We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, but don't stay if you want to sleep”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Natchez Grand Hotel
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Natchez
Baton Rouge
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great location, but don't stay if you want to sleep”
Reviewed March 6, 2011

Hotel has a great location in the heart of downtown Natchez. We thought the hotel was great until we went to bed. I'm not sure when this hotel was built, but it must've been before materials were created to sound-proof rooms. You could hear every door being closed, every step being taken in the hallway and in the room above ours, every conversation in the hallway, etc... It was terrible. We got very little sleep. The mattress was not great, wireless internet was out, and the pool was about the size of a jacuzzi.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Toddb3042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
natchezgrandhotel, Manager at Natchez Grand Hotel, responded to this review, March 7, 2011
This guest stayed during Mardi Gras parade and banquet. Normally we do not receive a large number of complaints concerning noise. There is sound proof material in our rooms. The mattresses are top grade commercial Serta and we do received positive comments concerning the quality of sleep on these mattresses. The comment about the pool is well taken, our pool is designed for families and is limited in size.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

600 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    226
    109
    30
    21
See reviews for
101
284
24
75
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Biloxi MS
1 review
Reviewed January 27, 2011

I stayed for a Convention July 2009 and 2010. Both times I was highly disappointed. The service at the front desk was slow and no they were not "Rude" but they were sure far from friendly and did not represent "Southern Hospitality" .
The rooms smelt so bad that I had to go to the store and buy fabreeze.
There was LOTS of mold on the A/C so I can only imagine what was deeper, I was afraid to look.
I will not be returning to the conference this year because of the poor quality of the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank llace64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
natchezgrandhotel, General Manager at Natchez Grand Hotel, responded to this review, February 8, 2011
We have discussed this comment with our staff. It is rare that we receive complaints concerning our rooms. All of the A/C units were recently serviced. Had these issues been reported they would have been promptly addressed. Our housekeeping department is well staffed, equipped, and uses the best commercial cleaning products in the industry.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis,TN
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2011

Recently returned from an over night stay at this hotel. We were in town for a convention across the street. Check-in was super easy and the employee was friendly. The lobby was nice also. However, I was disappointed in the cleanliness of the room. The shower wasn't clean. There was hair in the cups beside the sink. The vents were not clean. It was definitely a place where I wore shoes at all times! The room decor was nice enough. They just need to up the standards of housekeeping! Also, the breakfast charge is not optional as far as I know. (around $7?)

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HMHFTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
natchezgrandhotel, General Manager at Natchez Grand Hotel, responded to this review, January 26, 2011
We will be sharing this information with our housekeeping and maintenance staff; however, our hotel was recently (during this same time frame) inspected by AAA on a random unannounced inspection and they did not note any shortfalls. We have the highest rating offered for our type of hotel through AAA. Cleanliness is very important to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
1 review
Reviewed January 13, 2011

Traveled to Natchez for a Christmas break. The hotel was wonderful. I had a city view room overlooking St. Mary's Basilica and downtown. The room was comfortable and clean. The fireplace in the lobby was a great place to read in the evening after dinner. The staff were friendly and attentive, but also gave me my space. Highly recommend. I will return.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dsmittee738
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2010

This hotel is very conveniently located in downtown Natchez. It's a safe and secure hotel, with off-street parking and a pleasant staff.

Unfortunately, the hotel is showing signs of neglect--such as dirty corners in the elevator, bathroom ventilation vents clogged with cottonwood lint, and worn-out bedspreads.

Right now (December 2010), the Grand Hotel is an OK place to stay. In a year?

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jfm1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
natchezgrandhotel, General Manager at Natchez Grand Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2011
The Grand Hotel has a comprehensive, well staffed maintenance and housekeeping program. Had the items in the above comment been reported to our staff, they would have been addressed in a timely manner. Currently, with the exception of one B&B property, the Grand Hotel is ranked number 1 for business travel, this is a reflection of our quality and consistency of service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2010

My spouse and I traveled to a family wedding with a "tween" grandchild. The cost was moderate, about $100 with our group rate. Our room, and the rooms of others in our group, had 2 Queen beds and were non-smoking. Some were bigger, some were smaller, some had a view, and others looked out on a parking lot. Difference in the bill ?..... I do not know.

Immediately upon checking in we found a "plumbing" problem. I called housekeeping and got an immediate response! Three maids and an experienced, courteous Mr. Fix-It arrived. He also found another problem and had on-site hardware to fix both. Wow!

All staff members were courteous in every instance.

On the minus side, there are is no doorman nor bellmen. Luggage carts are in short supply.

There is no resturant or coffee shop. An OK buffet breakfast is served, free, That is nice, but that is it. Also, there are no in-room refrigerators or microwaves. You can't buy it and you can't fix it yourself!

Forget the pool. I have seen bigger hot tubs, and this one is cold and sits in the parking lot with no screens, plantings, nothing.

During our stay there was no internet connectivity. They said they were "working on" the router.

This hotel is no more than two stars, and the price should reflect this.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Evey34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2010

The Natchez Grand Hotel is well-located but it's really more like a large Hampton Inn than a "grand hotel"--except that Hampton Inns have more congenial staff.

What annoyed me is how the hotel attempts to disguise the $6.95 "Value Package" obligatory charge for parking, breakfast, etc. When I booked online, the "rate information" that I was given included the room cost, the occupancy tax, the state and city taxes, and the total--but not the additional $6.95 "Value Package" daily charge. This charge CANNOT be declined so it's every bit as much a part of the cost as the room charge or any of the taxes, and I think it's disreputable and dishonest for the hotel to try to disguise it as it does. Why not stay at a hotel that treats its guests with more honesty and respect?

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank STANLEY B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Natchez hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Vue
Hotel Vue
#7 of 16 in Natchez
4.0 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
1.3 mi away
Monmouth Historic Inn Natchez
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Natchez
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Magnolia Bluffs Casino Hotel
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Natchez South
0.8 mi away
Super 8 Natchez
Super 8 Natchez
#8 of 16 in Natchez
4.0 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Natchez Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Natchez Grand Hotel

Property: Natchez Grand Hotel
Address: 111 Broadway, Natchez, MS 39120 (Formerly Country Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Mississippi > Natchez
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Natchez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Natchez Grand Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Natchez Grand Hotel, formerly known as the Country Inn and Suites, was built brand new from the ground up and opened in 2008. The Natchez Grand Hotel is centrally located in the heart of Downtown Natchez with a magnificent view of the Mississippi River and walking distance to many downtown restaurants, shopping, attractions, and nightlife., The Natchez Grand Hotel offers a comfortable place to stay with friendly service and gracious amenities, and is the perfect place to host meetings, corporate retreats, social events and much more, with over 5,000 sq. ft. of meeting space. We invite everyone to be our guest and experience a "grand" stay while visiting Natchez, MS! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Natchez Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn Natchez
Natchez Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing