We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“With friends 2 weeks ago”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Monmouth Historic Inn & Gardens Natchez
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Natchez
Certificate of Excellence
Cave Springs, Arkansas
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“With friends 2 weeks ago”
Reviewed February 24, 2014

We had always wanted to stay at a historic plantation home and Monmouth turned out to be a wonderful experience. We were with a group of friends and it was the perfect setting for a getaway weekend. First of all, the property is absolutely beautiful. The grounds are more picturesque than anything else in Natchez with a large pond, a beautiful walking bridge, gazebos, a walking trail and beautiful gardens. The rooms were large and well appointed. Combine all of this with an excellent restaurant, a cozy bar area and a friendly, knowledgeable staff that treats you like you are really important and you have an ideal setting for a memorable vacation. This is the place to stay in Natchez.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cbm113050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

693 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    492
    122
    45
    19
    15
See reviews for
78
420
16
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 4, 2014

This place is beautiful!! A coworker and I came down for a conference and were delighted to get to stay here. Unfortunately (not that unfortunate!) we were stranded in Natchez for an extra day due to icy roads. The ice stopped everyone in their tracks. Our reservations at 1818 were cancelled due to employees not being able to drive to work. However, when Carol found out we were staying on site she assured us they would prepare us a meal so we wouldn't have to go hungry. The food was fabulous and Roosevelt was awesome. Big thank you to Nick who came and got our bags when our cars couldn't make it up the icy drive. I highly recommend this place. It oozes the hospitality you expect when you travel south.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dekota A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Starkville, Mississippi
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2014

A colleague and I stayed at Monmouth for a business trip last week. During our stay, a rare winter storm fairly well shut down much of the South. Restaurants and businesses in Natchez were closed, and travelers were stranded. The staff at Monmouth made a difficult situation feel like serendipity--we didn't have to leave the property at all for gourmet meals and world-class service, right through the storm. Although the restaurant was unable to open, the Monmouth staff somehow managed to prepare and serve special meals (redfish with crawfish sauce, filet, full breakfasts) to us iced-in guests. It seems strange to say, in light of the historic value of the magnificent home and gardens, but I think Monmouth's greatest treasures are the staff members. Carole, Nick, George, Mary, and Roosevelt…what a pleasure it was to meet you. We can't thank you enough for all you did to make us safe and sound during the storm, and we feel very lucky to have seen magnificent Monmouth cloaked in snow! We'll be back.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank D_SeymourMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upstate NY
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our one night stay at Monmouth last week. Upon arrival, Hal helped us with our bags, provided ice and great commentary on the property and where everything was located. Our room, in the main house over the study and lounge was absolutely gorgeous. The big 4 poster canopy bed was very comfortable. We enjoyed a drink prepared by the amazing Roosevelt - what a gracious man - I wish we could have spent more time talking with him. Dinner in the restaurant was enjoyable. As we strolled the property on a lovely warm afternoon, we were greeted and accompanied by Stretch, one of the (at least) 4 cats who reside at Monmouth. We met the other 3 at feeding time with Hal telling us all about each one.
It's a bit of a walk to the building where breakfast is served. Breakfast was alright - nothing special but served by very pleasant wait staff. This is a lovely property - make time to visit and you'll be glad you did.

Room Tip: The rooms in the main house are gorgeous and we weren't bothered by noise from either the bar or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PK12033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2014

My husband and I celebrated our tenth anniversary here last weekend. We stayed in the main house. The ground were beautiful in the dead of winter! I can only imagine how beautiful they are in the spring. Our bed was comfortable but I was a little disappointed in the rest of the room. I guess you can't expect too many modern comforts in a room that was built in 1818. I do think they could use some work. We ate in the 1818 Restaurant and it was very good. The filet and the bread pudding were to die for! We really enjoyed the Quitman Lounge. Mr. Roosevelt made our stay very enjoyable! His Mint Juleps and Chocolate Martina's were excellent! We met some very nice people. The breakfast was very good and was served in a beautiful dining room off from the main house. The staff puts coffee out in the courtyard for early risers, which was very nice. We really enjoyed our visit to Natchez. It is a very interesting place and we do plan on returning!

Room Tip: The location of the rooms in the main house are really convenient to the restaurant and lounge espec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Faye M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2014

We stayed for 2 nights in January as a family of four. The Monmouth Inn is a beautiful antebellum house with I believe 5 bedrooms in the main building and other rooms scattered around the extensive gardens. On arrival we were given two adjacent rooms in the main building, on the balcony overlooking the rear courtyard. It was unseasonably cold in Natchez when we were there due to the "polar vortex" that was gripping most of the USA, and the heating in one of the rooms, where our teenage children were due to sleep, was not working properly. However this was quickly sorted out as they were moved to a lovely 2 bedroom suite in one of the cottages - complete with gas fire! Our room (the Quitman bedroom) was lovely and warm and was furnished with antique furniture belonging to the most famous owner of the house, General Quitman. A tour of the house is not to be missed as it not only allows you to see other parts of the main building but also gives you a fascinating insight into it's history. Breakfast was served in the Garden Room a short stroll across the grounds. We also had the opportunity to meet the current owner, Mrs Nancy Reuther, who was most hospitable and helpful and really cares about the Inn and the level of service it gives.

Room Tip: Try and get one of the rooms in the main house for the best experience
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Plus2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meridian, Mississippi
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 4, 2014

For the price that was paid - the rooms were drafty and the breakfast wasn't the best. The grounds are beautiful and dinner was good. Only 2 packages were available despite all the ones listed on the website. We took the Anniversary Package and was unable to take the carriage ride because they don't run much in the winter, the cake was not good at all. The chocolate strawberries were delicious! The worst part was CHECKOUT - As an elected official I have stayed at the best and the worst - we only stayed 2 nights but had pending chargers for 4 nights which at the price of the rooms created some major issues. When calling the management they were RUDE and unwilling to HELP or LISTEN and BLAMED everything on my bank. After 4 days of calls to get the matter resolved the additional pending charges were removed & my money was released but they said they would not be responsible for any additonal fees that occurred because of their checkout errors. This took away from the entire experience. I WILL NEVER STAY HERE AGAIN - JUST NOT WORTH THE HEADACHE!

Room Tip: Go in the warmer months & use a prepaid credit card.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancy R, Owner at Monmouth Historic Inn & Gardens Natchez, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Dear Kim H,

I just read your review and I would like to say I am very sorry that circumstances have
ruined your stay at Monmouth. I have not heard anything about your problems from our staff and that also makes me very unhappy. I always want to here any feedback from our guests whether it is good or bad.
As far as packages go, we are doing a new web site and it is almost finished, I thought all the packages had to be redone, but we had to keep the two best until we could get the website finished. As far as the drafty room I will research that. We will usually move a guest if they are unhappy. I will certainly find out what happened with you billing and the way you were treated.We pride ourselves on good customer service. Feel free to call me at anytime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Natchez hotels
1.3 mi away
Natchez Grand Hotel
Natchez Grand Hotel
#4 of 17 in Natchez
622 reviews
0.8 mi away
Dunleith
Dunleith
#6 of 17 in Natchez
252 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Vue
Hotel Vue
#8 of 17 in Natchez
339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Natchez
1.4 mi away
Magnolia Bluffs Casino Hotel
1.3 mi away
Starlings Natchez
Starlings Natchez
#3 of 17 in Natchez
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monmouth Historic Inn & Gardens Natchez? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monmouth Historic Inn & Gardens Natchez

Property: Monmouth Historic Inn & Gardens Natchez
Address: 1358 John A Quitman Blvd, Natchez, MS 39120-5077
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Mississippi > Natchez
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Natchez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Monmouth Historic Inn & Gardens Natchez 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Monmouth Historic Inn & Gardens was built in 1818, and is a National Historic Landmark. As a charter member of Southern Living's Hotel Collection, Monmouth is the perfect choice for travelers seeking an authentic southern travel experience. Wake up each morning to the aroma of a full Southern style breakfast, then take a tour of the magnificent mansion before exploring the grounds and all 26 beautifully landscaped acres. As the sun sets on the picturesque surroundings, relax on the veranda with a Mint Julep and complimentary hors d'oeuvres. In the evening, enjoy fine dining at the award winning "Restaurant 1818" in the antebellum home. As the end of the day draws near, retire to one of the 16 luxury suites or 14 elegantly appointed rooms, where a turned down bed and sweet dreams await! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Monmouth Historic Inn & Gardens Natchez reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monmouth Plantation Natchez Hotel Natchez

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing