We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Notch Hospitality”
Review of Torrent River Inn

Torrent River Inn
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hawke's Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Torrent River Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hawke's Bay
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Stayed here as a result of an unexpected business trip. The service was excellent. We arrived late and everything in town was closed however staff found us a snack from the kitchen which was much appreciated. My room was clean and well appointed. Very helpful staff.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ADBOCNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (29)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 29 reviews

Reviewed January 11, 2013

My wife and I were travelling from Labrador and had just disembarked from the MV Appollo at St. Barbe NL. It was in the dead of winter, when road conditions are iffy, but things looked fairly clear so we decided to head out. About an hour later, we ran head long into a winter storm. According to weather reports it wasn't going to get anything but worse as the day progressed so we decided we better find a place to stay for the night and fast, as driving conditions were quickly worsening. Before long there were white-out conditions and we were barely able to see the road, when out of the blue we came upon the Torrent River Inn. Boy was this a sight for sore eyes. We checked in and were the only ones in the entire hotel initially. Before nightfall the place was half full of other storm-stayed travellers. Our room was clean, nothing special, but comfortable never the less. The remote for the TV did not work, nor did one of the lamps and the overall lighting was rather dull. It had WiFi service but it was dial-up so it was difficult to get internet service as it only stayed on for short periods of time. The Inn had a Pizza Delight Rest. attached where you were able to get your meals if you wished. The town is pretty small and I don't believe there are any other places to dine out. Staff were friendly and we were sure happy we came across the Inn when we did or we would have spent the night on the road somewhere. I would gladly stay there anytime we might pass through the area again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank florapeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2012

We decided to give this place a try without having a reservation and got in. A fairly large room (terrible view) but that was ok because we didn't plan to stay long. Friendly staff,very helpful. Trouble getting good internet service and a bit of noise from a few kids staying in the hotel but we slept soundly.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wvo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2011

We stopped in for lunch while driving between L'anse Aux Meadows and Gros Morne. Lunch was decent, but not spectacular. What was spectacular was the way Bill Maynard and his team moved heaven and earth to return my wallet and travel documents, which I stupidly left at the table. They locked everything in the hotel safe and, finding my email address on a ferry itinerary, emailed me. Bill returned to work to open the safe and read aloud my ferry confirmation number so I could board without documents. They then couriered my wallet home. That was hospitality above and beyond the call of duty!

Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
1  Thank Roadtripper6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2010

I felt I wasted my money at this inn; could have found something else in the area much nicer. The carpet hadn't been vacuumed and there were crumbs on it; it smelled slightly of smoke even though the room had been nonsmoking for 2 years; older decor. Front desk staff was multitasking, didn't have any laundry soap in stock, and was in general not very welcoming. Service in the pizza/restaurant was a bit unfriendly, food was acceptable. Try to find something else nearby; this is a place for guys who work in the woods, on forestry crews, fire crews, truck drivers, etc. I could see they are trying hard to improve, but have a ways to go.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 9,139
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2006

Just returned from a single-night stay. Our room was spotlessly clean and extremely large. A separate section of our room contained a table & chairs, coffee-maker, fridge, sink and microwave, all for less than CAD 100.
The restaurant served average food at reasonable prices. The waitstaff was friendly & efficient.
The Inn seems to be very popular spot for tour groups judging from the crowd in the restaurant.
The Inn makes for a very nice stop midway on the Viking Trail.

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank holyrood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Concord , New Hamphire
29
Reviewed October 2, 2005

The thing most noticable about Newfies (Newfoundland people call themselves) is there friendlyness and helpfulness. Between the people at Parks Canada (Gros Morne and L'anse aux Meadows) and everyone else I interacted with made my visit very much worth while and memorable. That being said, back to Torrent River Inn. Located north of Gros Morne half way up the peninsula from Deer Lake. The Inn has many rooms and nice restaurant and a laundry. The staff was terrific and price reasonable.

About 100 meters north of the Inn there is the start point of a 3KM boardwalk along the river ,which ends at a fish ladder and a interpretive center (currantly being built). Beware that 3KM walk turned into a 7KM walk. the walk is not a loop. I made my way along a gravel road to the highway and back to the hotel. At the beginning of the boardwalk was a few platforms constructed for people in wheel chairs to be able to fish the river. There are stairs about 1 KM into the walk . It was a beautiful walk.

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Torrent River Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Torrent River Inn

Address: 101 Main Street, Hawke's Bay, Newfoundland and Labrador A0K 3B0, Canada
Location: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > Hawke's Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hawke's Bay
Price Range: $86 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maynard's Torrent River Inn has been serving up "famous Newfoundland hospitality" to our guests since 1963. We take great pleasure in being your "home base" during your visit to the Great Northern Peninsula and on the Labrador Coast.The town of Hawke's Bay is centrally located on the Viking Trail between Gros Morne National Park and L'anse aux Meadows National Historic Site, and just three hours from Red Bay National Historic Site, in southern Labrador. The Ingornachoix area encompasses the Port Aux Choix National Historic Site, the Torrent River Salmon Interpretation Centre and is rich in history, culture, wildlife, scenery and natural attractions. Many of Newfoundland's historical sites, prized parks, unique sceneries, plus, world class sport fishing, hunting and snowmobile adventures are yours to discover at the Torrent River Inn, on the Great Northern Peninsula. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing