We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Coffee theme bar”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Cafe Kilimanjaro - CLOSED

Cafe Kilimanjaro
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout
Description: Cafe Kilimanjaro, located just off the pedestrian mall in Zichron Yaakov, is a coffee lover's delight. We roast our own beans, and the coffee is the best in the region. Finally, we have a friendly, English speaking staff that really cares about you and the service you're getting. In our opinion, Cafe K is a must when in Zichron, and worth the drive even if you're not! Looking forward to meeting you.
New York
Level Contributor
293 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
“Coffee theme bar”
Reviewed February 13, 2014

The highlight of the bar is that the owner, who is passionate about coffee is very involved and hands on. I read many reviews of the place being popular with Anglos so I was really hoping to find American style coffee in Israel (mission impossible in Israel). After the waitress tried to convince me that the cold cappuccino is similar to what I was looking for, I reluctantly agreed. Well, a cold cappuccino is a cappuccino but cold... not what I was looking for. At the conclusion of our visit, the owner approached us to inquire about our experience and then explained to me that I should have asked for "filtered" coffee and about the french press and vacuum prep, and offered that instead, however by then we were satiated (the Kilimanjaro cake is delicious!!!!) however we enjoyed being there and will definitely visit again when in town.

The street is poorly numbered, so to reach Kilimanjaro you have to walk up HaMeyasdim, past the barrier, as it at the beginning of the street in what looks like a more residential part.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kitty567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    12
    3
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv
Level Contributor
38 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“cute, where the local anglos go”
Reviewed February 5, 2014

This is one of the only cafes in Zichron that is not touristy. the owner and most of the staff are american, and the few times i've been there the customers were also anglos living in the area. it has a very nice vibe, lots of wood and stone, the coffee is great. don't know about the pastry, haven't tried it. it's kosher so it's closed on saturdays.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NatalieCohnDavidson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ra'anana, HaMerkaz, Israel
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Really superb coffee”
Reviewed February 2, 2014 via mobile

I always enjoy visiting Zichron Yaakov, but had I not read reviews on TripAdvisor I would have walked right past this great coffee house. Whilst it is on the main street, Cafe Kilimanjiro is partly hidden and obscured by the adjoining shops.

Happily we found the cafe and enjoyed a really superb cup of house blend, served on the hotter side of warm rather than the more standard Israeli 'luke warm'. I was with a very particular friend who gave me carte blanche to quote her opinion that 'Both the coffee and the cheesecake score top marks' - and that was after the wooden chair she chose to sit on collapsed under her so she really had no reason to be kind!

David, the enthusiastic owner, was lovely to chat to. He arranged for cake and candles for the two birthday girls I was with and even sang 'Happy Birthday' to them which was above and beyond the call of duty.

I bought a bag of beans, nice and freshly roasted, which David recommended for use with a french press/cafetiere. They have been a hit at home.

The only problem with Cafe Kilimanjaro is finding a cafe locally that serves a coffee which is anywhere near as good!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Cazfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kfar Saba, Israel
Level Contributor
239 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Cozy and Delicious”
Reviewed November 12, 2013 via mobile

We were looking for a place for coffee and this place looked wonderful. We were not disappointed.

There is a coffee or tea for every taste including Cappuccino with Chocolate, Rooibos Cappuccino and of course all the regular espressos and lattes.

the desserts are incredible - worth the splurge of calories we had the chocolate no flour cake. YUM!
They will soon be serving salads and sandwiches too. Great place.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Oran A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zichron Yaakov, Israel
Level Contributor
56 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“If you are passionate about your coffee...”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

You should really check out Cafe Kilimanjaro. The owner David, will be happy to explain all about the way he sources and roasts his coffee beans. He serves great coffee with a lot of enthusiasm and passion. It's a small cafe with seating inside for about 12 and additional seating outdoors. The Cafe also has a selection of baked goods and David bakes fresh Challah bread every Friday. There is plenty of parking a rarity in Zichron Ya'akov.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeTheTourGuide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Strausberg, Owner at Cafe Kilimanjaro, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Hi Mike! Thanks for taking the time to share your experience. We work hard to serve the best cup of coffee we can - sourcing, roasting, brewing, and we're happy to share our coffee knowledge with anyone who'd like to know more about what they're drinking. Come again soon!
Regards,
David Strausberg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Kilimanjaro also viewed

Zichron Yaakov, Haifa District
Zichron Yaakov, Haifa District
 
Zichron Yaakov, Haifa District
Zichron Yaakov, Haifa District
 
Zichron Yaakov, Haifa District
Zichron Yaakov, Haifa District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing