We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful location & lovely rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Natchez Grand Hotel
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Natchez
KY
Level Contributor
77 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Wonderful location & lovely rooms”
Reviewed September 2, 2008

Motorcycling the Natchez Trace w/ friends and we stayed here for a couple of nights. Great location right downtown allows you to explore the antebellum homes in Natchez. Walk to all the restaurants. View of Mississippi River was right outside the hotel or thru your window! Check-in & check-out was efficient. Personnel very nice. Parking lot is huge. Room was very, very nice w/ attractive furnishings. Bed was comfortable. Bath clean and neat. When we were there it was in between hurricanes so the place was nearly empty. The only negative thing I can say about the amenities was the pool -- it's very small and in the parking lot. They could do better there.
Also be aware that this Country Inn & Suites evidently considers itself to be a resort so they hit you w/ a resort charge. It is a very nice hotel, but it is NOT a resort.
However, I would definitely recommend this motel to anyone.

  • Liked — Rooms were good size and furnished beautifully.
  • Disliked — Pool was very small
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank FlyCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

600 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    226
    109
    30
    21
See reviews for
101
284
24
75
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
WISCONSIN
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2008

I paid the rack rate of $200 per night and Country has the audacity to charge the obnoxious resort fee of $6.95 for parking, complimentary breakfast, phone service (no one uses these days), 24 Hr complimentary coffee, etc.

I asked the desk clerk to remove your avaricious rip off fee but she would not (she was polite). Get smart County, don't ruin your positive reputation by getting greedy and stupid.

At your Natchez Country Inn, you got work to do with your housekeeping staff. For example, in our $200 per nite suite (all traffic w ill bear rate), we found these deficiencies:
1-No Kleenex in Bathroom. Had to ask for at desk
2-Two lights out and only one worked on light fixture
3- No soap in bathroom, had to request soap.
4-No cups available for coffee maker for three days.HELLO!
5-Wobbly table ( in a property open for only four months,
6.-Drapery needs hemming(Naturally my wife made this observation)
7- "Complimentary" breakfast poor, no fresh fruit. HI Expess in Corinth MS infinitely better, check it out.
8- Poor communication as to where ($25) tour bus left from.

i am 41 year veteran business traveler and discriminating with high standards. I am a big fan of Country so my advice is offered in the the spirit of improving your customer satisfaction and quality improvement.,

Get rid of your insulting rip off resort fee. Train and supervise your housekeeping staff to provide what your guests pay for;

  • Liked — Country generally does a good job.
  • Disliked — Obnoxious Bumpkin Rip Off Resort Fee
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ArmyAbn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topeka, Kansas
Level Contributor
62 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2008

We stayed at the Country Inn & Suites in Natchez for two nights in July of 2008. While the price was just a little over what we would normally pay, we wanted this part of our vacation to be a special. We were not disappointed.

The hotel is in the historic downtown area of the Natchez and right on the Mississippi River. The cost of a riverview room is about $20 more than a city-view room but why book a hotel on the river if you don't choose the riverview?

Everything about this place is first class. This is evident from the moment you drive up under the canopy with real gas lanterns flanking the entry. The lobby was beautifully appointed as was all common areas. Our room was very large with the kitchenette and sitting area separated from the sleeping area. The bathroom was also very spacious - which is not always the case even with suite-type rooms.

The pool was outside and small but warm and nicely landscaped. The breakfast each morning was good with enough variety to please most everyone.

The staff at this hotel was very friendly and accommodating. All our needs were met with kindness and concern for our comfort.

  • Liked — Everything!
  • Disliked — there was nothing not to like
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank MsBiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
59 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2008

I just completed a 2 night weekend stay at this Country Inn property and have no complaints whatsoever! This hotel appears to be brand new and may be the cleanest property I've ever stayed in (keep in mind I'm a business traveller who spends between 60-140 nights a year in hotels!). My check-in was smooth and painless, my double room was spotless and well appointed and the onsite ammenities were wonderful! I really enjoyed the full breakfast in the mornings (one less thing to have to plan) and the river view was beautiful! I really recommend spending the extra few dollars for a river view room, unlike a lot a properties river view truly means unobstructed river view, which was absolutely gorgeous! I'm not sure what went wrong with the previous travellers who left negative reviews of this hotel. This property far surpassed all my expectaions and made for a wonderful weekend getaway with my wife and kids. Book your stay here and you'll have noworries except how to fill your days! Also, don't miss the little store located between the hotel and the river on Broadway. The perfect place to pick a souvenire and some of the friendliest folks I've ever met!

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Disliked — No express checkout
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luck-o-the-Brirish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHREVEPORT, LA
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2008

When we arrived clerk said our room was not ready, so had to wait around. She was not very friendly. The bathroom looked as though it was not cleaned, commode was dirty. Lotions were opened and used, not new. Our bed was very comfortable and the room was a good size. This is a newer hotel. Our room did have a nice view of the river, which we paid extra for. Breakfast was just ok, make do. Our trip to Natchez was a disappointment to me. We arrived on Sunday and hardly anything was open in town.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OLDTHINGS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2008

To start with if you use the Country Inn web site to book your stay, your reservation number format from online will not match the hotel's listing resulting in a 30 minute fiasco to check in. This is a franchise location.

This IS NOT a business traveler friendly location--code for hassles at every turn. Fairfield's are the Marriot bargain stop and this Country Inn wouldn't even qualify on a good day. No express check out, god save you if you ask for a late check out from the housekeeping nazi's, as if you had asked for a first born. No convenience shop, no papers, no water, no nothing and the pub is closed Sundays This is a Super 8 cheap clean stay TODAY and nothing more. Considering the poor quality of the building itself, I would hate to see how thread bare this place looks a year from now.

The free wired and wireless internet worked well, although it tended to kick you off line often, but was amazingly fast compared to many other hotels I've visited.

The free breakfast was comparable to the worst Old Country Buffet wannabe you may have run onto, the building is a wood structure (I watched it go up over previous visits while staying very comfortably at the Comfort Suites directly across the river in Vidalia, LA) which is code for-you hear every foot step and every voice not in your room as well as the neighbors TV. The workmanship throughout the building is third world, and be careful in the parking lot, new asphalt was so poorly laid, most areas are breaking up and uneven to the point of your car sinking into the ground if it were to rain.

The locations proximity to old Natchez is its only redeeming quality, as the real estate crowd blather goes, it's "steps" to Main and Franklin dining and shopping as well as a quick 5 minute walk to the Capri River Boat and the river side park on the Mississippi.

Safety in this town is never in question, having stayed here many times, the previous writers concerns at night are unfounded in my opinion.

Bottom line, the Hampton Inn just down the street is a Hampton through and through and will be my next stay's venue! (recently opened as well) Two additional new hotels are under construction south of the visitors center and should be up and running by late summer. Unless you are desperate, or on a single night low budget stop over, look elsewhere.

  • Liked — Location to old Natchez and the River
  • Disliked — The poor quality of every aspect of the property and the staff.
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Not_the_UGLY_AMERCN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mississippi
Level Contributor
51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2008

Asked for a king, non-smoking room with a refrigerator. Was booked into a fabulous suite for a great price. Had a wonderful surprise upon entry to the room ... there were 3 sets of french doors in the bedroom and living room areas that opened to 2 large balconies. The view of the sunset over the Mississippi River was breathtaking. The suite was large; with a separate bedroom, living room area, and kitchenette. 2 flat panel TVs and wireless access. The hotel is new and smells of new carpet and paint ... in a fresh way. Lots of wood, granite, and beautiful fixtures. Decor was tasteful. Very comfortable bed. Friendly staff. Good breakfast. We weren't interested in the pool. In case you are ... it is the tiniest concrete pool that I have ever seen; set in a corner of the parking lot behind the hotel. Don't go expecting to lounge by a lovely pool. There are lots of little shops, restaurants, antebellum homes, historical landmarks, and a casino close by.

  • Liked — the sunset river view from the balcony
  • Disliked — low income neighborhoods are close by - didn't feel safe walking at night - we drove
  • Stayed May 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank vintage-1924
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Natchez hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Vue
Hotel Vue
#7 of 16 in Natchez
4.0 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
1.3 mi away
Monmouth Historic Inn Natchez
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Natchez
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Magnolia Bluffs Casino Hotel
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Natchez South
0.8 mi away
Super 8 Natchez
Super 8 Natchez
#8 of 16 in Natchez
4.0 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Natchez Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Natchez Grand Hotel

Property: Natchez Grand Hotel
Address: 111 Broadway, Natchez, MS 39120 (Formerly Country Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Mississippi > Natchez
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Natchez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Natchez Grand Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Natchez Grand Hotel, formerly known as the Country Inn and Suites, was built brand new from the ground up and opened in 2008. The Natchez Grand Hotel is centrally located in the heart of Downtown Natchez with a magnificent view of the Mississippi River and walking distance to many downtown restaurants, shopping, attractions, and nightlife., The Natchez Grand Hotel offers a comfortable place to stay with friendly service and gracious amenities, and is the perfect place to host meetings, corporate retreats, social events and much more, with over 5,000 sq. ft. of meeting space. We invite everyone to be our guest and experience a "grand" stay while visiting Natchez, MS! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Natchez Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn Natchez
Natchez Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing