We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Could be better!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Natchez Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Natchez Grand Hotel
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Natchez
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Could be better!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2011

Checked in at 4:00pm and the clerk said the room was ready.... Not quite ...Still NO 'towels' for another hour when I had to go find a room service attendant to get my own. Some of the carpeting in the common areas of the hotel need to be changed. The was an abundance of "crickets" present all around the exterior of the building with some entering the inside areas, including the room. The management should have their exterminator on-call for these seasonal critter infestations and the dead ones should be cleaned up multiple times per day. Cigarette butts and ash trays were overflowing near the outside entrance area. All of the staff was friendly and cordial but the front desk clerk seemed very indifferent and cold. The hotel & room was generally very clean, but the comforter on the bed should probably be cleaned more often or replaced. The TV reception quit working one evening and remained off until the next morning sometime. Our final morning, twice diid the room attendants knock on the door before 9am to see if they could clean the room. Please be aware that the hotel charges an additional fee of $8 for their free breakfast (or whatever) in addition of the quoted room rate... that was already paid for on-line and requires a credit card to cover it upon check-in. The breakfast included a very wide selection and was about average for a hotel of this class. This hotel would truly be Grand and could garner 5
stars if not for the above items ... Management should be attentive to the issues. Would probably stay here
again. The room price is a good value.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Casetested
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

573 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    217
    108
    29
    20
See reviews for
95
273
24
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clinton, Mississippi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2011

I had read all the previous 65 reviews before leaving for our family trip. I was eager to find out if the Balcony Suite that I had reserved was going to be harsh based on these readings. I can truly Say that out of all the readings, I only agreed with one and that was the Carpet in the front lobby....That rug needs to be removed....It's too dirty to be cleaned. ......Now for the other readings----The breakfast buffet was okay, not grand.....However, I would love to extend and re-emphasize that it must be to each's own that the staff was rude.....I would like to extend extra cudos to Mrs. Willie Mae who checked our family in on Friday afternoon and out on Sunday morning.....She added much value to our stay because of her willingness to TALK and keep us Posted....She was great and because of friendliness and eager to assist, my family will be coming back soon to stay once again in the King Deluxe Balacony Suite or perhaps the next time the HOSPITALITY Suite......Enjoyed our STAY!!!!!....

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MyrickFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hattiesburg, Mississippi
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2011

Stayed at the Grand Hotel on business. No internet service the evening I arrived nor on the next morning as promised by the hotel clerk. Stains on the carpet and a cigarette burn in the bed comforter (supposed to be a non-smoking hotel). Since I could not work on my computer, I watched the fuzzy TV screen trying to find something throughout their limited channel selection. Then I see two large roaches crawling up the wall in different directions. Upon checkout the next morning, I informed the desk clerk that they needed to send up maintenance to check out the roach situation, to which she replied..."Oh...Sorry about that!" I made a reservation there because it was a relatively new hotel and loked impressive on the exterior. Visitors beware!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sweet57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
natchezgrandhotel, General Manager at Natchez Grand Hotel, responded to this review, July 28, 2011
Just a few comments concerning this posting, it is rare that our Internet is not working, it is supplied through our cable company and is a fiber optic connection. There have been 4 or 5 occasions over the last three years when we have had some area wide problems and in a few of those cases it is due to equipment upgrades and a few are related to major accidents where a light pole was completely destroyed holding the cable company transmission lines in another area of the city. This would effect both the Internet and the TV reception as it is the same source. Their overall reliability is in the 95% plus range.

We do not have a roach problem, our pest control is monitored daily and under contract if any problems are reported.We have had recent issues with crickets at the main entrance and have been treating for them.

Our hotel is non smoking and if a burn spot on bedding was reported it would have been replaced. I note that there was no other indications of of smoking in the room and we access a $250 fee for any evidence of smoking in our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2011

Extremely convenient central location and otherwise just a nice, clean, straightforward hotel. Good hot breakfast, fast wi fi, and a pretty nice little workout room. After being on the road for a few weeks, the absence of any sort of hotel room "funk" was very notable. Just a very clean feeling/smelling place. Definitely got a lot of value for money - my sense is they make most of their money when conventions are on and price rooms to attract tourists when they aren't. Definitely the best all)value/comfort option we saw for walking around Natchez.

Room Tip: One side of the hotel has views of the mississippi
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wbsk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KY
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2011

The check in staff made us wonder if we made a mistake, seemed to just want to get us checked in and out of the way.The afternoon bar tender was excellent for locale information and all of the other staff were what we expected with the southern hosptaity which made up for the check in.The room on the riverside was quiet, clean, comfortable and had a wonderful view of the Mississippi River. The breakfast was pretty good for buffet style. The location made it possible to walk anywhere you would want to go. Highly recommended is the carriage ride just down the strreet and for a local hole in the wall eatery The Pig Out Inn for great food.

Room Tip: High floor on the riverside
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OCDtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
86 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2011

Had a nice-sized room with a balcony overlooking the Mississippi. Had a small kitchenette, and we stored some food in the min-fridge. The only problem was the apparent lack of any sound-barriers. We could hear every footstep above us and when the toilets flushed above, it sounded like a rainshower was about to come down on us. The price was fair, although we were dinged by a "service charge" that covered "parking and other amenities" the clerk told us at check-out. At check-out the clerk did not bother to ask how nice our stay was and seemed pretty indifferent. I might give this hotel another chance, but would ask for a top floor room and skip the balcony next time.

Room Tip: Stay top floor; avoid hearing people walking above
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Boomertravelers_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2011

Stayed here several nights with a tour group. Check in was extremely efficient. Room was nice and it was quiet at night. Everything was adequate, but nothing special about the hotel or the room itself. It is on the verge of being a no-frills room although there was a hair dryyer, coffee pot and plastic cups in the bathroom. There is an early evening happy hour but only the first drink is free (unlike other hotels which have this happy hour). Breakfast buffet had hot and cold foods. As other travelers have noted, this hotel charges a mandatory nightly add on charge which is supposed to be some sort of amenity package - things like the breakfast buffet, etc. which really should just be included or added to the room charge since guests cannot decline this. I have no idea why this is added as a separate additional fee. Plenty of well lit, free parking, and within easy walking distance to shops and restaurants. Natchez is a small town and there are not many hotels. While this one was ok, there was nothing remarkable about it that would have me recommend it as a "must stay here" hotel.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FloridaRB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Natchez hotels
1.3 mi away
Monmouth Historic Inn Natchez
0.9 mi away
Hotel Vue
Hotel Vue
#8 of 16 in Natchez
4.0 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Natchez
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Magnolia Bluffs Casino Hotel
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Natchez South
0.9 mi away
Dunleith
Dunleith
#4 of 16 in Natchez
4.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Natchez Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Natchez Grand Hotel

Property: Natchez Grand Hotel
Address: 111 Broadway, Natchez, MS 39120 (Formerly Country Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Mississippi > Natchez
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Natchez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Natchez Grand Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Natchez Grand Hotel, formerly known as the Country Inn and Suites, was built brand new from the ground up and opened in 2008. The Natchez Grand Hotel is centrally located in the heart of Downtown Natchez with a magnificent view of the Mississippi River and walking distance to many downtown restaurants, shopping, attractions, and nightlife., The Natchez Grand Hotel offers a comfortable place to stay with friendly service and gracious amenities, and is the perfect place to host meetings, corporate retreats, social events and much more, with over 5,000 sq. ft. of meeting space. We invite everyone to be our guest and experience a "grand" stay while visiting Natchez, MS! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Natchez Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn Natchez
Natchez Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing