We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great location and great staff - breakfast is amazing” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lane's Privateer Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Lane's Privateer Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Liverpool
Certificate of Excellence
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A great location and great staff - breakfast is amazing”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed at Lane's on July 21, 2013 - we were on the 2nd floor with a nice view of the Mersey river. The room is a little old - stained carpets but pretty clean otherwise. The outside stairs really need some work though.

The staff are super helpful and friendly - they work really hard to make your stay comfortable and enjoyable.

The breakfast - included in your room rate - is absolutely scrumptious and delicious. In the past we've also eaten supper at Lane's and it was very good.

I would recommend it as a place to stay, but be warned that some rooms are a little run down.

Room Tip: I'm not really sure - I think the rooms in the main building may be better but I've only eve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    36
    18
    6
    2
See reviews for
20
50
11
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

We went to stay at Lanes Privateer a week ago on our trip around Nova Scotia and decided not to stay there. The first thing we spotted was the state of the stair carpet in the reception area it was disgusting. After checking the room we were given, which was very dark and had the most appalling smell even after spraying the room with perfume. The over head pipe work did nothing for the appearance of the room. The bathroom seemed to be clean but the whole place certainly needs to be updated. There was no way we were going to stay there let alone eat in their restaurant which smelt of fried food. We immediately checked out and found somewhere else to stay. Yes it was situated on a lovely river but also on a busy noisy road. We would certainly not recommended this Inn.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ShirleyM71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

Booked rooms at Lane's for a conference that was held nearby. Susan and her staff were exceptionally well organized and accommodating. The rooms were very comfortable and well priced, the breakfast that was included in the room rate was more than anticipated, the pub has a good atmosphere, the live music was fun, and the restaurant was delicious. The building itself is beautiful with a view of the harbour and it is close to all amenities the town of Liverpool has to offer. I highly recommend this place to any traveler and will definitely be back for a meal and a beer at some point.

Room Tip: I don't think there's a bad room in this place
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shandel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
143 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

Room was very spacious however the furnishings and finishes were very tired and shabby. The old hide-a-bed couch has seen better days. The carpet in the room and the flooring in the bathroom are showing their age (circa 1975?), however the tub seemed to be newer and the shower water pressure was excellent. The bed was okay, although we kept hitting our heads on the light fixture sticking out from the wall overhead.
Was not impressed with the cleanliness. There were nut shells left in the ice bucket and a wine cork under the bed, and the soap dish in the bathroom was dusty.
This is a nice old inn and has a lot of character, however some upgrades are definitely needed. If there are no plans to replace the carpet, then give it a real heavy-duty cleaning or cover it with area rugs because it is icky.
There was a lot of noise from the pub downstairs and we could hear a lot of noise from the parking lot and cars going by on the street.
The complimentary breakfast was excellent. Also ate at the restaurant for dinner and it was very good - would definitely return.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SandySue123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwood, Ns
Level Contributor
103 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

what a nice surprise. This Inn has obviously had a lot of up-grades. The rooms, although staying true to the character of an old inn (exposed pipes, hardwood floors), have excellent mattresses and the bathroom was clean and modern. The room I had was very quiet and nicely dark - no nasty street-lights streaming through the drapes. the staff was friendly and helpful, and the restaurant was excellent. Breakfast was included in the rate, and the breakfast was a full breakfast, not a 'continental'. I will definately stay there again when on business in Liverpool.

Room Tip: If you want a 'quieter' room during the high season, ask the folks at the desk which one to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DorothyGreenwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

I was looking for a cozy place to stay in Liverpool and prefer to stay in B&B's or Inn's as often times, it is the best opportunity to meet the locals and learn about the community.

Lanes Privateer Inn is just the spot! From the moment I arrived Susan was very welcoming and made me feel like part of the family.

My room was very clean and comfortable. The bed linens are very nice which make for a fantastic nights sleep.

Make sure you dine at Lanes. If you're lucky, you will be served by Tammy, Linda or Chris.They are all full of life and go above and beyond to make sure you are well taken care of!

Matt their incredible chef works his magic in the kitchen creating dishes with only local products supporting the area and community.

After dinner, make your way to the bar where Craig keeps your glass full, while sharing stories of his travels abroad. Forget about sitting at table with a book, the best spot is at the bar.

Forget about a chain hotel, if you want a home away from home, Lane's Privateer Inn is the place to be!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chelsey134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baddeck, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012 via mobile

This inn has beautiful character, excellent coffee and espresso, fantastic ambiance, a good restaurant, and the best complimentary breakfast anywhere.

There is also a pub on site and open wireless along with a gourmet shop and bookstore. It is an excellent place to hang out and relax!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vextorspace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Liverpool
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Liverpool Hotel & Conference Centre
5.3 mi away
White Point Beach Resort
White Point Beach Resort
#7 of 49 in Southwest Nova Scotia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 577 reviews
1.5 mi away
Morton House Inn
Morton House Inn
#1 of 1 in Milton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.0 mi away
Port Mouton Bay Cottages
Port Mouton Bay Cottages
#1 of 1 in Port Mouton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
6.6 mi away
Blueberry Bay Seaside Inn Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lane's Privateer Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lane's Privateer Inn

Property: Lane's Privateer Inn
Address: 27 Bristol Avenue, Liverpool, Nova Scotia B0T 1K0, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Southwest Nova Scotia > Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lane's Privateer Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the beautiful Mersey River in the heart of Liverpool, this lovely inn was built in 1798. Originally a Privateer's mansion, it has been owned and operated by three generations of the Lane family. Lane's offers up-to-date hotel amenities mixed with the traditional warmth and charm of a small inn. Newly renovated Restaurant, Pub & Stone Patio overlook the river. Bookstore & Gourmet Shops offer local pottery and Illy espresso. 24 Air-conditioned Guestrooms, many with microwaves, fridges, and coffee makers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Lane's Privateer Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lanes Privateer Hotel
Lane's Privateer Inn Liverpool, Nova Scotia, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing