We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Weekend Away”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Calabogie
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Calabogie Lodge Resort
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Calabogie
Certificate of Excellence
Ontario
Level Contributor
208 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Great Weekend Away”
Reviewed April 1, 2012

We checked in on Friday and Checked out on Sunday Morning. We ate at Polly's Restaurant the first night, which was really good, so much food and such good staff. We went for a swim, sauna & hot tub when we got back to the resort. The pool has 8:30-9:30pm adult only swim time. Which we appreciated. There is also a kids free time in the morning as well. Our 1bedroom unit was so spacious. The only complaint was that we could not open the balcony door because the carpet was all rolled up against the door. The bed was comfy, king size. The bathroom seems to be in transition. The water does scald when the toilet is flushed!!!! The kitchens are brand new! Lots of cooking utensils. They also made us ice! Everything was clean in the unit. We had breakfast Saturday morning at the resort restaurant. Reasonably priced. Our waitress was new, but served us very well. We also had dinner here. The food was very hot, the Chef was very entertaining and kept us laughing all evening. We also went for a dip after dinner that night too. The resort was very quiet and we woke up to snow the last morning. It was nice to watch the snow fall while lying in bed. We definitely took the time to enjoy every moment!

Room Tip: If you like to bbq ask for a room near the BBQs. If you don't like loud neighbours ask to be o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheSchu's
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    69
    16
    2
    8
See reviews for
109
72
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Luxembourg
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2012

We spent a relaxing 3 nights at Calabogie Lodge in Manor 2 (the house next to the main property) in February. The house was perfect for 2 adults and 2 children (8 and 10.) The sun room at the back of the house which looks out over the lake and fills with afternoon sun was a wonderful place to spend time reading after a busy day outside. The kitchen had everything we needed to cook full meals (which we also ate in the sun room.) The staff was consistently courteous and knowledgeable about the area and very pleasant to work with. Neat cafe, which you will pass on your way to the Lodge if coming from Ottawa, was a great little find too. They roast their own coffee, have a nice simple menu of soups, salads, pizza, etc and have live music on the weekends. What a find. All in all we had a wonderful few days at Calabogie.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jenileem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CalabogieLodge, Coordinator at Calabogie Lodge Resort, responded to this review, March 15, 2012
Thank you for your feedback! We appreciate the time you have taken to share your great experience with us.

If the March Break provided you with family fun, you must visit us in the summer.
Swimming, use of paddleboats and canoes are just some of the amenities offered. Check our website for up to date information.

Hope to see you folks again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatineau, Canada
Level Contributor
93 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2012

We were 2 adults and 5 children in a 2 bedroom loft. There was a pull-out in the living room and 2 bedrooms upstairs. There was ample storage and space for everyone. The beds were comfortable and there was lots of big windows letting in tons light. The location was beautiful, right on the lake. The kids enjoyed the pool every day. There is also a large games room with pool and air hockey ($) It was a quick 10 minute drive to Calabogie Peaks where the kids enjoyed skiing and snow boarding lessons. We really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank swiss2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napanee, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2012

We just returned from a great week at Calabogie Lodge. We had two units. One was a 2 bedroom condo (L420) in the newest building that was used by my son, daughter-in-law and their 3 children. The other unit (A106) was a one bedroom that my husband and myself along with our 13 year old granddaughter shared. This was in the oldest building.

A week before check-in I phoned to confirm my reservation and ask questions re snow conditions, outdoor rink, etc. The girl on the other end of the phone was very helpful, even providing additional information that would help us plan our vacation. You could hear the smile in her voice.

We arrived at the resort, after a nail biting drive through a snow storm two hours before check-in. We were greeted by Crystal who assured us both units were ready for us and were given the keys right away. The friendly, efficient check-in was a good way to start our vacation. Kendell was also very helpful answering questions I had.

On inspecting both units, we found they were very clean and well stocked. The appliances are on the older side but in good working conditions. Both were decorated with pine, giving a warm cottage feeling. L420 was on the ground level. There was a huge walk- in storage closet on one side of the entrance hall with lots of hangers, shelving and space for hockey gear and all the outside equipment that 3 kids require. On the other side of the hall was a bathroom that included a good vanity for storage, plus a shower. There was also a stackable washer and dryer. The kitchen also had more than enough room to store all the groceries required for a family of five. There was double sink, dish washer and tons of counter space. An island separated it from the dining area that had a table with seating for six.. The living room area had a bed chesterfield, a love seat and a comfortable reading chair with foot stool. There was an older flat screen television and a gas fireplace. Along the front of the unit were windows that provided a lot of natural light plus a picturesque view of the frozen lake. There were sliding doors off the living room leading out to a huge balcony running the length of the unit. As the building was built into a hill, you went downstairs to the spacious bedrooms. At the foot of the stairs, there was a great play area for the little ones toy car tracks. One bedroom had comfortable twin beds, a dresser and good sized closet. Windows along the front allowed natural light. The master bedroom was huge, with a king sized bed, dresser, T.V. and comfortable chair. There were sliding doors leading out to a patio area. The big bathroom could be entered from the master bedroom and also the hall way. It had a double vanity, Jacuzzi tub, and a separate shower room with toilet. There were amble towels and face cloths provided. This unit was sound proof, with no noise from adjacent units.

Our one bedroom unit A106 was right down by the lake. You entered from the parking area into the bedroom area. On the right was a hall with a closet on one side and a stackable washer and dryer on the other. This led to the four piece bathroom with a large vanity for storage. Along the front of the bedroom were windows and balcony doors leading to a large carpeted upper balcony with great views of Calabogie Lake and the Calabogie ski hill in the distance. The sunsets from here were beautiful. A spiral staircase led downstairs. This was picturesque but I always ascended and descended with care although the 2 year old granddaughter had no problems with it when visiting. This would not be a unit for anyone physically challenged. The downstairs had an adequate kitchen, dining space that seated 4 and a comfortable living area with a bed chesterfield, comfortable chair and gas fireplace. However, this fireplace was on a timer that was loud and having to reset it all the time was annoying. There was a door leading out to a great porch area that would be a fantastic place in the summer. The only downside with this unit is the lack of soundproofing. When neighbours walked around upstairs in their units, the floors creaked so that it sounded like they were in our upstairs. Also voices could be heard between the walls. As the resort was not busy during the week, we had quiet.

There was a lot to do although the resort did not provide organized activities in the off season. The pool was great, salt water and very warm. There was also a hot tub but in order to get the jets activated you had to knock on the window to the office for staff to do it. I did not use the sauna. The change rooms were clean and adequate. They provided life jackets for the little ones. There was a large skating ring cleared on the lake in front of the resort and all sizes of skates were available to borrow. Hockey nets were also provided. There were also snowshoes, cross country skis and some sleighs and magic carpets for downhill riding available in the front office. They have a computer available in the front office as well but as there is internet access in the units and we had our laptops with us, we did not use it. Upstairs in the lodge there is a games room and library as well. They also have a small exercise room that I did not use as snow shoeing on the lake everyday provided the needed exercise. Ice fishing was also popular and a number of quests had their snowmobiles with them.

A five minute drive gets you to Calabogie Ski Hill. Although we do not ski, we did go over on the Sunday and really had fun snow tubing. The next day we took the 8 year old grandson over for a morning of ski lessons with a great instructor.

Staff at the resort, were very friendly. Even the maintenance and cleaning staff took time to visit and made you feel special. The voice on our T.V. was fuzzy. I mentioned it at the desk and also asked to borrow a blender for smoothies. Within minutes the maintenance man arrived at our door to adjust the sound and he was carrying a blender! We had both snow and freezing rain while there and were really impressed at the job done to clear the driveways, parking lots, sidewalks, etc. Check- out was a breeze. We enjoyed a good breakfast in the Lakeside Café before our drive home.

This winter vacation was really great and I would recommend Calabogie Resort to everyone. It is definitely a four seasons destination

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sylvia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pembroke, Ontario, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2012

I want to start out by saying we are not complainers and are quite easy to please. We do not expect a lot but I feel it is important to write this review and warn people because our experience was horrible. It started out with us booking our trip over the phone and they informed us that we will be recieving our confirmation in an email. A few days had gone by and we still did not recieve anything back so my wife called the resort back to notify them. They told us that we did not book a stay with them, which we did and the lady on the other end was quite rude. Then it was found out that they had the wrong first name (mistakes happen) and then this was followed by them saying we had booked a 2 bedroom (which we didn't) we booked a 1 bedroom. The receptionist then went on to tell us the rules again about the resort but at the end this time she informed us of a $500 damage deposit (which we were not told the first time we booked) . My wife informed them that this should have been told to us when we had booked and she replied with "it notifies you in your confirmation", which we did not recieve, that was the reason why we were calling. Plus by the time you recieve the confirmation your credit card has already been charged for half of your trip. We were renting a room for $185 for the night so we felt as if requiring $500 deposit should be told to you before booking. I also found it quite odd that they charge you the full price of the room even if you were to cancel 48hrs before your booking (things happen in life and that is 2 days notice). We then arrived at the resort and the rooms were quite nice. When we went to check out more drama occured at the front desk, they checked our room before giving us our deposit back and she asked for my debit card to put the money back on, but informed me that we owe them $10 for the key we lost (which did not happen at all) and they automatically take a non-refundable $35 for an amenities fee that we were not told about. We stayed for the one night and did not use the pool, hot tubs, etc. and yet again I feel that this should be told to the customer. After an arguement with the same lady at the front desk we recieved the full $500 deposit back. The way this resort treats their customers is unbelievable and made for the worst stay we have ever had! I would strongly recommend people to not support this business, as we were treated with complete disrespect.

Room Tip: Don't Go
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Phil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CalabogieLodge, Manager at Calabogie Lodge Resort, responded to this review, January 27, 2012
- We are truly sorry for the negative experience that you received when you confirmed a one night rental for accommodations at the resort.
- There was a mistake in the original reservation which caused much of the confusion. This was part of the confusion surrounding the $30 amenity which is NOT charged on room rentals only for time share members who come in on exchange. Again this was caused by the original reservation not being booked properly. We remedied this as soon as we realized the mistake.
- It is standard practice when checking into any hotel that your credit card number is taken for security damages purposes. No hotel allows people to check in without a credit card as security. In fact many hotels take much more than the $500 security without relaying that to the guest. We have advertised our resort on many travel sites and our policies are listed including the security deposit. We apologize for not clearly explaining the rental policies and procedures at the time of your confirmation.
- A 50% non refundable deposit is taken to confirm your reservations. If cancellation occurs within 48 hours prior to check in, the total amount is non refundable. We feel this is a fair compromise between the needs of our guests and the lost revenue from cancellations. Again, this is superior to standard industry practice.
- Notwithstanding the above it is clear that our customer service in this case was sub par and we apologize for this. We are working to ensure staff members are helpful , courteous and efficient at all times. Clearly this did not happen in this case.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brantford
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2012

We were told a new owner bought this resort three years ago and wants to spend $750,000 to bring it back to a gold rating with RCI. Don't knock the resort if you have issues with the restaurant. The restaurant is leased space from the resort and should not reflect what you think of the resort. We did not use the restaurant.
We did have issues and plenty of them. You usually have something wrong with a resort and we are not ones to complain about them unless we are asked (which we were) or terribly put out. My family and I come from a Gold Crown resort and know what to expect.

When we arrived we were told we had a one bedroom which was also in the email I received from the resort which was my fault for not following up on that before we got there. When you come from a two bedroom gold crown resort you should expect a two bedroom even if it is not a gold crown resort. I was told it was RCI's problem. When we arrived the staff was not very friendly or forward coming with informaiton about the resort. We were told here is your binder, keys and map of where your unit is. Is that because we are from another resort?
When we got to our unit we were pleased at first. The first thing we noticed was the tub was full of body hair after i showered because someone before us had decided to shave themselves. Epic cleaning fail on the cleaning staff's part.
The hot water heater is set to maximum hot (I saw this with my own eyes) which I found out the hard way. There is no energy efficient light bulbs anywhere. I noticed this when one blew and I changed it.
As being there at Christmas time the patio door drapes would blow from the wind coming in, a large draft sock would help that on the patio doors where the drapes were moving. Not enough place settings to run a full load of dishes in the dish washer. This all reflects on the money that could be saved on maintenance fees which the RCI owners could save at this resort.
There is no inventory list when you arrive or damage list on arrival either. That is why we did not use the toilet with the cracked toilet bowl in that bathroom either. I didn't want to be charged for it if it broke.
Windows and screens were filthy and splattered with stain or sealer for the wood. the cupboard doors are ready to fall off. I didn't want to use some of them. The thermostat is not placed in the proper position in relation to the fireplace causing the rest of the unit to become cold. It should be placed on the slanted wall near the hall lightswithch. The fire extinguisher is too high for a preteen to use in case of fire. Adults should be able to supervise their children not to touch it unless in case of emergency.
We did not want to use the jetted tub because of the hair in the other bathroom. We could smell the cabbage rolls that the next unit was cooking through the vent in the jetted tub for two nights in a row. So there is no separation in the tub area behind the wall. We could also hear someone snoring.
The bed was not a queen size and if it was it is a really small queen. pillows are hard, comforter has seen better days and the towels are scratchy. My wife had the bed, I had the pull out and my daughter slept on the floor on a crash pad we had brought. The unit needs more side tables and side chair with ottoman. We were putting our stuff on the floor around the lodge. The dining room table needs to be replaced as it is warped and wobbly.
The infrared sauna worked half of the time in the pool area. The hot tub was scalding, the tiles around the pool are filthy and the pool cover looked ripped and was laying in the pool for most of the week. The patio furniture is rusty and the washroom door in the pool area does not close properly.
I did make one phone call to have the steps salted and it was done right away. After that all the units had their own bag of salt outside their door.
We thought the activities were priced too high and to have to pay for boat rentals when it is the season for it I think is a no no. I can see paying a deposit.
The bbq was filthy and you could smell propane very slightly when it was off. The fridge in the unit was set to max which froze our food.

90% of these things were listed with the resort when they called us to come down to see what our thoughts were on getting the resort back to a gold crown resort again. The main thing it has going for it is location and secondly a new owner. We loved the area. as my daughter learned to ski for the first time with a four minute drive to calabogie peaks. We went to Renfrew one day and spent our Christmas vacation there at the lodge. I think I rather put up with the inlaws....lol. The cleaning crew needs to be in touch with the maintenance crew which needs to be in touch with the owner. Maybe some brain storming sessions. The majority are easy fixes. Customer service being one of them. It was the first thing we saw that left a lasting impression for the rest of the trip even though when we went down for a swim they were friendly.
Would I go again.....probably not. Would I recommend the lodge.....probably not. My family Christmas is today and they are chomping at the bit to see how it was. Some of them are from Ottawa and think Calabogie has a good name. I still had to pay $195 to either Calabogie Lodge or RCI for booking it. I wanted to give the vacation some time to sink in before I wrote the review. I still have to fill out RCI's review.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a two bedroom unit if that is what you get at your home resort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CalabogieLodge, Resort Coordinator at Calabogie Lodge Resort, responded to this review, January 6, 2012
We appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Calabogie Lodge Resort! You are corrrect in advising that we are not a Gold Crown Resort. Although we have been rated as a Silver Crown Resort, current comments submitted by RCI exchanges are placing us closing to receiveing Gold Crown status once again!

Capital improvements occuring in the next three years at Calabogie Lodge will definately allow us to exceed our current status. Our plans are to continue to make Calabogie Lodge the #1 vacation destination in this area. With continued support from our resort members and new visitors, we will continue to offer a positive vacation experience.

Your comments\feedback have been taken into consideration and our Owner Services Department thank you for taking the time to complete the survey when you stayed at the resort. We hope you enjoyed your gift card!

Thank You!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2012

We stayed at Calabogie on Christmas week. We were welcomed by staff, (especially Charlene) who provided us with activities available in the resort and the area. Our two bedroom unit was spacious, warm and cozy reminiscent of a log cabin. We liked the comfortable beds, large kitchen and gas fireplace. The view of the lake was magnificent.

My family skiied, snowboarded and hiked. The skiing was limited at first due to lack of snow, but we were dumped 8-10 inches the evening we arrived and additional trails were opened. Calabogie Peaks offered 10% off when purchasing lift tickets on-line. Prices were reasonable $25 - $30. My sons enjoyed snowboarding despite the absence of a large terrain park. They spent some time on small terrain park near the bunny hill.

We hiked the Eagle's Nest trail. This was a nice and manageable walk through the woods and ends at the top off the mountain in a sacred, native american grounds.

We went to the pool, hot tub and sauna daily. The pool is one of the warmest I have ever been experienced. The game room had a pool table, board games, ping pong and darts.

After 2 days of skiing, we visited Ottawa, which is about an hour away and we took a tour of Parliament. The boys liked the Peace Tower and the magnificent views of the city. We also visited two other fabulous museums, The Museum of Civilization where we saw a film in IMAX theatre on the Canadian Pacific Railway and many exhibits including amazing totem poles. The Museum of Nature fascinated us with the largest bird collection in North America, gemstones, and fossils of different animals...

We were disappointed that we could not skate on Rideau Canal since the water was not frozen. We ate at a mall near the Westin Hotel on Wellington Blvd.....which offered a variety of cuisines.

We spent most of the days eating in, so we are unable to comment on the restaurants in the area. We made poutine, french fries with gravy and cheese curds. There is a small grocery store with all the basic items and a great bakery where we had apple and cherry turnovers. We were able to resist the cinnamon buns.

We highly recommend Calabogie Lodge Resort for the rustic and warm hospitality evoked by the accomodations and the staff. The serenity provided by the view of the lake is unforgettable. We hope to return in the summer. Enjoy!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank marie c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CalabogieLodge, Resort Coordinator at Calabogie Lodge Resort, responded to this review, January 6, 2012
We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us!

Taking in the local area amenities and visiting Ottawa are exactly what we want our guests to experience. As a family oriented resort, we hope that you 'all' come back again and if not in the winter, summer can offer you so much more!

This is a great place to have family fun!

Thank you for your comments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calabogie
13.7 mi away
Days Inn & Conference Centre Renfrew
21.2 mi away
Quality Inn Arnprior
Quality Inn Arnprior
#2 of 3 in Arnprior
43 reviews
1.3 mi away
Calabogie Highlands Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Calabogie Motor Inn
Calabogie Motor Inn
#4 of 4 in Calabogie
13 reviews
0.6 mi away
Jocko's Beach Resort and Motel
20.9 mi away
Pine Lodge
Pine Lodge
#1 of 1 in Bristol
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Calabogie Lodge Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Calabogie Lodge Resort

Property: Calabogie Lodge Resort
Address: 729 Mill St, Calabogie, Ontario K0J 1H0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Calabogie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Calabogie
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Year round RCI Vacation Ownership Property, also offers Condominium rentals, nightly or weekly. Call the Resort for pricing, or visit our website to book online. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Calabogie Hotel Calabogie
Calabogie Lodge Resort Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing