We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Terrible Experience” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Natchez

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Natchez
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Natchez
Certificate of Excellence
Lake Charles, United States
1 review
“Terrible Experience”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

This was our 37th anniversary for my wife and I and ended up with a room that the a/c didn't work. They moved us to another room to only find someone fooling around in the room that was suppose to be empty. They then said they would attempted to fix a/c during the day and did not bother to clean the room. return at 10 pm and had to get towels, coffee etc. for the next morning. I will not return to this location.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Byron C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas S, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Natchez, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Thank you so much for your recent review. I thank you for selecting our hotel for such a special occasion as your 37th anniversary. I do however understand that you had some issues that inconvenienced you during your stay. I am so sorry that your A/C unit was not working properly. Our main concern is for the comfort of our guests and I sincerely apologize that we were not able to provide this for you. I do thank you for bringing it to my attention so that I can follow-up with our maintenance crew to fix this. Your business and satisfactions are extremely important to us and I assure you that we will definitely take your comments into consideration to improve our hotel.

Again, I thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at our hotel and I do hope that if you are ever in town, you consider staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

513 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    255
    156
    62
    27
    13
See reviews for
121
195
26
93
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
BIRMINGHAM
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Was in town for a wedding party. Did not spend much time in the room except to sleep, but everything was very nice and comfortable. Good location and the room was clean. The pool looked very nice even though we did not use it. It was great to have a fridge and microwave in the room. The only negative was that there were no snack machines on the floor and the selection of snacks elsewhere were limited.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank deborahcK8813GZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Falls, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We were at the end of an 11 day road trip. This was the 9th hotel we had stayed at. The hotel itself was fine, it was after I got home that the tide turned. I had held the room with a debit card & was checking in with a credit card, just as i had done at the other 8 hotels we had previously stayed at, including a Hampton Inn in New Orleans. Upon arrival home, I realized that my debit card had been charged my room rate, PLUS 15% to make sure the funds were there to cover the room. I have also been charged, just the room rate on my credit card. the front desk person said this is standard procedure for this hotel, that they run all debit cards first thing in the morning the day of the reservation. I now have 104.00 tied up in the bank account plus a charge on my credit card. All of this was done without any type of notification that the debit card would be run, PRIOR TO CHECKIN!!!! AND the front dest clerk was very rude & hung up on me when i pressed the issue. COMPLETELY UNACCEPTABLE!!! The service and the room were fine while we were there, but i am paying for it now!!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Beth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas S, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Natchez, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
I truly apologize that there were some additional charges that you did not expect. I can assure you that we never want to intentionally mislead our guests in any way and I sincerely apologize if there was any misunderstanding. Our main priority is for all our guests to feel respected and that we can resolve their issues in an efficient matter. Please know that we are looking into this issue and will most definitely contact you to correct any mistakes that might have occurred.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

My husband and I stayed here overnight with a large tour group.

Beds were comfortable. The room has both a microwave and fridge - brilliant! The bathroom is considerately stocked with regular items plus nice extras like makeup removers, shower caps, mouthwash and cotton-buds.

Breakfast was served in a room on the ground floor - quite squished but as I understand they are renovating the eating area. Plenty of hot and cold items. the waffle maker was a hit!

All the staff we encountered were friendly and helpful. The hotel was an easy walk from Fat Mamas where we had dinner and is just across the road from the visitors centre

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bronwyn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guntersville, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Excellent hotel. Only problem involved very weak to no internet connectivity in the room via WiFi. The room was comfortable, good view of local Mississippi river. Good restaurants reasonably close to hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Joan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MO
Level Contributor
90 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

It used to be that we stayed in Hampton Inns almost exclusively, but that's not the case any more. As a whole, Hamptons are getting run down, and we don't always stay in them like we did in the past. This Hampton is pretty much representative of most of the ones we've stayed in lately: OK but a little frayed around the edges. The location was convenient, and we had a view of the river from our room. The staff was very friendly. The beds and pillows were comfortable, although the sheets on one bed had some black specks on them which we removed with a towel. The air conditioning worked well, but the wall thermostat had a sign next to it that it no longer worked. There were scuff marks on the walls in our room. We still had a good night's sleep, but keep wondering when Hampton Inns will return to their past glory.

Room Tip: For a photo op of the river and US 65 bridge, ask to stay on the 3rd floor facing the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JdubyaMO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
77 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013 via mobile

This was a very clean hotel, close to town and attractions. I would highly recommend it! The staff was friendly and the breakfast was excellent. We stayed in a room with an excellent view of the bridge to Vidalia which looks great all lit up at night. Staff was also helpful with visitor suggestions and directions.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Holland49423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Natchez
0.4 mi away
Hotel Vue
Hotel Vue
#6 of 16 in Natchez
4.0 of 5 stars 267 reviews
0.6 mi away
Natchez Grand Hotel
Natchez Grand Hotel
#4 of 16 in Natchez
4.0 of 5 stars 492 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Natchez South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Monmouth Historic Inn Natchez
0.1 mi away
Magnolia Bluffs Casino Hotel
2.9 mi away
Days Inn Natchez
Days Inn Natchez
#11 of 16 in Natchez
3.0 of 5 stars 592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Natchez? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Natchez

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Natchez
Address: 627 S Canal St, Natchez, MS 39120-3485
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Mississippi > Natchez
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Natchez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Natchez 2.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cancelon, Odigeo, Orbitz, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Natchez reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Natchez Hotel Natchez
Hampton Inn And Suites Natchez
Hampton Inn Natchez
Natchez Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn Hotel Natchez

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing