We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Wonderful Place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Monmouth Historic Inn Natchez

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Monmouth Historic Inn Natchez
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Natchez
Certificate of Excellence
Tuscaloosa, Alabama
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Quiet, peaceful and historical place. We enjoyed our night there last Saturday as it truly is a step back in time. It was elegant and what one would picture of the "Old South." Wealth of that era cannot be believed until you see it. Worth the time to come here and enjoy a bit of the past.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Diners4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

620 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    450
    101
    39
    16
    14
See reviews for
73
369
15
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
mexico
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014 via mobile

Lovely stay AT THE monmouth historic inn.
Romántic.
If you travel with Children remember to ask of additional accommodations.
Super nice staff
Don't forget to see all the antebellum houses and plantations.
Not to many places to have dinner with children specially if you arrive late.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ale_escandon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, MS
Level Contributor
59 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Everything about Monmouth is a positive. We stayed for 3 night is Cottage 36 and when we return, we will request that cottage. The staff, accommodations, and breakfast were superb. Be sure to do the tour of the main house. The grounds are beautiful and very manicured. What we enjoyed also was being able to enjoy the different area of the outdoors. When we visit Natchez again, we will stay at Monmouth.

Helpful?
Thank Bullie9876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daphne, AL
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014 via mobile

One of the sites we stayed on a recent anniversary trip... my wife and I had been here before on a previous stay when the site was under previous management. The grounds are well kept - very picturesque. There is a tour of the main house which we did not do again but do recommend for first time visitors. This is a National Historic Landmark dating back to 1818. A definite highlight of a visit to Natchez.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Greg M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bastrop, Louisiana
Level Contributor
160 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014 via mobile

This is such a wonderful place to just get away from life's monotonous grind. Everything was just spectacular and I'll definitely be back first chance I get!! The service was great!! The room was perfect in every way and the staff will go out of their way to make sure that you have everything that you need. The grounds at the Monmouth are simply breathtaking with something new around every corner.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brenolan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgeland, Mississippi
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014 via mobile

We returned to Monmouth for our twelfth anniversary because we remembered our first visit with such delight. Monmouth is one of the crown jewels in Mississippi ! Authentic, elegant, warm, peaceful are only a few of the adjectives I use to describe it. We stayed in a garden room this visit. It was so quiet that we slept until 10:30! My husband never sleeps past 7. Everyone there was extremely friendly and helpful, especially Hal, who, seemed to anticipate our every need. We can't wait until our next visit.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Judy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walker, Louisiana
Level Contributor
43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

My wife and I spent a weekend getaway here at Monmouth and it was an amazing experience! We had a wonderful time relaxing at this beautiful and peaceful escape! The grounds are stunning and the history the home holds is fantastic! The food is wonderful as well!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Natchez hotels
1.3 mi away
Natchez Grand Hotel
Natchez Grand Hotel
#4 of 16 in Natchez
4.0 of 5 stars 494 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Vue
Hotel Vue
#6 of 16 in Natchez
4.0 of 5 stars 267 reviews
0.9 mi away
Dunleith
Dunleith
#3 of 16 in Natchez
4.5 of 5 stars 217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Natchez
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Natchez South
1.5 mi away
Magnolia Bluffs Casino Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monmouth Historic Inn Natchez? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monmouth Historic Inn Natchez

Property: Monmouth Historic Inn Natchez
Address: 1358 John a Quitman Blvd, Natchez, MS 39120-5077
Location: United States > Mississippi > Natchez
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Natchez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Monmouth Historic Inn Natchez 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Monmouth Historic Inn & Gardens was built in 1818, and is a National Historic Landmark. As a charter member of Southern Living's Hotel Collection, Monmouth is the perfect choice for travelers seeking an authentic southern travel experience. Wake up each morning to the aroma of a full Southern style breakfast, then take a tour of the magnificent mansion before exploring the grounds and all 26 beautifully landscaped acres. As the sun sets on the picturesque surroundings, relax on the veranda with a Mint Julep and complimentary hors d'oeuvres. In the evening, enjoy fine dining at the award winning "Restaurant 1818" in the antebellum home. As the end of the day draws near, retire to one of the 16 luxury suites or 14 elegantly appointed rooms, where a turned down bed and sweet dreams await! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Monmouth Historic Inn Natchez reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monmouth Plantation Natchez Hotel Natchez

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing