We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“what about feeling like scarlett o'hara”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Monmouth Historic Inn & Gardens Natchez
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Natchez
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Pros - The main house and sourrounding gardens are spectacular.We took the morning guided tour and the guide tried to take us back to the time of those antebellum mansions. My husband and I stayed in a confortable cottage beautifully furnished with a porch where we could go relax in two super confortable rocking chairs sorronded by green gardens and big oak trees. The breakfast was perfect specially the place where it was served. The gentlemen that helped us with our luggage was very helpfull and the only one who really welcomed us.
Cons - When we arrived everything was a caos and I may say there was no welcome at all. If it weren't for the gentlement who helped us the recepcionist were not attentious at all. They didn't even inform us there was going to be served a kind of hors d'oeuvres arond 7pm. Just gave us a Key and an envelope with nothing inside. Nice place but rather expensive and there are other plantations equally lovely much more friendly

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mtemaximo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (705)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

353 - 359 of 705 reviews

Reviewed May 11, 2013

My wife and I recently spent a weekend in Natchez and chose to stay at the Monmouth Historic Inn. We had the "romance package" which included 2 nights stay, 2 breakfasts, champagne and chocolate covered strawberries in the room, and dinner one night in their 1818 Restaurant. We also chose to upgrade our room to an antebellum room in the main house

Our stay was wonderful. The room was beautiful with antique furnishings, the food was great--especially dinner. They brought the champagne and berries, as I requested, while we were gone on a bike ride so we had a nice treat when we got home.

The inn has multiple additional buildings with other rooms. Most of these buildings have been reconstructed. The size of Monmouth and how they run it makes it feel more like a historic hotel then an intimate B&B but this was not an issue. Breakfast was in the garden room and with individual table service rather than scheduled B&B style service at a big table as we have had in other plantations. Breakfast choices were a southern breakfast (grits) or stuffed French toast. They had fruit and granola as well. Dinner was a stellar 5 course meal with great choices for each course. The 1818 Restaurant was in the main house.

The gardens are beautiful and were nice to explore. Monmouth sits about 1-2 miles from the downtown and river area though is still in town. It is also about 1 mile from the start of the Natchez Trace which provides a great place go for a bike ride or drive. It's very easy to ride your bike to the trace.

Staying at Monmouth was not an inexpensive weekend but we choose to stay in the main house and upgrade the package. It was a great experience and would definitely recommend it to anyone wanting a romantic weekend in a beautiful antebellum mansion!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelingGnome66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

We booked a room on the second floor of the main building. The climb was too steep so the staff moved us to one of the cottages. The cottage is nicely furnished with a large front porch with rocking chairs. It was a very comfortable place to return after a long day of sightseeing around Natchez. The inn is a bit pricey and only makes sense if one is to stay more than one day in the Natchez area. The inn serves a very nice southern style breakfast. It also offers afternoon cocktails with a limited selection of appetizers and fairly expensive drinks. The staff was congenial and helpful. The main drawback to our cottage was the bathroom. An oversized spa type bathtub dominates the bathroom. The shower is narrow. The spa tub looked difficult to get in and out of - so we used the shower. We did take the morning tour of the inn and learned about the origins of the plantation home. Overall, a nice stay.

Room Tip: Cottages are relatively secluded and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paristodc50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

We just spent 1 night at Monmouth in May on a tour through LA, MS, and AL.

The entire hotel is absolutely gorgeous. The staff is amazing, the rooms are comfortable and unique, and the breakfast (we didn’t eat dinner), and drinks were perfect!

If you go, make sure you take a bit of time to walk around the grounds. Also make sure to go to happy hour to meet Roosevelt! He was so friendly and makes an amazing mint julep!

Would definitely recommend to anyone traveling in the area!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jacob D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed at the main house and loved the well preserved athmosphere of older times, without compromising on the quality of the bathroom and the wifi connection ;)

John Quitman's bed (room 22) was large enough for two tall dutchies, the matrass was a bit sagged, but we didn't mind.
Both breakfast and dinner in the lounge were great quality just like the cocktails !
Monmouth is a perfect place to rest and relax and enjoying a bit of history.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wendydesign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Monmouth Plantation
We were very comfortable. The room was big, the bathroom large and clean. The garden, or shall I say the gardens simply magnificent. Our breakfast was excellent. M-mm, nobody can make biscuits like they do it down South!
I am taking a point off for peeling paint.
Great place to stay!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gregory Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013

We stayed at Monmouth Plantation as part of a 15 night tour of the Southern US states. The team in the bar and restaurant were fantastic, the room was beautiful and the setting was fantastic. We arrived late afternoon and enjoyed drinks in the courtyard as the sun set. We ate in, and dinner was delicious, the waiting staff were very attentive.
What let this visit down was the very disappointing attitude of the reception team when we had a problem. Staff don't stay on the property 24 hours, so when we woke early in the morning to continue our trip and couldn't open our bathroom door, we had to wait for over an hour and a half before we were able to gain access. Our door had somehow locked itself overnight, and the delay in gaining access to the bathroom affected our timetable for that day's journey quite severely.
However, in an old property these things can happen, unfortunately the reception team when we came to check out made no effort to compensate us for this inconvenience in any way - they refused to give us any money back, not even covering the cost of 4 drinks we bought when we arrived, claiming that they didn't have the authority and that the duty manager wouldn't be in until later that day. We asked for the duty manager to call us when they got in, but no phone call was forthcoming. This really put a damper on the whole experience. In summary - great if everything goes well, but if something goes wrong, don't expect any help from this team. Not what we expected from a 4+ star property; I won't be recommending this place to any of my friends or family.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Natchez hotels
0.8 mi away
Dunleith
Dunleith
#6 of 17 in Natchez
260 reviews
1.3 mi away
Natchez Grand Hotel
Natchez Grand Hotel
#4 of 17 in Natchez
642 reviews
1.3 mi away
Starlings Rest
Starlings Rest
#3 of 17 in Natchez
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Magnolia Bluffs Casino Hotel
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Natchez
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Natchez South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monmouth Historic Inn & Gardens Natchez? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monmouth Historic Inn & Gardens Natchez

Address: 1358 John A Quitman Blvd, Natchez, MS 39120-5077
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Mississippi > Natchez
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Natchez
Price Range: $211 - $314 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Monmouth Historic Inn & Gardens Natchez 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Monmouth Historic Inn & Gardens was built in 1818, and is a National Historic Landmark. As a charter member of Southern Living's Hotel Collection, Monmouth is the perfect choice for travelers seeking an authentic southern travel experience. Wake up each morning to the aroma of a full Southern style breakfast, then take a tour of the magnificent mansion before exploring the grounds and all 26 beautifully landscaped acres. As the sun sets on the picturesque surroundings, relax on the veranda with a Mint Julep and complimentary hors d'oeuvres. In the evening, enjoy fine dining at the award winning "Restaurant 1818" in the antebellum home. As the end of the day draws near, retire to one of the 16 luxury suites or 14 elegantly appointed rooms, where a private bath, turned down bed, and sweet dreams await! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Monmouth Historic Inn & Gardens Natchez reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monmouth Plantation Natchez Hotel Natchez

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing