We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun and informative.”

Castle Hill National Historic Site
Ranked #1 of 6 things to do in Placentia
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Maple Ridge, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fun and informative.”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

I got to don some traditional period correct clothing. Stand on the walls of the original fort. Take a guided tour around the well appointed gift shop and museum that is on site.
The informative curator made the day. Funny, witty and very knowledgeable. Give yourself a couple of hours to fully enjoy it all. Don't forget your cameras as the view is spectacular.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank SteveAdamson62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    44
    2
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Beaumont, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“History!”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Wonderful views and a well run information centre . Short visit but may go back and do some hikes. Weather may permit next time.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lesley-Ann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great site, bring your earphones for audioguide!”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

We visited Castle Hill during our visit to Placentia (pretty area) in early September. It's less than $5 for adults so very affordable. There's a small exhibit area and boutique inside and then you can walk the trails to the different fortifications "ruins" outside which offer amazing views of the area. They didn't mention any guided tours but they did offer us audioguides and headphones at no extra charge, however, they don't reuse the headphones. I understand the health reasons but I can't bear to use them and then throw them out so we opted not to use the audioguide at all. There were a few panels with info but the audioguide would have definitely been a plus. If anyone reads this, try to remember to bring your headphones (most people have some when they travel anyway) to save Parks Canada some money and tp keep cheap headphones from going to the landfill!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Caro11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great view from the top.”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

The park was clean and beautiful, the trails well maintained and staff pleasant and helpful. The 30 minute climb up was well worth the view.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Dima D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
153 reviews
111 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Try to see the play”
Reviewed August 9, 2013

We were fortunate to arrive just before the 2PM drama, "Faces of Fort Royal." The play really helped us understand the history of the area.

You are able to walk around the former fortifications and have nice views of the harbour.

The VC is very interesting, with dioramas and displays.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank WeVentureForth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Castle Hill National Historic Site also viewed

St. John's, Newfoundland
 
Port Rexton, Newfoundland
St. John's, Newfoundland
 

Been to Castle Hill National Historic Site? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing