We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Clean and Quiet”
Review of Dunlop Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Dunlop Motel
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Goderich
Reviewed June 19, 2014

The motel is a very convenient location I will say a few minutes driving from the city but it is just perfect ! After a day walking around, visiting museums, going to the beach, etc ..... arriving to the Dunlop Motel was very because is quiet, rooms are comfortable, clean, spacious. Ed knows the best restaurants around ! If you are thinking to visit the amazing city of Goderich please don't hesitate to book the Dunlop Motel !

Room Tip: all rooms are fine !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LoveChichi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judy D, Owner at Dunlop Motel, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2014

We appreciate you taking the time to write your comments about your visit to Goderich and also your stay at the Dunlop Motel. It is good to know that our guests enjoy the town and all it has to offer. Once again, thank you.
ED&Judy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (41)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 41 reviews

Reviewed May 21, 2014

I booked the Dunlop Motel after reading the Tripadvisor reviews online. I was pleased with our decision to stay here - the reviews were very accurate. It was clean, spacious, quiet & the owners were extremely friendly. Upon check-in, I asked Ed for his suggestions on where to eat and places of interest to visit during our stay in Goderich - he was very knowledgeable and pointed out a few great hiking trails nearby. Judy thoughtfully had left juice boxes for our kids in our room.

We did not experience any ants, overflowing toilets or flat pillows ...

When we make our return trip to Goderich in the future, we will be sure to stay at the Dunlop Motel again !

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judy D, Owner at Dunlop Motel, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write your comments about your recent trip to Goderich and your stay at the Dunlop Motel. We are happy to hear that your stay was enjoyable. We appreciate feedback from guests so that we can continue to improve the quality of service we provide.
Thank you once again.
ED&Judy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2014

Have spent several extended stays at the Dunlop Motel and every time it has been a pleasure. Clean, comfortable, large rooms and pleasant, friendly owners make the Dunlop Motel my preferred place to stay while in Goderich.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judy D, Owner at Dunlop Motel, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2014

It is always nice to have our Guests take time to review our property, we certainly appreciate your comments.
We always appreicate your staying with us and looking forward to having you visit again.
ED&Judy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

My boyfriend and I made the trip to Goderich this year. We always try to book the Dunlop because of the nice owners and because the place is clean and quiet. Way can I say, it's always a pleasure to stay at the Dunlop! We'll be back soon!

Stayed: July 2013
3  Thank gareauk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judy D, Owner at Dunlop Motel, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay with us. We are glad you found it be quiet and restful, and look forward to seeing you again. Thanx,
Judy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

We have stayed at the Dunlop hotel many times and we always enjoy it. We have never seen any ants or other pests. The hotel is kept very clean and the rooms are spacious. Judy and Ed are very welcoming and friendly and they make you feel at home. We enjoy coming here and always have a pleasant experience, thank you Judy and Ed for your hospitality and kindness.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judy D, Owner at Dunlop Motel, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2013

We appreciate your kind words about our Motel. We certainly enjoy your visits and are glad you feel safe and comfortable while you are here. We look forward to seeing again. Thank you,
ED&Judy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Run for your life!...what a horrible experience...in the first 5 minutes of our stay, the toilet overflowed..which the owner promply blamed on my 7 year old...later that night we realized the room was infested with ants...when we complained he blamed it on the fact that we had made the toilet overflow...not sure what water has to do with attracting ants...very rude...pillows as flat as a pancake...a horrible representation of the Goderich area...will NEVER go back again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judy D, Owner at Dunlop Motel, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

It is unfortunate you encountered these issues during your recent stay with us. As we discussed previously, the toilet was working fine prior to your arrival and has been funtionally ever since. When you notified us someone saw ants, we came to your room to remedy the situation, but the only person able to see the ants was your young daughter, even your wife could not see any. Please be assured the property is monitored monthly by a pest control company and remedial action is taken. We certainly want you to have a restful stay with us. We assumed that all was OK with you and your room since you continued to oocupy the room well after our normal check-out time and made no further cmments to us in the morning.
Please be assured that the safety and comfort of our guests is of utmost importance to us.
Judy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

No complaints about this place. We were in room 10. The room was large. It was furnished with two queen beds, two chairs and a table, a desk, a LCD tv, a fridge, a window AC unit and a microwave. The room was quiet as always. We will be back next year.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gareauk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judy D, Owner at Dunlop Motel, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2012

It is always a pleasure to have your family stay with us.
We look forward to seeing you all next summer.
Thanks again,
Judy&ED

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Goderich hotels
2.4 mi away
Cedar Lodge Motel
Cedar Lodge Motel
#3 of 9 in Goderich
246 reviews
1.5 mi away
Samuels Hotel
Samuels Hotel
#2 of 9 in Goderich
275 reviews
5.3 mi away
Benmiller Inn & Spa
Benmiller Inn & Spa
#6 of 9 in Goderich
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Maple Leaf Motel
Maple Leaf Motel
#4 of 9 in Goderich
94 reviews
2.7 mi away
Harmony Inn
Harmony Inn
#5 of 9 in Goderich
66 reviews
4.6 mi away
Silver Birch Motel
Silver Birch Motel
#9 of 9 in Goderich
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunlop Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunlop Motel

Address: 82036A Bluewater Hwy, Goderich, Ontario N7A 3Y2, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Huron County > Goderich
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Goderich
Price Range: $69 - $88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Dunlop Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Dunlop Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunlop Hotel Goderich
Dunlop Motel Goderich, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing