We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location for a weekend getaway!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Natchez Grand Hotel
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Natchez
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, GA
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great Location for a weekend getaway!!!”
Reviewed June 9, 2008

I just completed a 2 night weekend stay at this Country Inn property and have no complaints whatsoever! This hotel appears to be brand new and may be the cleanest property I've ever stayed in (keep in mind I'm a business traveller who spends between 60-140 nights a year in hotels!). My check-in was smooth and painless, my double room was spotless and well appointed and the onsite ammenities were wonderful! I really enjoyed the full breakfast in the mornings (one less thing to have to plan) and the river view was beautiful! I really recommend spending the extra few dollars for a river view room, unlike a lot a properties river view truly means unobstructed river view, which was absolutely gorgeous! I'm not sure what went wrong with the previous travellers who left negative reviews of this hotel. This property far surpassed all my expectaions and made for a wonderful weekend getaway with my wife and kids. Book your stay here and you'll have noworries except how to fill your days! Also, don't miss the little store located between the hotel and the river on Broadway. The perfect place to pick a souvenire and some of the friendliest folks I've ever met!

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Disliked — No express checkout
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luck-o-the-Brirish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

628 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    236
    115
    30
    21
See reviews for
105
298
27
78
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
SHREVEPORT, LA
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2008

When we arrived clerk said our room was not ready, so had to wait around. She was not very friendly. The bathroom looked as though it was not cleaned, commode was dirty. Lotions were opened and used, not new. Our bed was very comfortable and the room was a good size. This is a newer hotel. Our room did have a nice view of the river, which we paid extra for. Breakfast was just ok, make do. Our trip to Natchez was a disappointment to me. We arrived on Sunday and hardly anything was open in town.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OLDTHINGS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2008

To start with if you use the Country Inn web site to book your stay, your reservation number format from online will not match the hotel's listing resulting in a 30 minute fiasco to check in. This is a franchise location.

This IS NOT a business traveler friendly location--code for hassles at every turn. Fairfield's are the Marriot bargain stop and this Country Inn wouldn't even qualify on a good day. No express check out, god save you if you ask for a late check out from the housekeeping nazi's, as if you had asked for a first born. No convenience shop, no papers, no water, no nothing and the pub is closed Sundays This is a Super 8 cheap clean stay TODAY and nothing more. Considering the poor quality of the building itself, I would hate to see how thread bare this place looks a year from now.

The free wired and wireless internet worked well, although it tended to kick you off line often, but was amazingly fast compared to many other hotels I've visited.

The free breakfast was comparable to the worst Old Country Buffet wannabe you may have run onto, the building is a wood structure (I watched it go up over previous visits while staying very comfortably at the Comfort Suites directly across the river in Vidalia, LA) which is code for-you hear every foot step and every voice not in your room as well as the neighbors TV. The workmanship throughout the building is third world, and be careful in the parking lot, new asphalt was so poorly laid, most areas are breaking up and uneven to the point of your car sinking into the ground if it were to rain.

The locations proximity to old Natchez is its only redeeming quality, as the real estate crowd blather goes, it's "steps" to Main and Franklin dining and shopping as well as a quick 5 minute walk to the Capri River Boat and the river side park on the Mississippi.

Safety in this town is never in question, having stayed here many times, the previous writers concerns at night are unfounded in my opinion.

Bottom line, the Hampton Inn just down the street is a Hampton through and through and will be my next stay's venue! (recently opened as well) Two additional new hotels are under construction south of the visitors center and should be up and running by late summer. Unless you are desperate, or on a single night low budget stop over, look elsewhere.

  • Liked — Location to old Natchez and the River
  • Disliked — The poor quality of every aspect of the property and the staff.
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Not_the_UGLY_AMERCN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mississippi
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2008

Asked for a king, non-smoking room with a refrigerator. Was booked into a fabulous suite for a great price. Had a wonderful surprise upon entry to the room ... there were 3 sets of french doors in the bedroom and living room areas that opened to 2 large balconies. The view of the sunset over the Mississippi River was breathtaking. The suite was large; with a separate bedroom, living room area, and kitchenette. 2 flat panel TVs and wireless access. The hotel is new and smells of new carpet and paint ... in a fresh way. Lots of wood, granite, and beautiful fixtures. Decor was tasteful. Very comfortable bed. Friendly staff. Good breakfast. We weren't interested in the pool. In case you are ... it is the tiniest concrete pool that I have ever seen; set in a corner of the parking lot behind the hotel. Don't go expecting to lounge by a lovely pool. There are lots of little shops, restaurants, antebellum homes, historical landmarks, and a casino close by.

  • Liked — the sunset river view from the balcony
  • Disliked — low income neighborhoods are close by - didn't feel safe walking at night - we drove
  • Stayed May 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank vintage-1924
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, MS
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2008

We had a Nursing conference in Natchez. We had 60 rooms on hold, all of which filled. Everyone was very happy with their rooms, which are larger than most standard hotel rooms. We were so pleased, and have already booked 75 for next year. Good breakfast. Great location. The staff is very hospitable and Natchez is a beautiful historic city to visit, especailly in the Springtime. Take time for a tour of homes or carriage ride. It's right along the Mississippi, so ask for a riverview room on 4th floor if available!!

  • Liked — New, clean, beautiful view
  • Disliked — some condtruction in area around hotel- should be completed soon
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Charlies2ndAngel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centennial, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2008

I don't know that I've ever stayed in a brand new hotel before, but it was great. I paid $10 more for the room with a view - a view of the Mighty Mississippi River, that is. The hotel faces downtown Natchez and the rooms on one side of the hotel face that direction as well. The other half of the rooms face the river. Very calming.

Very clean, very comfy mattresses, roomy, well ventilated, well lit. Plenty of parking. Near the heart of downtown. Very close to the visitors' center.

Full, hearty, complimentary, hot breakfast -- sausage, bacon and eggs, biscuits and gravy, fruit, pastries, bagels, juice, coffee, tea.

Every one of the staff were smiling and friendly. I plan to return to Natchez sometime soon - perhaps for fall pilgrimage and I definitely will stay at this hotel again.

  • Liked — Location and friendliness of the staff
  • Disliked — I'm cheap! I don't like paying more than $50 for a room.
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank LoveToLaugh0704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly Hills, CA
1 review
Reviewed April 8, 2008

A local friend recommended this very new hotel about two blocks from down town Natchez. The rooms were fresh and clean. Ours was quite roomy with king size bed-very comfortable. The location was excellent with some rooms having a view of the Mississippi and other rooms having a view of Natchez downtown. Ample parking on site. First rate breakfast. Welcome service. We would stay there again and the rates are reasonable.

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
Thank Foam2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Natchez hotels
0.6 mi away
Magnolia Bluffs Casino Hotel
0.9 mi away
Hotel Vue
Hotel Vue
#7 of 17 in Natchez
346 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Natchez
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Natchez South
1.3 mi away
Monmouth Historic Inn & Gardens Natchez
1.0 mi away
Dunleith
Dunleith
#6 of 17 in Natchez
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Natchez Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Natchez Grand Hotel

Property: Natchez Grand Hotel
Address: 111 Broadway, Natchez, MS 39120 (Formerly Country Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Mississippi > Natchez
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Natchez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Natchez Grand Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Natchez Grand Hotel, formerly known as the Country Inn and Suites, was built brand new from the ground up and opened in 2008. The Natchez Grand Hotel is centrally located in the heart of Downtown Natchez with a magnificent view of the Mississippi River and walking distance to many downtown restaurants, shopping, attractions, and nightlife., The Natchez Grand Hotel offers a comfortable place to stay with friendly service and gracious amenities, and is the perfect place to host meetings, corporate retreats, social events and much more, with over 5,000 sq. ft. of meeting space. We invite everyone to be our guest and experience a "grand" stay while visiting Natchez, MS! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Cancelon, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Natchez Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn Natchez
Natchez Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing