We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marilyn from Vancouver Island B.C.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Glace Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Vespers by the Sea Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 Glace Bay B&B and Inns
Campbell River, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Marilyn from Vancouver Island B.C.”
Reviewed September 22, 2012

What a great place to stay. The view was so beautiful and refreshing. The room was very comfortable and spacious with a nice big bathroom. I really enjoyed my stay. It was nice meeting another cornation fan. Thanks for letting me look at your cornation book. Thanks again for your hospitaliy Joyce.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marilyn w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    9
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
26
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at the Vespers By the Sea. Joyce was a great host, very welcoming.

The house was amazing, like stepping back in time. One morning we woke to a thick fog coming from the Atlantic, priceless. The view is jaw-dropping at sunset.

The rooms were clean, comfortable and charming.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank duthied
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012 via mobile

Great rooms with comfortable firm beds and an extremely well decorated interior.

The house has been well renovated and maintained and as well as 360 degree wonderful outdoor decks to enjoy the sea views, the interior is photography worthy in itself with its polished wood and antique themed decor.

Our wedding group stayed here and it was well worth it. Joyce was very welcoming and her home cooked breakfasts were great.

Highly recommended if you find yourself passing through "the Bay".

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nach24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatchewan
Level Contributor
139 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2012

This huge B&B, a former convent, is charming and beautiful, with great view of the Atlantic Ocean. The rooms are comfortable and quiet, although I did miss having a TV in our room at night. Aside from that, it was very nice. The breakfasts are wonderful, with homemade items by Joyce, including homemade jams. We did end up cutting out 3 nights to 2, but only because there wasn't enough to do in the area for that long. High recommended B&B.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank feline2ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Another perfect "home away from home". Such a lovely spot overlooking the Atlantic Ocean. From our second floor balcony we enjoyed a beautiful sunset in the evening and watched the fishing boats off the coast in the morning. Very peaceful and serene. Joyce is a perfect hostess and is quick to point out areas of interest in Glace Bay. Wished we could have stayed more than two nights. Interesting transformation stories from Convent to a B&B. Well worth the visit. Still looking for that water picture Joyce! lol

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna_Tom_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penticton, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Upon arrival to this beautiful location, we were greeted by Joyce, the general manager. She showed us to our rooms and apologized that she was in a bit of a hurry as she had plans in the evening. She was going to see actors from her favorite show Coronation Street! She was so excited, she could hardly wait. The former convent was beautfully maintained and decorated with wonderful antiques. Joyce fed us a great breakfast the next morning complete with her, almost minute by minute, account of her evening with the stars. If we were ever in the area again, this would be a spot to spend a few nights.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pamk1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2012

We had a great experience at this former convent, now a lovely and well-run B&B. Our large room, on the top floor, had its own ocean-facing balcony from which we watched a stunning sunset. The decor was dignified and historic. Proprietress Joyce was truly friendly and helpful, and provided a nourishing breakfast with homemade items nicely laid out in a pretty dining room. Highly recommended, as is the Miner's Museum, which is what brought us to Glace Bay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hannah383
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glace Bay
12.8 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Sydney
12.4 mi away
Cambridge Suites - Sydney
12.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Sydney Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Sydney
Comfort Inn Sydney
#4 of 7 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
21.0 mi away
Point of View Suites at Louisbourg Gates
14.2 mi away
A Boat to Sea
A Boat to Sea
#3 of 6 in North Sydney
5.0 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vespers by the Sea Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vespers by the Sea Bed and Breakfast

Property: Vespers by the Sea Bed and Breakfast
Address: 17 Eleventh St, Glace Bay, Nova Scotia B1A 4M3, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Glace Bay
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Glace Bay
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Vespers By The Sea b&b
Vespers By The Sea Hotel Glace Bay
Vespers By The Sea Bed And Breakfast Glace Bay, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing