We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We stayed in 1 of the cottages”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Calabogie Peaks Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Calabogie
Ottawa
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“We stayed in 1 of the cottages”
Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

This review is mostly for the cottages that Calibogie Peaks has on their property. We were two single moms with a combined three kids aged 10 to 12. We booked to stay for 3 nights. The cottage was very nice and well furnished. We spent a lot of time at the beach, which was beautiful. The kids enjoyed playing tennis and basketball on their courts. This was the very last week of summer, so there was hardly anybody there. We made a lot of memories, it's a beautiful place. It felt like a very classic family vacation – campfires and smore's and a beautiful lake the kids played in all day.

Things we were not happy about:
Cottage was much further away from everything and from the lodge than we thought it would be.
The doors locked automatically, and one night we locked ourselves out. If it hadn't been for the nice people staying in the one other cottage beside us who drove me over to the lodge, I would've had to walk about 10 minutes each way down the pitch black road or across a pitch black golf course to get to the lodge to get a spare key. The girl at the front desk said she was the only one working there, so she could not bring me the key herself, I would need to come get it.
Our barbecue tank was empty. Our neighbors let us use theirs. Our tank wasn't refilled for a full 24 hours later.
The cottage was hot, it has one window air-conditioner in the kitchen area. We were in the bedroom closest to the kitchen with the door wide open and it was still very hot. We actually left one night early because of this. I know, we're pampered city girls LOL!
Pool was pretty sad, and the hot tub was never working – although I hear that's the norm based on other reviews.
At 7:30AM one morning, there was a work crew right outside our door cutting down tree branches. I thought it was really rude of them. It woke us all up. They were there all day, and it really interfered with our quiet cottage experience.
Breakfast was a big disappointment. There was never enough things there, we always had to go and ask for more cereal, more bagels, more milk, more juice, plates, bowls, spoons ect. Sometimes they had extra, but sometimes they said sorry they had none left! Excuse me?? This was low season, there was hardly anybody there and they couldn't even keep the breakfast area stocked - i'd hate to see what it's like when it's a busy time.
All in all, it was a nice trip, but we probably wouldn't go back there unless it was just for a day trip to the beach.

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank inmyopinionOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George A, Manager at Calabogie Peaks Hotel, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
I would like to thank you for your comments and I am sorry that you where not completely satisfied with your stay and I do apologize for it.
For many people the Cottage location is great, away from the rest of the hotel and a Golf Course on your backyard among many trees and greenery. Because of the location and for our Guests safety we do have an automatic lock just in case they forget to lock, I do understand that everybody has didfferent opinion.
We have corrected the A/C situation since then. In regards to the BBQ not having enough propane and the breakfast been short of products, there is no excuse and we will correct this, again , I do apologize.
At the pool we just finished a full renovation and the Hot Tub is now working fine.
Since you liked our location and the Cottage, I believe you should give us an another opportunity and do come to enjoy the many amenities we do have at Calabogie Peaks Resort.
Thank you.
The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    63
    43
    23
    13
See reviews for
88
72
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013

We had exchanged our timeshare with a timeshare at this resort through Interval International
Check in was quick and the apartment ready and clean. However, did find reception could not provide much advice about activities in the area. Indeed the resort had only one leaflet about Ottawa and nothing else.

The apartment was very sparsely furnished and the cutlery was of poor quality. In the bedroom, there were no chest of drawers only some poor quality shelving in cupboards. There was only one bedside table in the main bedroom. The cutlery looked as if it had been bought from a jumble sale as it was all different makes.

The whole apartment lacked finesse.

We were self catering so did not venture into the restaurant but felt the prices were high.

Because of the poor standard would not recommend this timeshare apartment except if you wanted to visit the beautiful area including Ottawa, this would be an option to take.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul_Merrywest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George A, Manager at Calabogie Peaks Hotel, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Thank you so much for your comments and I am really sorry to find out that you were not happy with the unit you were assigned. As you know we have been certified by Interval International organization for Time Share around the World with very high standards. Nvertheless we are planning a cutlery renovation to standarized what we provide to our guests.
I am sure that next time you will enjoy our facilities much better together with the beatiful areas around Calabogie Peaks Resort.
Thanks for you feed back.

The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NH
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

took these clowns 31/3 hours to get us checked into our room after we were supposed to be. No updates available, just keep coming in from the rain to see if your room is ready. Funny how the special parties i.e. a family reunion & a wedding party were all checked in well before us & a few other low life t/s people were. On a holiday weekend they had a full house leaving & a full house for the weekend with two chambermaids working, nice planning Mr. general manager. We finally get into our room on a 90 degree day and the A/C isn't working. Calls to the front desk went w/o response until the following day. Add to this the steps leading to our unit caked with bird crap and more of that on the back deck & you have all the makings of a great vacation. Somehow Interval has this dump rated as a premium resort, oh by the way they're not really interested in the condition & treatment received. Having been there made me realize the pictures that Interval has in their guide & on line are all from the back of the resort, makes sense now.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ball82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Calabogie hotels

Ottawa, Canada
1 review
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We were at a wedding reception at the resort. Dinner was held in one of the rooms on the resort(roast pork and beef). Halfway through inviting tables up to the buffet, they ran out of food. No salads, no pork and completely out of beef. About 15min. later, pork was added. Gradually some salads were added but they were completely out of beef and they were adding pork skin to the buffet. When we returned to the King Suite(shared with another couple), there were no extra sheets or blankets. Front desk ran up some sheets but there were NO Blankets available. We had to cover with just the sheets and could not adjust the air conditioning because the knob was removed. There was also supposed to be a 15% discount for wedding guests which looking at the bill after we left, was not applied. All in All, not a place I will return to or book for future events.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jsm123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

This is the second time we go dickson manor and the black donald for a blues show that our local radio station puts together.great venue and a great time to be had.hotel is in a great spot if you ski or snowshoe in the winter and great for hiking in the summer.hotel is clean and comfortable but starting to show its age.still would recomend it not all properties car be new and the price is very fair.my wife and i plan to go back many times.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jimmy m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013

We travelled here for a two night deal in early September and were very pleased with our mini vacation. The room was absolutely beautiful with a king size bed, huge washroom and wonderful secluded balcony to sit and watch the sunrise. Our mini vacation included unlimited on site golf and we thoroughly enjoyed this little 9 hole course. Although we just missed the season to swim in the lake, or enjoy some of the non-motorized water sports, we did check out the lake front and offerings, which looked like soooo much fun. To bad it was closed for the season or we would have definitely taken advantage of the waterfront!

We did a lot of hiking up the ski hills and the lookout points are not to be missed! Some trails are more challenging but definitely worth the effort when you end up taking in the wondrous views of Ottawa Valley. The front desk staff were extremely helpful and will provide the various trail maps, as well as helpful tips on things to do in the surrounding area.

The indoor pool was pretty great to play in and the outdoor hot-tub was super relaxing, with nice views of the ski hills. The gym facility looked very well equipped, although we didn't use it (mini vacation all around ;-) ).

We ate both breakfast and dinner in the onsite restaurant and were very pleased. The breakfast is a buffet and was very tasty. Dinner was exceptionally well done with very good wine selections all around.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trippytourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level 5 Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

I travelled with my family to Calabogie Peaks and Dickson Manor for 1 night 2 days over the March break. We were 2 adults, 2 teenage boys and 1 young girl. We went up early in the day to go tubing for the afternoon at the ski hill. It was fun and we had a good time. We had asked for an early check-in upon reservation but there was no guarantee so we stopped in before the hill and our rooms werent ready. After a snack and drink at Black Donalds we went back to the hotel and still the rooms were not ready. We had 2 booked. I was pretty surprised to hear that we couldnt check in 1 hour early. Its not a big hotel and they were still doing housekeeping. By 4 we got into one room and it was another 30 minutes til the second one was ready. Not really any apologies or reason given. When we got to our rooms we were talking with the maids and there were only 2 ladies for housekeeping for the whole hotel. If you are at maximum capacity dont you make sure you have extra staff on hand to accomodate the numbers? Anyways, rooms were nice, pretty basic, no small fridge or anything. Kids liked the pool and hot tub, although those areas could used some sprucing up. Restaurant was basic and overpriced (by looking at the menu). We went into Calabogie and got pizzas and brought them back for dinner. Free dvds to rent at front desk. I asked for an hour later check out and they said ok. Overall, not much personality or bang for the buck.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OttawaLovethesun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calabogie
15.7 mi away
Days Inn & Conference Centre Renfrew
23.9 mi away
Quality Inn Arnprior
Quality Inn Arnprior
#2 of 3 in Arnprior
52 reviews
2.7 mi away
Calabogie Highlands Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Calabogie Motor Inn
Calabogie Motor Inn
#4 of 4 in Calabogie
13 reviews
22.4 mi away
Country Squire Motel
Country Squire Motel
#1 of 3 in Arnprior
200 reviews
23.4 mi away
Pine Lodge
Pine Lodge
#1 of 1 in Bristol
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Calabogie Peaks Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Calabogie Peaks Hotel

Property: Calabogie Peaks Hotel
Address: 30 Barrett Chute Rd, Calabogie, Ontario K0J 1H0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Calabogie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Calabogie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Calabogie Peaks Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For a romantic getaway, or to just plain get away. Fine dining, indoor and outdoor activities to satisfy all interests and all ages. Take a look at our seasonal stay & play packages, you won't be sorry. Dickson Manor at Calabogie Peaks Resort is a four-season destination. You can ski, golf, dine, hike, bike or swim. And you can take advantage of our many all-year amenities - outdoor hot tub, indoor swimming pool, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Calabogie Peaks Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dickson Manor At Calabogie Peaks Hotel Calabogie
Calabogie Peaks Hotel Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing