We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Monmouth Historic Inn & Gardens Natchez
Nearby Hotels
Starlings Rest(Natchez)(Great Value!)
$79
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$139
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Devereaux Shields House(Natchez)
$139
$126
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of $140/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Vue(Natchez)(Great Value!)
$87
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Natchez Grand Hotel(Natchez)(Great Value!)
$87
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$109
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$74
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Guest House(Natchez)(Great Value!)
$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$149
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dunleith(Natchez)
$99
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (758)
Filter reviews
759 results
Traveler rating
536
136
48
22
17
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
536
136
48
22
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgarden roomthe main houselani richesdeluxe suitebeautiful groundsthe studythe cottagesnew orleansmint julepsouthern hospitalitysouthern breakfastfour poster bedfrench toastplantation houseseparate buildingfriesjacuzzi tub
Filter
Updating list...
385 - 390 of 759 reviews
Reviewed August 2, 2013

We stayed at the Monmouth Plantation for 2 nights as part of a 2 week tour of the US. Before departing on our trip, we were expecting the Monmouth to be a real highlight, however it unfortunately did not live up to expectations...by a long way. I will list the negatives, and the positives (to be balanced) of our stay at the Monmouth:

Negatives:

1. We arrived at the Monmouth after a long drive from Memphis, and we were very tired. The check-in process was very long winded though. We just wanted to get to our room and relax, however we were given a lengthy run-through of the house, and Natchez by the porter. He was a very nice man, but we were tired and just wanted to relax at that point. It wasn't the time for this.

2. Whilst at the Monmouth, a wedding party was being held, with our first day being the 'bridal shower', followed by the actual wedding the next day. This caused us the following issues:
(a) we had booked a meal in the restaurant, however, because the bridal shower was being held in the dining room, we had to eat our meal in the bar-area. The meal was lovely (see below), but it was served in a totally unsuitable room; the sort of room you might have a casual drink in. The quality of the plate was not commensurate with the surroundings.
(b) loud music being played until 1am.

3. The breakfasts are of a very low quality. We had a traditional southern breakfast one morning, and it was so bland. The bread (which we toasted) tasted very cheap quality. The service was mixed. One young man was very good however.

4. Upon departure, when we were asked if we’d had a pleasant stay, we politely mentioned the loud music on our first night. The lady on reception said “yes, that was the wedding party…I always ring ahead when I book some place, to check that there isn’t a party that could cause noise”. We found this bizarre. It isn’t the guest’s responsibility to check in advance whether a party is being held. It’s the hotel’s responsibility to make their accommodation pleasant for all their guests.

Positives:

1. The restaurant meal (served in the bar) was actually very good. Shame it was not served in the dining room.
2. Some of the staff were very hospitable e.g. ‘Roosevelt’, and young man in the breakfast room.
3. There is good social interaction between the guests, The Monmouth has some nice friendly people staying there.
4. Our accommodation (wooden bungalow in the grounds with rocking chairs) was pleasant and cool.

Overall, the negatives far outweighed the positives though, and we were left feeling quite disappointed.

Room Tip: Ring ahead to check there's not a wedding being held! Avoid breakfast.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank dkveg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

We stopped for only one night before we started driving the Natchez Trace. Decided on Monmouth given its ratings. Would have been better off in one of the chain hotels closer to river and downtown. Location of hotel is not convenient to most attractions in Natchez. King room was comfortable, very clean and we had a good sleep. Room was worn however, with even some paint starting to bubble and crack. Absolutely the minimum lighting in room itself, bathroom lighting was okay. Parking and pathways are not paved so tendency to get mud on shoes and luggage wheels. Breakfast was in large hall room with poor ambiance even though they tried with white table clothes etc. Breakfast selection was poor compared to what available in chain hotels. Could not take advantage of dinner in the hotel's reputable dinning restaurant as all we had were are traveling clothes and we did not pack "business casual".

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FirstClassPax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancy R, Owner at Monmouth Historic Inn & Gardens Natchez, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2013

I am so sorry Monmouth did not reach your expectations. You did indeed stay at the wrong hotel.
Monmouth is an experience not just a stopover. You mentioned that you were not near the attractions of Natchez and you were staying in one of the most famous attractions of all. We are a National Historic Landmark. I do hope you took our tour included in your room price. I also hope you walk our beautiful gardens and ponds.
I do not know what to say about breakfast. We include a great Southern Breakfast with grits, eggs anyway, sausage and bacon or ham and wonderful homemade biscuits. We also offer a cold bar with homemade granola, yogurt and fresh fruit and juices to enjoy before.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

As many other reviewers have observed, Monmouth is close to perfection. Therefore it is unfortunate that I can only rate it 4 star.
The flaw, and loss of a star, relates to probably the worst service experience I have ever encountered in 50 years of travel to over 100 countries. I discussed the particularly malevolent server responsible with the owner, Nancy, who listened carefully and apologised. It is to be hoped that corrective action will prevent a recurrence which would undermine the hotel's reputation.
Apart from this, Monmouth has charming staff, beautiful grounds and accommodation (in room 46 complete with 4 poster bed) to match.
There are plans to install safe boxes in the rooms and perhaps a pool, which would make the property even more delightful.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank afcok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Stayed three nights here in early July and it was a great choice for Natchez. The Inn is a old pre-Civil War house with beautiful gardens and quaint cottages scattered amongst the grounds. We had a large cottage near the main house with a porch overlooking a small lake. It was idyllic! Four poster bed, two wash basins, separate bath and shower. The house is historic of course and you receive a free tour. The restaurant 1816 is pricey but very elegant in the main house dining room - good service and fine food (which is not always easy to get in Southern USA with the love of fast food). The resort is a short distance outside town but well placed for visiting other houses which are numerous. Natchez is a lovely town, very quiet and historic. Try the horse drawn carriage tour just $15 for over an hour with very knowledgeable and funny guide. Not many decent restaurants - portions too large and covered with ubiquitous sauces. Magnolia Grill down on the river side was best of the bunch. Nearby Vicksburg well worth visiting if you are interested in the Civil War - well kept monumental park and battlefield. A word finally for the staff at Monmouth - nothing was too much trouble, very nice people, homely and proud of thier town and hotel. Would highly recommend Monmouth, it was the highlight of our Southern road tour.

Room Tip: Go for a garden cottage nearest the house with four poster bed.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scrummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Monmouth Plantation was an oasis for us. Quiet, relaxing, beautiful rooms, friendly and welcoming hosts. Next time I will stay longer. We stayed in a cottage off by itself by a little pond. Beds were super comfortable, rooms were spacious and beautiful decorated. I felt I had gone back in time.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank martha s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancy R, Owner at Monmouth Historic Inn & Gardens Natchez, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2013

Than you for your wonderful review. Our guests love to spend time here walking the gardens and sitting by the ponds especially after a day of touring Natchez.

Thank you for choosing Monmouth.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews