it would have been in the 1800s when this part of Canada was first being settled. As visitors make their tour, they meet various inmates of the gaol and residents of the governor's house, attached. Inmates and residents each have their own story to tell and the more you ask them, the information they will give you. This is not about the bricks and mortar, this is about the people who lived here, willingly or unwillingly. You get a much better sense of what life was like in this area 200 years ago. So much better than just standing around reading information. Some of the stories are heart-breaking, some are funny, all are interesting and in some cases surprising.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice way to finish up our last day in Goderich”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Almost didn't end up going to check this place out but in the end I am really glad we did. There was quite a bit more to see than I realized. You can check out both the old "goal" as well as the Governor's house. The entrance fee covers one of those number-entry electronic devices to go around and experience the museum info at your own pace.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank lorichick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goderich, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Behind the Bars”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

The volunteers in costume are only in the summer on certain days. Great for locals and visitors to check out!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank scox40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Huron Historic Gaol also viewed

 
Goderich, Huron County
Goderich, Huron County
 

Been to Huron Historic Gaol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing