We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We could not have chosen a better place to get married!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Monmouth Historic Inn & Gardens Natchez
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Natchez
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 28, 2009

Originally, my wife and I were planning on getting married in Gatlinburg Tennessee until one night we found Monmouth plantation online after searching for "most romantic places to get married". After visiting the website, we had to take a look for ourselves at this place in person! Needless to say, making the decision to take our vows and start our lives together at Monmouth plantation was easy! The atmosphere is amazing, and the staff are nothing short of the best. On our initial visit, we stayed in one of the cottages on the grounds and the room was very cozy and felt almost like home. For dinner, we dined at the chef's table in the main house. The five course meal was orchestrated to perfection by the staff, and the food was absolutely incredible. After dinner, we strolled the grounds and retired back to our room to find our bed turned down and mints place on the pillows--service at its best! Coming back to Monmouth to get married was great. Everyone remembered us and that we were getting married that weekend, and that speaks volumes for the staff and the hospitality that they show toward the guests. The grounds this time of year are beautiful as all of the flowers are in full bloom. We took our vows under the pergola that was covered in wisteria, and as you can see by the pictures...it is breathtaking! To sum it up, Monmouth plantation is not only a wonderful place to "get away" to, it is also a great place to plan an event such as a wedding. This place will always hold a special place in our hearts, and we look forward to many more stays!

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TalmadgeG33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (717)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

553 - 559 of 717 reviews

Reviewed March 15, 2009

A stately pillared plantation home on a hill, but close to town, with beautiful grounds: four poster beds in elegant bedrooms and modern bathrooms with great showers; the best fresh biscuits ever for breakfast, a really good restaurant with free drinks beforehand, a well-stocked local gift shop and friendly staff. This place is a pleasure in every respect. There are other very good places to stay in Natchez, but this is simply the best of them all.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terrantez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2009

This plantation is well maintained. The room in which we stayed was clean and comfortable. The staff was friendly and helpful. This is an excellent choice if you wish to spend a romantic few days. It is close to other historic plantations.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drsyn2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2009

We spent a weekend with friends at Monmouth and enjoyed every minute. Driving in, the view of the massive main house and the tree-covered grounds took our breath away. We stayed in a suite in a separate building, and it was large and furnished with antiques and a fireplace. The view from our sitting room was a well-manicured croquet lawn, while our bedroom overlooked a moss-draped forest.

A tour of the main house is a must; the history of Monmouth is amazing, and will interest even those who don't like history. And we didn't see any ghosts, but there were plenty of squirrels and lots of singing birds.

Natchez has oodles of romantic plantation homes that take in overnight visitors, and for us, this one is by far the best.

  • Stayed: February 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pennylady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2009

Forget any preconceived notions you have had about staying at an Inn. Monmouth Plantation is absolutely the most beautiful place we have ever visited. We planned to stay only one night but after checking in and seeing our room and the rest of the grounds, we couldn't leave.

The first night we stayed in a room beautifully appointed with period furniture, including a four poster canopy bed as well as beautiful art on the walls. It was so warm and inviting and very hard to leave the room in the morning. We walked to the Quitman Retreat for breakfast where we were served a wonderful southern breakfast to treat any palate.

From the second we checked in and walked to the lounge for drinks and appetizers, we were met by a staff of warm and friendly people. From check-in to check-out the staff was always there to help in any way they could. We felt as though we were around family.

The second night we were given a suite that was amazing. Again, we had gorgeous period furnishings with a working fireplace in the living room. It was so warm and beautiful with two sofas and books to read on shelves. The bathroom, with its jacuzzi tub was so relaxing. The four poster canopy bed was beautiul and so comfortable we were floating when we slept. We even had a deck outside our bedroom door.

We had a delicious dinner in "1818," the a la carte restaurant in the main house, one of two restaurants at Monmouth Plantation. The other restaurant serves a 5 course meal. Every item we ordered was a culinary treat. We asked to meet the chef who came to our table so we could thank her for the wonderful meal. We even asked her to create a cookbook of her recipes for people like us.

The 26 acre grounds are covered with ponds, gazebos, and gorgeous trees with Spanish moss. We walked the pathways and loved every view we could take in. It was winter so the azaleas we have heard about were not in bloom. We will definitely return to Monmouth Plantation when flowers are in bloom.

The morning we had to leave, we met the owner, Lani Riches, outside our room and even though she was on her way to a meeting, she took the time to graciously talk with us.

If you are planning a trip to New Orleans and want to leave the beaten track and drive a few hours for a romantic weekend, a honeymoon, or just a visit to Natchez, Mississippi, Monmouth Plantation is the place you should choose. It is a vision of heaven.

  • Stayed: January 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank JerryandMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2009

Monmouth is an absolutely breathtaking site to behold! We arrived on Friday afternoon to stay for two nights and were immediately greeted by friendly staff and shown to our room. The room was clean and very nice and had a beautiful view of the ponds and gardens that surround the mansion. Everything at Monmouth was immaculate and it is evident that great pride goes into the ownership of this historic home. Breakfast each morning was very delicious and filling - great southern cooking! After breakfast, a tour of the home was conducted by Doris Ann and was very interesting and informative. She is a very sweet lady and made us feel most welcome! Natchez is a beautiful town full of architectural treasures with Monmouth being one of the most stately. My wife and I are lovers of history and especially of old homes and it brings us great joy to see history being preserved in such a fine manner. Don't miss Monmouth - you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank LoveHistory4Ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2009

Even though there was an extremely cold front that moved through, the hilly grounds were just lovely for walking. Enjoyed the spiritual side of the gardens - angel statues, stained glass monument - and the pond with bridge. Breakfast was delicious and the dining area most elegant. This would be a perfect place for a honeymoon.
Room was elegantly furnished with antiques and draperies.
Amenities were plentiful. The service staff was fantastic.
Our grandson even caught a large bass in the pond! (He released it.) Even though Monmouth isn't great for children, there are enough other activities in Natchez, except for the very young.
Our grandkids enjoyed the plantation tours and the antique shops. Excellent food in the area, and marvelous dinners available at Monmouth. Kids loved "The Malt Shop", a drive-through. We will definitely return to tour other plantations and enjoy views of the Mississippi River.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roloyca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Natchez hotels
1.3 mi away
Natchez Grand Hotel
Natchez Grand Hotel
#3 of 17 in Natchez
655 reviews
0.8 mi away
Dunleith
Dunleith
#6 of 17 in Natchez
265 reviews
1.3 mi away
Starlings Rest
Starlings Rest
#5 of 17 in Natchez
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Magnolia Bluffs Casino Hotel, BW Premier Collection
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Natchez
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Natchez South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monmouth Historic Inn & Gardens Natchez? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monmouth Historic Inn & Gardens Natchez

Address: 1358 John a Quitman Blvd, Natchez, MS 39120-5077
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Mississippi > Natchez
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Natchez
Price Range: $207 - $253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Monmouth Historic Inn & Gardens Natchez 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Monmouth Historic Inn & Gardens was built in 1818, and is a National Historic Landmark. As a charter member of Southern Living's Hotel Collection, Monmouth is the perfect choice for travelers seeking an authentic southern travel experience. Wake up each morning to the aroma of a full Southern style breakfast, then take a tour of the magnificent mansion before exploring the grounds and all 26 beautifully landscaped acres. As the sun sets on the picturesque surroundings, relax on the veranda with a Mint Julep and complimentary hors d'oeuvres. In the evening, enjoy fine dining at the award winning "Restaurant 1818" in the antebellum home. As the end of the day draws near, retire to one of the 16 luxury suites or 14 elegantly appointed rooms, where a private bath, turned down bed, and sweet dreams await! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Monmouth Historic Inn & Gardens Natchez reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monmouth Plantation Natchez Hotel Natchez

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing