We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing relaxing resort!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Calabogie Lodge Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Calabogie
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Calabogie Lodge Resort
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Calabogie
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
67 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Amazing relaxing resort!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

We went to this resort because our son was competing in a surf event. We were so impressed with the accomodation. The room was beautiful and bed was so comfortable. Very cosy! Get a balcony. We saw a deer from our room. It had the most serene view. We had dinner and breakfast at the hotel . The food was really excellent . The service from the staff is excellent!
The lake is walking distance and the Golf on site! All and all a perfect resort! We had an amazing time and will visit again!

Room Tip: Get a balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kersten H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CalabogieLodge, Public Relations Manager at Calabogie Lodge Resort, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We are proud of the resort and very pleased you found our establishment relaxing and welcoming!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    65
    16
    2
    8
See reviews for
104
70
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

It's a small place but it was very familiar to us. Looks like my grandmother's old house. The staff was friendly and professional, is a place where visitors can be disconnected completely from the bustle of the big city.

Great alternative to consider. Worth it!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pam P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CalabogieLodge, Public Relations Manager at Calabogie Lodge Resort, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
So glad your visit brought back memories.....come back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gowanstown Ontario
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

We just spent 5 days at Calaogie Lodge in a 1 bedroom (A102) in the older building right on the lake The accommodations were excellent and a very unique layout. You actually park on the upper level and enter the unit on the bedroom level. A spiral staircase leads you to the lower level where the living room, dining room, kitchen and 2nd bathroom are located. The upper bedroom level has a balcony overlooking the lake and the lower level has a wooden patio/porch rght on the water. The bed is excellent and the unit is extremely well outfitted with lots of dishes etc. and coffee filters, salt and pepper, laundry soap (there is a washer and dryer in the unit) etc. Many time share units are not nearly so well equipped. The WiFi is fast and free. There is a tv on both levels. There is nothing negative I can say about the unit exept the shower curtain is the flimsy kind that sticks to you when you have a shower!!
Although you are charged an amenities fee when you check-out, it is nice to have free use of the canoes, paddleboats and bicycles. There is also a pool and hot tub. One recommendation we have for the resort is - please upgrade your bicycles or at least pump up the tires!!
The Lakeside Cafe is closed on Mondays so we found a great spot close to the resort on highway 508 - Shooter's Pub - great food and excellent service and Thursday night is wing night - not to be missed. We did eat at the Lakeshore Cafe and it was excellent but we were the only people there between the hours of 5:30 and 7:00 and they close at 7. Marie our server and Jeremy our cook were wonderful and we certainly received great service. The fish and chips were excellent and prices reasonable.
Our only concern was the cleaning fee we were charged on our checkout. We were there for 4 nights and 5 days and we did not have housekeeping during the itme we were there. The unit was clean upon our arrival as we would expect it to be. Upon check-out we were charged a cleaning fee and an amenities fee togther totalling 52.00. We have no issue with the amenities fee but we certainly have an issue with the cleaning fee. What that in effect meant was that we were not at all inclined to leave any tip in the envelope in our room for Helen's team that prepared our room. We are long time timeshare owners and have stayed at dozens of timeshares. Paying an extra cleaning fee is not standard and this did sour us a bit on the Calagoe Lodge. We hope that Helen's team at least gets a portion of the charge we were levied for the cleaning fee. Our recommendation would be that the resort drop the cleaning fee.
However overall we would highly recommend the Calagogie Lodge.

Room Tip: Even though the Lakeside Building is probably the oldest it has without a doubt the best location.We...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CalabogieLodge, Public Relations Manager at Calabogie Lodge Resort, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
We appreciate your comments are pleased that you enjoyed the beautiful weather.

It is the time of year when we are all anxious to feel the warmth, see the blossoms and relax.

At check out we do charge a cleaning fee for exchange guests that confirm for shorter stays. One unit cleaning fee per week is included in the payment of an annual maintenance fee. Therefore, there could be more than one clean for that unit\week.

We hope you visit again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitby, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

Smaller resort with all the amenities of home. The location is worth the drive. The resort is well maintained and being in the units in the A block were best, with a small deck right at the water. The bed was great and the unit overall was large, clean and well equipped. We had traded to use RCI points. There was plenty of room for 4 adults. Enjoyed use of the canoe, sitting on the beach, the pool and the hot tub. It was also nice that they had adult only times. A couple things to note, they do reserve $500 on your credit card to cover possible damages and there is a daily fee for hydro, it is not included. We were surprised to be told this as it's not a customary charge. Overall highly recommend the resort and will definitely be going back.

Room Tip: If possible get a room in the 'A' block building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CdnTrvlr62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CalabogieLodge, Public Relations Manager at Calabogie Lodge Resort, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
We appreciate your feedback! We will see you when you return for your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose del Cabo, Mexico
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013

Just spent a week at the lodge, Beautiful views, countryside, Friendly people.
We also stayed in room A107 and can confirm that the bed is very comfortable.
Canoe and pedal boats available for use as well as tennis equipment for no extra charge.
Participated in the Aquafit classes (also free) Margaret was very pleasant and knowledgeable about the surrounding area and the attractions
Have to watch the time of year to visit as May is black fly season. Good skiing nearby in the winter.
You need to try the ice cream at the Calabogie Pizza place

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thedoons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CalabogieLodge, Public Relations Manager at Calabogie Lodge Resort, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
We appreciate your review and we have to agree with your comment about the black flies! However, they don't last long!

A good nights sleep always makes your stay most enjoyable. Glad you enjoyed our new king size beds.

Visit again!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chatham
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

My husband and I stayed here a year and a half ago, and I never had a chance to write a review, but it is a place that has pleasantly lingered in my mind, and I have travelled alot. We have a motorcyle, and we got a 2 bedroom unit through RCI, and we used this resort as a "base" to ride during the day, and come back to relax at night. We like it so much that we just stayed and relaxed at the resort for a few of the days, rather than ride. The views were wonderful from our 2 balconies, and the staff were so friendly. The place had a rustic woodsy feel, and the lake was so nice. We hope to go back.

Room Tip: I think that all rooms have a waterfront view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank reflex1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CalabogieLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Calabogie Lodge Resort, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Thank you for your commments! It is nice to know that you still think of our resort even though you were here last year....more reason to visit again, soon!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
160 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

RCI, great lodge, we stayed in unit 107, and it’s a two story unit directly in front of the lake. The amenities were fine, and the bed was sublime, very comfortable. From the time we got inside our unit to looking at everything was immaculate, clean and very comfortable. The folks at the front desk to Sherril the manager they aim to please. Unfortunately we only stayed one night, we bought a time share back in 91 and never had the opportunity to stay for our week, so we rented out our week, the staff always served us well over the phone or via email and never had problems that could not be solved by Sherrill. I loved seeing the great skiing hills and the lake, it's very pictures’. From the pool and hot tub to the new infra-red sauna it was very relaxing. Thank you for a wonderful night.

Room Tip: It doesn't matter what you choose, you will be very well accommodated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank axxiefox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CalabogieLodge, Public Relations Manager at Calabogie Lodge Resort, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you for your comment. We hope you can come back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calabogie
13.7 mi away
Days Inn & Conference Centre Renfrew
21.2 mi away
Quality Inn Arnprior
Quality Inn Arnprior
#2 of 3 in Arnprior
3.5 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
1.3 mi away
Calabogie Highlands Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Calabogie Peaks Hotel
Calabogie Peaks Hotel
#2 of 4 in Calabogie
3.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
0.6 mi away
Jocko's Beach Resort and Motel
2.7 mi away
Calabogie Peaks Resort
Calabogie Peaks Resort
#2 of 3 in Calabogie
3.5 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Calabogie Lodge Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Calabogie Lodge Resort

Property: Calabogie Lodge Resort
Address: 729 Mill St, Calabogie, Ontario K0J 1H0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Calabogie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Calabogie
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Year round RCI Vacation Ownership Property, also offers Condominium rentals, nightly or weekly. Call the Resort for pricing, or visit our website to book online. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Calabogie Hotel Calabogie
Calabogie Lodge Resort Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing