We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Be sure to visit - worth your time”

Castle Hill National Historic Site
Ranked #1 of 6 things to do in Placentia
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Toronto
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Be sure to visit - worth your time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

On that Sunday morning before we left Placentia, we were expecting to visit just another historical place named Castle Hill but we were treated to much more. We opted upon admission to take the guided tour (instead of walking around the little museum & taking in the exhibits ourselves) but little did we expect to have this awesome & exceptional guide. He brought each exhibit to life for us by elaborating just enough on each display to grasp our imagination. His expose was informative, exciting, interesting to listen to and encompassed from the first to the last display Then we got to watch a short movie, after which we were given a tape and earphones to carry on for the balance of the tour. The simple to use tape allowed the user to hear comments related to displays on top of the hill that were designated by numbers. The user could pause the audio device to match his actual pace and as well could go back to the previous number to listen as many times as he wished. It was a very well designed, well thought out tour. The view on top of the hill was amazing as we had a clear sunny day. For lunch we had a picnic at one of the many picnic areas located inside the woods near the parking lot

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    44
    2
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“History lesson”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

Guide was wonderful with knowledge of history, visitors centre had good displays of history to help understand the history. Tape to listen too very good when walking trails.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Cher396
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

Not so much history here but the view is really wonderful. If you're fit enough it's definitely worth it to climb up the trail from the townside.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Elvis-in-Minneapolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunnville, Canada
Level Contributor
204 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Beautiful views of Placentia”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

Love this town Placentia, its so scenic. Has a wonderful boardward to stroll at night. Castle Hill provides a great view of the whole town. So interesting. We entered free as it was very late in the day. The guard of the facility was very interesting, and filled us in on the 'Hidden" World War II gun hidden in Argentia at the old retired Airforce base. This base was American and built in 1940 and retired in the 1990s. ITs huge and you can visit it and the bunkers. WOW!!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank leer850
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very informative!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

The site was beautiful and the whole tour was very organized and informative. Breathtaking views and it really gives one pause to reflect on the lives that made it possible.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sharon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Castle Hill National Historic Site also viewed

St. John's, Newfoundland
Port Rexton, Newfoundland
 
St. John's, Newfoundland
 

Been to Castle Hill National Historic Site? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing