We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pizza was decent.....” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Calabogie Pizzeria and Ice Cream Bar

Calabogie Pizzeria and Ice Cream Bar
Ranked #4 of 12 Restaurants in Calabogie
Cuisines: Pizza, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
NH
Level Contributor
131 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Pizza was decent.....”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

doesn't say much for the other restaurants in town that this is rated #1 on tripadvisor but there's not a whole lot to choose from, we intended to eat there but when we walked into the restaurant and saw crowded out dated tables and no atmosphere we decided to go was gonna work. didn't have anything else but the pizza, they do seem to have alot of items on the menu, so if you're stranded in Calabogie & want a pizza get it to go

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ball82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    21
    6
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
73 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“awesome fresh food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

We stayed at the Calabogie Motor Inn just down the street. There were two restaurants to choose from within walking distance. On the first night we tried Shooters Bar and Grill. What a mistake! None of us (3 people) were impressed with the food, and the room was more like a cafeteria than a bar. On the second night we went here to the Pizzaria. Now that's good food! I ordered the lasagna, worried that it would just be noodles and some sauce. Well, it was HUGE and meaty and saucy and cheesy and AMAZING! And it came with a nice side salad and delicious garlic bread. It was the best lasagna I have had in any restaurant for a decade!
My friend had the pizza and said it was great. Another friend ordered a sub sandwich. It looked ordinary, but she said she'd order it again.
My only complaint is that the food is served in take-out containers, so everyone eats out of an aluminum tray or off a styrofoam plate. That's really bad for the environment! I did not see recyling bins anywhere, so I can only assume all that is going into landfills.
Oh, and the picture above is not of this restaurant. This place does not have any atmosphere, but the food is worth it!
They have homemade desserts (squares and stuff) in one of the fridge-freezers. Take a look.
Do not waste your time at Shooter's grill - eat here!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Blue-J-traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“Great Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

The owner served us breakfast not knowing they don't serve breakfast. Her homemade strawberry jam is worth buying. I would definitely recommend Calabogie Pizzeria and Ice Cream Bar because of great service.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sarah_Bofill_Bayani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bancroft, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Had the deli pizza. Incredibly deliciously LOADED....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

After a nice day skiing, decided to grab a pizza for on our way home. We ordered de deli pizza. Loaded with meat. It takes a little longer to cook. After you see and taste it you will understand why. The box was heavy. Totally recommend.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank LBurn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calabogie
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Pizza”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

Great pizza and lots of variety. Ready quickly and fresh and hot! Staff is friendly and delivery is quick.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank byron h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Calabogie Pizzeria and Ice Cream Bar also viewed

 

Been to Calabogie Pizzeria and Ice Cream Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing