We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Flawed perfection” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Monmouth Historic Inn Natchez

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Monmouth Historic Inn Natchez
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Natchez
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
162 reviews
140 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
“Flawed perfection”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

As many other reviewers have observed, Monmouth is close to perfection. Therefore it is unfortunate that I can only rate it 4 star.
The flaw, and loss of a star, relates to probably the worst service experience I have ever encountered in 50 years of travel to over 100 countries. I discussed the particularly malevolent server responsible with the owner, Nancy, who listened carefully and apologised. It is to be hoped that corrective action will prevent a recurrence which would undermine the hotel's reputation.
Apart from this, Monmouth has charming staff, beautiful grounds and accommodation (in room 46 complete with 4 poster bed) to match.
There are plans to install safe boxes in the rooms and perhaps a pool, which would make the property even more delightful.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank afcok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

624 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    454
    101
    39
    16
    14
See reviews for
73
372
15
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester,England
Level Contributor
114 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Stayed three nights here in early July and it was a great choice for Natchez. The Inn is a old pre-Civil War house with beautiful gardens and quaint cottages scattered amongst the grounds. We had a large cottage near the main house with a porch overlooking a small lake. It was idyllic! Four poster bed, two wash basins, separate bath and shower. The house is historic of course and you receive a free tour. The restaurant 1816 is pricey but very elegant in the main house dining room - good service and fine food (which is not always easy to get in Southern USA with the love of fast food). The resort is a short distance outside town but well placed for visiting other houses which are numerous. Natchez is a lovely town, very quiet and historic. Try the horse drawn carriage tour just $15 for over an hour with very knowledgeable and funny guide. Not many decent restaurants - portions too large and covered with ubiquitous sauces. Magnolia Grill down on the river side was best of the bunch. Nearby Vicksburg well worth visiting if you are interested in the Civil War - well kept monumental park and battlefield. A word finally for the staff at Monmouth - nothing was too much trouble, very nice people, homely and proud of thier town and hotel. Would highly recommend Monmouth, it was the highlight of our Southern road tour.

Room Tip: Go for a garden cottage nearest the house with four poster bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scrummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Monmouth Plantation was an oasis for us. Quiet, relaxing, beautiful rooms, friendly and welcoming hosts. Next time I will stay longer. We stayed in a cottage off by itself by a little pond. Beds were super comfortable, rooms were spacious and beautiful decorated. I felt I had gone back in time.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank martha s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancy R, Owner at Monmouth Historic Inn Natchez, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Than you for your wonderful review. Our guests love to spend time here walking the gardens and sitting by the ponds especially after a day of touring Natchez.

Thank you for choosing Monmouth.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Beautiful old opulent hotel.We stayed here one night and it was faultless.The main building has been superbly restored and the furnishings are grand. We had a little timber cottage on the property to stay in which was great. The gardens are beautifully manicured even had a lake which added to the peaceful surroundings.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Judytripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shreveport, Louisiana
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We stayed at the plantation after one night at a downtown hotel that was not very good. We have been all through the homes from Louisiana to the Carolinas.
We stayed in one of the cottages and it was homey and beautiful . Check in was a breeze and the
House and grounds oozed of days gone by. George the bartender was great
and very proud of his city. We fell in love with Natchez and it is everything Charlseton is, just smaller. We would give it 41/2 stars only due because the breakfast was fair and the one waiter was overworked. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Melinda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, AZ
Level Contributor
51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

My wife and I recently spent two nights at the Monmouth Plantation In Natchez and we loved it. The staff was extremely helpful and friendly, the accommodations first rate, there is a formal dining room as well as casual dining, and a sumptuous hot and cold breakfast is served every morning. The grounds are spectacular and it's located very close to the shops and restaurants downtown. The owner, Nancy, is available to talk to and we enjoyed a cocktail and dinner with her for one of our dinners.

Room Tip: All rooms are off the highway and very peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hkern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
1,854 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,285 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Monmouth Plantation in Natchez must be what Tara was in the classic movie of the Old South, Gone With The Wind. We have stayed at Monmouth on two occasions, most recently for three days in Eliza's suite that features a large bedroom, large parlor and two baths on the second floor. Eat your heart out, Scarlett O'Hara. Monmouth has changed quite a bit since our last stay. The new owners have added the very posh 1818 restaurant, perhaps the best dining experience in Natchez. There are more rooms and a very expansive breakfast facility that is separate from the Big House. During our visit, a large contingent of English tourists stopped for a night, dinner and breakfast. Monmouth is close to all of the exciting attractions in Natchez. It includes wonderful gardens. Roosevelt tends bar from 3 to 10. Visitors enjoy drinks and snacks prior to dinner. Breakfast is tasty and plentiful. Even the grits taste good. Monmouth dates to the early 1800s and is the grande dame of the antebellum mansions that cover the landscape. If you have to pick one place to stay for one night or three, Monmouth is your best bet.

Room Tip: If you are looking for Clark Gable/Scarlett O'Hara luxury, choose Eliza's Suite. You can fin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Taylor B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Natchez hotels
1.3 mi away
Natchez Grand Hotel
Natchez Grand Hotel
#4 of 16 in Natchez
4.0 of 5 stars 507 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Vue
Hotel Vue
#6 of 16 in Natchez
4.0 of 5 stars 272 reviews
0.9 mi away
Dunleith
Dunleith
#3 of 16 in Natchez
4.5 of 5 stars 219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Natchez
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Natchez South
0.0 mi away
Magnolia Bluffs Casino Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monmouth Historic Inn Natchez? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monmouth Historic Inn Natchez

Property: Monmouth Historic Inn Natchez
Address: 1358 John a Quitman Blvd, Natchez, MS 39120-5077
Location: United States > Mississippi > Natchez
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Natchez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Monmouth Historic Inn Natchez 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Monmouth Historic Inn & Gardens was built in 1818, and is a National Historic Landmark. As a charter member of Southern Living's Hotel Collection, Monmouth is the perfect choice for travelers seeking an authentic southern travel experience. Wake up each morning to the aroma of a full Southern style breakfast, then take a tour of the magnificent mansion before exploring the grounds and all 26 beautifully landscaped acres. As the sun sets on the picturesque surroundings, relax on the veranda with a Mint Julep and complimentary hors d'oeuvres. In the evening, enjoy fine dining at the award winning "Restaurant 1818" in the antebellum home. As the end of the day draws near, retire to one of the 16 luxury suites or 14 elegantly appointed rooms, where a turned down bed and sweet dreams await! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Monmouth Historic Inn Natchez reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monmouth Plantation Natchez Hotel Natchez

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing