We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Beautiful Retreat!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Calabogie
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Calabogie Lodge Resort
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Calabogie
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 31, 2013

We just spent 5 days at Calaogie Lodge in a 1 bedroom (A102) in the older building right on the lake The accommodations were excellent and a very unique layout. You actually park on the upper level and enter the unit on the bedroom level. A spiral staircase leads you to the lower level where the living room, dining room, kitchen and 2nd bathroom are located. The upper bedroom level has a balcony overlooking the lake and the lower level has a wooden patio/porch rght on the water. The bed is excellent and the unit is extremely well outfitted with lots of dishes etc. and coffee filters, salt and pepper, laundry soap (there is a washer and dryer in the unit) etc. Many time share units are not nearly so well equipped. The WiFi is fast and free. There is a tv on both levels. There is nothing negative I can say about the unit exept the shower curtain is the flimsy kind that sticks to you when you have a shower!!
Although you are charged an amenities fee when you check-out, it is nice to have free use of the canoes, paddleboats and bicycles. There is also a pool and hot tub. One recommendation we have for the resort is - please upgrade your bicycles or at least pump up the tires!!
The Lakeside Cafe is closed on Mondays so we found a great spot close to the resort on highway 508 - Shooter's Pub - great food and excellent service and Thursday night is wing night - not to be missed. We did eat at the Lakeshore Cafe and it was excellent but we were the only people there between the hours of 5:30 and 7:00 and they close at 7. Marie our server and Jeremy our cook were wonderful and we certainly received great service. The fish and chips were excellent and prices reasonable.
Our only concern was the cleaning fee we were charged on our checkout. We were there for 4 nights and 5 days and we did not have housekeeping during the itme we were there. The unit was clean upon our arrival as we would expect it to be. Upon check-out we were charged a cleaning fee and an amenities fee togther totalling 52.00. We have no issue with the amenities fee but we certainly have an issue with the cleaning fee. What that in effect meant was that we were not at all inclined to leave any tip in the envelope in our room for Helen's team that prepared our room. We are long time timeshare owners and have stayed at dozens of timeshares. Paying an extra cleaning fee is not standard and this did sour us a bit on the Calagoe Lodge. We hope that Helen's team at least gets a portion of the charge we were levied for the cleaning fee. Our recommendation would be that the resort drop the cleaning fee.
However overall we would highly recommend the Calagogie Lodge.

Room Tip: Even though the Lakeside Building is probably the oldest it has without a doubt the best location.We...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CalabogieLodge, Public Relations Manager at Calabogie Lodge Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2013

We appreciate your comments are pleased that you enjoyed the beautiful weather.

It is the time of year when we are all anxious to feel the warmth, see the blossoms and relax.

At check out we do charge a cleaning fee for exchange guests that confirm for shorter stays. One unit cleaning fee per week is included in the payment of an annual maintenance fee. Therefore, there could be more than one clean for that unit\week.

We hope you visit again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (326)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

288 - 294 of 326 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2013

Smaller resort with all the amenities of home. The location is worth the drive. The resort is well maintained and being in the units in the A block were best, with a small deck right at the water. The bed was great and the unit overall was large, clean and well equipped. We had traded to use RCI points. There was plenty of room for 4 adults. Enjoyed use of the canoe, sitting on the beach, the pool and the hot tub. It was also nice that they had adult only times. A couple things to note, they do reserve $500 on your credit card to cover possible damages and there is a daily fee for hydro, it is not included. We were surprised to be told this as it's not a customary charge. Overall highly recommend the resort and will definitely be going back.

Room Tip: If possible get a room in the 'A' block building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CdnTrvlr62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CalabogieLodge, Public Relations Manager at Calabogie Lodge Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2013

We appreciate your feedback! We will see you when you return for your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

Just spent a week at the lodge, Beautiful views, countryside, Friendly people.
We also stayed in room A107 and can confirm that the bed is very comfortable.
Canoe and pedal boats available for use as well as tennis equipment for no extra charge.
Participated in the Aquafit classes (also free) Margaret was very pleasant and knowledgeable about the surrounding area and the attractions
Have to watch the time of year to visit as May is black fly season. Good skiing nearby in the winter.
You need to try the ice cream at the Calabogie Pizza place

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank thedoons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CalabogieLodge, Public Relations Manager at Calabogie Lodge Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2013

We appreciate your review and we have to agree with your comment about the black flies! However, they don't last long!

A good nights sleep always makes your stay most enjoyable. Glad you enjoyed our new king size beds.

Visit again!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

My husband and I stayed here a year and a half ago, and I never had a chance to write a review, but it is a place that has pleasantly lingered in my mind, and I have travelled alot. We have a motorcyle, and we got a 2 bedroom unit through RCI, and we used this resort as a "base" to ride during the day, and come back to relax at night. We like it so much that we just stayed and relaxed at the resort for a few of the days, rather than ride. The views were wonderful from our 2 balconies, and the staff were so friendly. The place had a rustic woodsy feel, and the lake was so nice. We hope to go back.

Room Tip: I think that all rooms have a waterfront view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank reflex1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CalabogieLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Calabogie Lodge Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2013

Thank you for your commments! It is nice to know that you still think of our resort even though you were here last year....more reason to visit again, soon!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

RCI, great lodge, we stayed in unit 107, and it’s a two story unit directly in front of the lake. The amenities were fine, and the bed was sublime, very comfortable. From the time we got inside our unit to looking at everything was immaculate, clean and very comfortable. The folks at the front desk to Sherril the manager they aim to please. Unfortunately we only stayed one night, we bought a time share back in 91 and never had the opportunity to stay for our week, so we rented out our week, the staff always served us well over the phone or via email and never had problems that could not be solved by Sherrill. I loved seeing the great skiing hills and the lake, it's very pictures’. From the pool and hot tub to the new infra-red sauna it was very relaxing. Thank you for a wonderful night.

Room Tip: It doesn't matter what you choose, you will be very well accommodated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank axxiefox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CalabogieLodge, Public Relations Manager at Calabogie Lodge Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

Thank you for your comment. We hope you can come back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

We were at the Lodge Resort for the Easter weekend. The first time I have ventured in that area of Ontario. We had two units to accommodate the entire family. The drive approaching Calabogie was great and very scenic.
When I entered the unit I was amazed. The cleanliness, the furniture the size of the rooms, the view.....I can go on. Did not get to try the restaurant.
Such a relaxing place. I would love to go back again. Fabulous!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! :)))
Travelled with family that are part of the RCI package.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CanadaforeverOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CalabogieLodge, Public Relations Manager at Calabogie Lodge Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

Great to hear that this was your first visit and such a positive adventure!

It was a pleasure to have you as our guests and we hope you visit again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

I have stayed at many many RCI Resorts but this has to be one of the best. It has everything and most importantly the folks who work here and operate the Resort were do accommodating it was what we will return for again and again. Sharon at the lakeside cafe and lounge greeted us for dinner that first night we arrived and her attention to our needs together with the awesome food kept us going back for more. The breakfast is unbelievable especially for the price! Even the new girl Lori provided great service on her first day on the job. We loved the pool, hottub was actually hot and the adult swim hours perfect. One more thing, the beds were so comfortable we slept great from the first night to the last. We are coming back in the fall to enjoy all this Resort has to offer and the beautiful scenery of the Calabogie area.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mugsyOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CalabogieLodge, Public Relations Manager at Calabogie Lodge Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2013

Our greatest pleasure is receiving feedback from our guests. Whether negative or positive, we must know how we are doing or what more we can do to make your stay most enjoyable!.

Sharon the operator at the Lakeshore Cafe. has created a pleasant and relaxing atmosphere for our guests in her unique establishment. We hear good comments about her healthy menu and food presentation.

Thank you for taking the time to submit your comments.

We hope you do come back and visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calabogie
13.7 mi away
Days Inn & Conference Centre Renfrew
21.2 mi away
Quality Inn Arnprior
Quality Inn Arnprior
#2 of 3 in Arnprior
55 reviews
2.7 mi away
Calabogie Peaks Hotel
Calabogie Peaks Hotel
#2 of 4 in Calabogie
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Calabogie Highlands Golf Resort
0.6 mi away
Jocko's Beach Resort and Motel
0.2 mi away
Calabogie Motor Inn
Calabogie Motor Inn
#4 of 4 in Calabogie
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Calabogie Lodge Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Calabogie Lodge Resort

Address: 729 Mill, Calabogie, Ontario K0J 1H0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Calabogie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Calabogie
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Year round RCI Vacation Ownership Property, also offers Condominium rentals, nightly or weekly. Call the Resort for pricing, or visit our website to book online. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Calabogie Hotel Calabogie
Calabogie Lodge Resort Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing