We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Every Southern gene in my body stood at attention. The real South.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Monmouth Historic Inn Natchez
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Natchez
Certificate of Excellence
Beaumont, Texas
1 review
“Every Southern gene in my body stood at attention. The real South.”
Reviewed September 24, 2010

Arriving at Monmouth through Crepe Myrtles the size of large trees and Catalpa trees larger than any I have ever seen was amazing from the onset. We started in a secluded cottage near the back of the property with huge porches and a private pond. The furnishings are elegant yet comfortable and we truly felt we had the entire property to ourselves. A huge gust of wind. "I now refer to as an act of God," caused the power to go out for much of Natchez. But the main house generators fired on as most of Natchez sat in total darkness. We were rapidly moved to an amazing suite in the Main house that was literally like a night in the museum with all modern amenities. My girlfriend has traveled the entire world and stayed at the nicest hotels in the world. She looked over at me and said, "This may well be the most beautiful room I have ever slept in." I am also fortunate to stay in 4 diamond hotels for my business travel and I have to agree. The entire trip, storm and all, was magical! ORDER THE DUCK! I will be married here, mark my word.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zekeloftin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

685 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    489
    117
    45
    19
    15
See reviews for
78
416
15
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Natchitoches, Louisiana
Level Contributor
66 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2010

I recently visited the Monmouth Plantation as part of a Girls Weekend. This hotel showed true southern charm. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The rooms were much more than expected. I really enjoyed the period furnishings, it made me feel like a true Southern Belle. The offered breakfast, served on fine china was out of this world, I highly recommend the French Toast.

If whatever package deal you choose, I suggest you skip the massage. The most relaxing portion was the minute the massage stopped.
All over great experience.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RialbTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2010

I had a wonderful stay. The room was beautiful and spacious. Most of all the entire staff was extremely hospitable. The grounds of the Plantation were spectacular. It was so peaceful and serene. The gardens of roses, trees, and even the fresh planted herbs that are used right there in the kitchen were so memorable. The spell still lingers in my memory of my stay. I was truly fascinated with the wonderful gracious owners of the plantation and how I felt as if I had been invited by them personally to stay with them and their staff. They truly made me feel welcome and special. It is truly one of the most beautiful spots in all of Natchez!

Thank you again!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ynh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
275 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 260 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2010

This is the finest hotel in Natchez by far and the hotel's comfort is only surpassed by the art and antiques throughout the mansion and outlying guest rooms. Pathways lead guests throughout the grounds with its gardens, statues, fountains, ponds and woodlands.

This is a great hotel for romance, celebrating, and using as a base to explore all the magnificent homes in Natchez. Monmouth would be an ideal setting for memorable weddings.

Breakfast delicious and included with your stay; but, don't miss sampling their special French toast. Dinner is available a la carte or at the Chef's Table. Treat yourself and experience the Chef's Table with its six courses and the chance to mingle with other dines while seated on the formal dining room of the mansion.

There is a number of items I think could make this lovely hotel just a little better...new and plumper pillows, swimming pool, better quality wines on the wine list, a more comfortable easy chair in my room, DirecTV requires you to go through a lot of blank channels, better wifi, and a larger work area/desk to write or use a laptop computer.

Bottom line is this is a very special hotel!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TraveljohnsonJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
1 review
Reviewed July 12, 2010

We had no Idea that we'd fall in love with one of Mississippi's most treasured spots. Monmouth Plantation meets with you with a sense of world class luxury and a heart of "family", as if you're right at home. The staff - and we met a lot, were simply amazing, always going the extra mile and we can't wait to go back!

The whole place has been lovingly restored with attention to detail and the grounds have been planned, kept and created for those who enjoy a quiet read, a peaceful walk or a family game or two on the lawns.

Our kids 10 & 6, loved the Monmouth ponds, the trails and more than anything the golf carts they got to ride. Fishing poles were available, free wifi all over the grounds and flat screen TV's in the rooms made it pretty impossible to run out of things to do.

Breakfast each day reminded us of being somewhere in England and dinner at the well known 1818 on site restaurant was unforgettable. I can still taste their bread pudding even now!!

Natchez is full of American history and modern amenities from coffee shops to Longwood House, to old streets and views of the Mississippi river. We took a few exploration trips and found Indian Mounds, Longwood House, William Johnson House and of course downtown Natchez that is full of great restaurants and boutique style shops.

If you're looking for a "southern belle" luxury experience at a very reasonable price - this is it.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamielish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2010

My family and I are still feeling the glow of wonderful Monmouth! We visited in June and it was extraordinary!

Lani and Ron Riches have created not only a five star hotel (which is no easy feat on its own), but they have worked tirelessly to ensure that this house that belonged to General John A. Quitman, former governor of Mississippi, is also included on the prestigious National Register of Historic Places. If you are a history buff, you’re going to love this hotel with its attention to detail – portraits, letters, and antique artifacts. Had Quitman survived past 1858, there is evidence that his popularity and political acumen could have edged out Jefferson Davis as the first president of the Confederacy. You just breathe in the fragrance of the history here. And you can do so while sipping a freezing mint julep in a silver cup either in the secluded Quitman Study or in the company of the other friendly guests, eating from an inspired Southern menu that has caught the notice of the James Beard House in New York, strolling around the lovely gardens and lake, and then sinking back into a plush pompom canopied bed at night with the softest of linens. (For those who need to stay plugged in, the WiFi worked flawlessly from the rocker on our porch.)

The staff, some of whom have been working at Monmouth for over 20 years, are so very welcoming and accommodating. During the day, our boys, 11 year old twins, went fishing with the poles provided by the guide and caught a number of fine fish. In the evening, they dined on their own in the main-house parlor while we took our time with the full five course tasting meal in the dining room. Dinner was delicious with a choice of wines with each course: crisp hot rolls (as though they had been fried ever so delicately), a crayfish bisque, a baby spinach salad with blue cheese, a little mango sorbet interlude, exquisitely cooked filet for my husband and cinnamon glazed duck breast for me, and to top it off - a chocolate mousse parfait.

Breakfast kept us fueled with hearty eggs, perfect buttery biscuits, sausage, bacon, and grits that could make even a Yankee ask for seconds.

Monmouth is a very special place and the Riches’s hospitality sees to it that every guest feels pampered, right down to the lovely talcum powder in a vintage pewter bottle in the bathroom. June is warm, but with Spanish moss dripping from the large trees and frogs croaking and crickets chirping, it was mesmerizing. Ladies, you could become “soft teacakes with frostings of sweat and sweet talcum,” but it is sixty years later and your hosts at Monmouth have the air-conditioning and iced tea just right.

-Lexy Lovell and Michael Uys
Brooklyn, New York

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovelluys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Mississippi
Level Contributor
115 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2010

Overall, the place really just seemed average and way too average for the price. We stayed in the "Abigail" room which was attached to the back of the bookshop. It was described as right off the main house patio with it's own private patio. This was accurate, but I envisioned something nicer. The private patio is an entire glass and trellace enclosed space with no natural light. The bed is the room is trying to be to "period authentic" as in it is very small (smaller than queen) and not very comfortable.

The good:
Nice main house
Polite staff
I was very please with the quality of the breakfast, top notch here

The bad:
Too expensive for what you get
Clean, but shows it's age
Uncomfortable bed
Parking is tight
Never could get the wireless internet to work and the employee they sent to help just suggested "Restart your computer" When that didn't work he stated he didn't know.

Finally, I know this is an old plantation and all, but somethings struck me as a little "too plantationy" such as every employee (other than the manager) was African American and it was all a little too much "Yes sir, yes mam". Honestly I really felt like I was back in the 1840s or so when slavery still existed. This may appeal to some people. but it certainly struck me as out of place in te 21st century.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Natchez hotels
1.3 mi away
Natchez Grand Hotel
Natchez Grand Hotel
#3 of 16 in Natchez
4.0 of 5 bubbles 600 reviews
0.8 mi away
Dunleith
Dunleith
#5 of 16 in Natchez
4.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Vue
Hotel Vue
#7 of 16 in Natchez
4.0 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Natchez
1.4 mi away
Magnolia Bluffs Casino Hotel
1.0 mi away
Devereaux Shields House
Devereaux Shields House
#4 of 41 in Natchez
5.0 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monmouth Historic Inn Natchez? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monmouth Historic Inn Natchez

Property: Monmouth Historic Inn Natchez
Address: 1358 John A Quitman Blvd, Natchez, MS 39120-5077
Location: United States > Mississippi > Natchez
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Natchez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Monmouth Historic Inn Natchez 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Monmouth Historic Inn & Gardens was built in 1818, and is a National Historic Landmark. As a charter member of Southern Living's Hotel Collection, Monmouth is the perfect choice for travelers seeking an authentic southern travel experience. Wake up each morning to the aroma of a full Southern style breakfast, then take a tour of the magnificent mansion before exploring the grounds and all 26 beautifully landscaped acres. As the sun sets on the picturesque surroundings, relax on the veranda with a Mint Julep and complimentary hors d'oeuvres. In the evening, enjoy fine dining at the award winning "Restaurant 1818" in the antebellum home. As the end of the day draws near, retire to one of the 16 luxury suites or 14 elegantly appointed rooms, where a turned down bed and sweet dreams await! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Monmouth Historic Inn Natchez reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monmouth Plantation Natchez Hotel Natchez

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing