We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cedar Lodge Motel
Nearby Hotels
$157
$110
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Maple Leaf Motel(Goderich)(Great Value!)
$85
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Samuels Hotel(Goderich)
$135
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Harmony Inn(Goderich)
$92
$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dreamz Inn(Goderich)
$136
$132
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$69
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Dunlop Motel(Goderich)(Great Value!)
$77
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Ashwood Inn(Bayfield)(Great Value!)
$104
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (256)
Filter reviews
257 results
Traveler rating
120
97
27
4
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
120
97
27
4
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot tubseparate buildingindoor poolroom was cleangreat poolparking lot isa ground floor roomgreat place to stayeasy accesscleaning stafffridge and microwavewould stay here againclose to downtowncourthouse squarestayed for two nightsgreat roomone night stay
Filter
Updating list...
169 - 174 of 257 reviews
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Our room was quite and clean. With updates in the bathroom. Is located very close to down town in walking distance. The Hotel has gym facilities with an indoor climate swimming pool for relax after a busy day. The rooms in the main floor are excellent for people with disabilities

Room Tip: main floor rooms good for people with disabilities
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RitaJohnston, Front Office Manager at Cedar Lodge Motel, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

We really enjoyed reading your review! It had all the words we love to hear most... quiet, clean and excellent! It is so wonderful to hear that our property was able to meet all your expectations for cleanliness, location and relaxation! We look forward to having you stay with us the next time you find yourself in Goderich. Thanks again for your review! We truly appreciate it!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

I found this motel to be very good for the price. The room had a fridge, microwave, telephone, wi fi, and even complimentary coffee. The pool, hot tub and exercise area were excellent. The owner and staff are very friendly and accommodating. All in all, it was a very positive experience.

I can't wait to return.

L. Madia

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hutchie2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RitaJohnston, Front Office Manager at Cedar Lodge Motel, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

Thanks so much for your review! We are happy that you found your time with us so enjoyable! It is great to hear that you were able to make use of all of our indoor pool facilities! It is a wonderful way to enjoy some free time! We can't wait for you to return either! We enjoy it when our guests have such a fantastic time while visiting with us! See you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Thank you so much to the staff at Cedar Lodge Motel. We were driving by and decided to spend the night. Being from Ohio and visiting Canada we were a little unsure of what to do but the staff at Cedar Lodge were wonderful. The room was clean, spacious and Mr. Patel was gracious enough to make sure I had a cot in order to spend the night in the room with my elderly parents. I would definitely recommend it to others and we will be sure to stay here again should we have the opportunity to visit the area.

Thanks again to Mr. Patel and the other wonderful staff.

Sincerely,

Sherry Price
Ohio

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sherry p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RitaJohnston, Front Office Manager at Cedar Lodge Motel, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

We appreciate your comments regarding your recent stay. At the Cedar Lodge Motel we always enjoy hearing about the experiences our guests have when they stay with us! We are happy to hear that you were made to feel comfortable! We truly appreciate your kind words. Thank you for taking the time to post your experience! We look forward to seeing you again whenever you get a chance to visit Goderich!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We found the motel to be very out dated and therefore over priced for what we had. We stayed 1 night as we were attending a wedding in the area. We didn't find it very clean either. The bath tub had hair all in it and when you turned the tap on the shower head leaked making the water go all over. The beds were old and not comfortable at all, furniture looked like it was falling apart and the carpets were dirty. The walls had patch marks all over. The next morning we got an unexpected wake up call at 9am by the housekeeper as she knocked and walked in. We were still sleeping! Check out is 11am not 9am. They shouldn't be walking in unless you have turned your keys into the office. I work in the hotel industry and this is unacceptable. I complained to the front desk as we didn't find our stay worth the price at all. Dirty, over priced & out dated..

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Callie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RitaJohnston, Front Office Manager at Cedar Lodge Motel, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments. We love hearing what our guests have to say, good or bad. Each and every comment helps us become a better place for our guests to be. We plan to take your remarks and use them to make some changes. We have already changed our weekend start time for our housekeeping staff and we plan to begin some re-training as well. It is possible some rooms are ready for updates and now that the busy summer season is behind us, we can begin taking care of some of the bigger maintenance issues. I would like to add, most guests do not turn keys into the office. They simply leave at the end of their stay, leaving the key in the room. This may be the reason for the confusion with the housekeeper. She believed the room had been checked out. We do apologize for this misunderstanding as it certainly should never have happened. Again, we thank you for your comments. We will use them to make this a great place for all our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We stayed at the Cedar Lodge while attending a near by wedding. We were given a room on the second floor, which involves climbing a rather precarious out door wooden staircase, the walk up was okay in running shoes, but was was down right scary coming down for a lady in high heeled shoes! Our room was located right next to the stair way which meant the curtains had to be kept shut tight at all times as the only window was right in the stairs so other guest would be looking right in and the stair light is centered in the window.
The room was extremely small with no counters or storage whatsoever in the bathroom except the back of the toilet which meant make up was out of the question. there is no closet to hang your clothes and only a small rack that you have to sort of duck under to get to the bed.
So very small BUT "exceptionally clean".
Could have used a warmer blanket or comforter/ quilt would have been nice.
We could hear people on the stairs and traffic during night.
Nice place and very, very nice receptionist at front desk.
We would not stay here again, but it was passable for a one night stay.

Room Tip: Do not accept the room at the top of the stairs.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Phil347v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RitaJohnston, Front Office Manager at Cedar Lodge Motel, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2013

We are sorry to hear that your night with us did not meet your expectations. We prefer it when our guests are comfortable and pleased with their accommodations. To address your comments; our second floor is indeed accessed by an exterior stairway. It is in good repair; however you would certainly want to be careful if you are wearing high heels as it is wooden. Many prefer the upstairs rooms but guests can certainly request the lower level rooms should they not want to go up or down the stairs. As for available space in the room, we are sorry you found there was not enough room. We are also sorry that you were able to hear outside noise and that you were inconvenienced by the location being close to the staircase. Perhaps next time you are in town, you could view one of our other rooms to see if they might better suit your needs. We would love the opportunity to have you as our guest again. We love second chances!
We are pleased to hear that your found your room to be very clean. That is really quite important to us! As mentioned, we would love the opportunity to improve your opinion of our little motel so please, should you find yourself in Goderich another day, come and see us and check out a couple rooms. We are confident that next time, we can meet your expectations. Thanks for your comments! They will help us improve our property and become a better place for all our guests!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews