We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Monmouth Historic Inn & Gardens Natchez
Nearby Hotels
Starlings Rest(Natchez)(Great Value!)
$79
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$139
Hampton.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Devereaux Shields House(Natchez)
$139
$126
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Natchez Grand Hotel(Natchez)(Great Value!)
$87
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$63
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 24% below average rates

The price you found is 24% lower than this hotel's average rate of $83/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$109
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Guest House(Natchez)(Great Value!)
$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$149
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Vue(Natchez)(Great Value!)
$87
$85
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dunleith(Natchez)
$96
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (759)
Filter reviews
759 results
Traveler rating
536
136
48
22
17
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
536
136
48
22
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgarden roomthe main houselani richesdeluxe suitebeautiful groundsthe studythe cottagesnew orleansmint julepsouthern hospitalitysouthern breakfastfour poster bedfrench toastplantation houseseparate buildingfriesjacuzzi tub
Filter
Updating list...
553 - 558 of 759 reviews
Reviewed September 22, 2010

I recently visited the Monmouth Plantation as part of a Girls Weekend. This hotel showed true southern charm. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The rooms were much more than expected. I really enjoyed the period furnishings, it made me feel like a true Southern Belle. The offered breakfast, served on fine china was out of this world, I highly recommend the French Toast.

If whatever package deal you choose, I suggest you skip the massage. The most relaxing portion was the minute the massage stopped.
All over great experience.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RialbTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2010

I had a wonderful stay. The room was beautiful and spacious. Most of all the entire staff was extremely hospitable. The grounds of the Plantation were spectacular. It was so peaceful and serene. The gardens of roses, trees, and even the fresh planted herbs that are used right there in the kitchen were so memorable. The spell still lingers in my memory of my stay. I was truly fascinated with the wonderful gracious owners of the plantation and how I felt as if I had been invited by them personally to stay with them and their staff. They truly made me feel welcome and special. It is truly one of the most beautiful spots in all of Natchez!

Thank you again!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ynh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2010

This is the finest hotel in Natchez by far and the hotel's comfort is only surpassed by the art and antiques throughout the mansion and outlying guest rooms. Pathways lead guests throughout the grounds with its gardens, statues, fountains, ponds and woodlands.

This is a great hotel for romance, celebrating, and using as a base to explore all the magnificent homes in Natchez. Monmouth would be an ideal setting for memorable weddings.

Breakfast delicious and included with your stay; but, don't miss sampling their special French toast. Dinner is available a la carte or at the Chef's Table. Treat yourself and experience the Chef's Table with its six courses and the chance to mingle with other dines while seated on the formal dining room of the mansion.

There is a number of items I think could make this lovely hotel just a little better...new and plumper pillows, swimming pool, better quality wines on the wine list, a more comfortable easy chair in my room, DirecTV requires you to go through a lot of blank channels, better wifi, and a larger work area/desk to write or use a laptop computer.

Bottom line is this is a very special hotel!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TraveljohnsonJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2010

We had no Idea that we'd fall in love with one of Mississippi's most treasured spots. Monmouth Plantation meets with you with a sense of world class luxury and a heart of "family", as if you're right at home. The staff - and we met a lot, were simply amazing, always going the extra mile and we can't wait to go back!

The whole place has been lovingly restored with attention to detail and the grounds have been planned, kept and created for those who enjoy a quiet read, a peaceful walk or a family game or two on the lawns.

Our kids 10 & 6, loved the Monmouth ponds, the trails and more than anything the golf carts they got to ride. Fishing poles were available, free wifi all over the grounds and flat screen TV's in the rooms made it pretty impossible to run out of things to do.

Breakfast each day reminded us of being somewhere in England and dinner at the well known 1818 on site restaurant was unforgettable. I can still taste their bread pudding even now!!

Natchez is full of American history and modern amenities from coffee shops to Longwood House, to old streets and views of the Mississippi river. We took a few exploration trips and found Indian Mounds, Longwood House, William Johnson House and of course downtown Natchez that is full of great restaurants and boutique style shops.

If you're looking for a "southern belle" luxury experience at a very reasonable price - this is it.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jamielish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2010

My family and I are still feeling the glow of wonderful Monmouth! We visited in June and it was extraordinary!

Lani and Ron Riches have created not only a five star hotel (which is no easy feat on its own), but they have worked tirelessly to ensure that this house that belonged to General John A. Quitman, former governor of Mississippi, is also included on the prestigious National Register of Historic Places. If you are a history buff, you’re going to love this hotel with its attention to detail – portraits, letters, and antique artifacts. Had Quitman survived past 1858, there is evidence that his popularity and political acumen could have edged out Jefferson Davis as the first president of the Confederacy. You just breathe in the fragrance of the history here. And you can do so while sipping a freezing mint julep in a silver cup either in the secluded Quitman Study or in the company of the other friendly guests, eating from an inspired Southern menu that has caught the notice of the James Beard House in New York, strolling around the lovely gardens and lake, and then sinking back into a plush pompom canopied bed at night with the softest of linens. (For those who need to stay plugged in, the WiFi worked flawlessly from the rocker on our porch.)

The staff, some of whom have been working at Monmouth for over 20 years, are so very welcoming and accommodating. During the day, our boys, 11 year old twins, went fishing with the poles provided by the guide and caught a number of fine fish. In the evening, they dined on their own in the main-house parlor while we took our time with the full five course tasting meal in the dining room. Dinner was delicious with a choice of wines with each course: crisp hot rolls (as though they had been fried ever so delicately), a crayfish bisque, a baby spinach salad with blue cheese, a little mango sorbet interlude, exquisitely cooked filet for my husband and cinnamon glazed duck breast for me, and to top it off - a chocolate mousse parfait.

Breakfast kept us fueled with hearty eggs, perfect buttery biscuits, sausage, bacon, and grits that could make even a Yankee ask for seconds.

Monmouth is a very special place and the Riches’s hospitality sees to it that every guest feels pampered, right down to the lovely talcum powder in a vintage pewter bottle in the bathroom. June is warm, but with Spanish moss dripping from the large trees and frogs croaking and crickets chirping, it was mesmerizing. Ladies, you could become “soft teacakes with frostings of sweat and sweet talcum,” but it is sixty years later and your hosts at Monmouth have the air-conditioning and iced tea just right.

-Lexy Lovell and Michael Uys
Brooklyn, New York

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lovelluys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews