We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Best B & B in Natchez” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Historic Oak Hill Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Natchez
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Historic Oak Hill Inn
Ranked #2 of 41 Natchez B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
San Antonio
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Best B & B in Natchez”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2009

Myself, my mother, aunts, cousin, sister-in-law and grandmother stayed last weekend for a fabulous "girls trip." Our hosts were so gracious and accomidating. They made us feel right at home. The rooms were beautifully decorated and comfortable at the same time. What a wonderful way to reconnect with family and recharge in such a beautiful, lush atmosphere. Oh, and the breakfast alone was worth our 6 hour drive!!

Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank SpiffyTiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

914 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    903
    9
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
132
519
26
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Louisiana
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2009

Two friends and I stayed at Oak Hill Inn last weekend for a girls trip.  I had the task of arranging the accommodations.  From start to finish, everything about Oak Hill Inn was fabulous.  Doug was very friendly and helpful as I planned the trip.  He was a suberb host and always had an interesting story to tell.  He made great suggestions about things to see and do while in town.  His recommendation of dinner at The Elms was exceptional.  Breakfast at Oak Hill Inn surpassed its billing.  Don did a great job in the kitchen.  My friends and I agreed that we would love to stay at Oak Hill Inn when in Natchez in future.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kimcupdun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2009

We visited here with another family in late July 2009. We had 4 adults and 3 children (well behaved,, ages 10, 10, and 8). We took the whole home (3BR, 2BA). Since we had the entire home, it was like it was ours. There are some rooms off limits (except during the tour), and that was OK with us. We loved the cookies and lemonade upon entering the home. The owners were very hospitable, allowing us privacy, but not being far away for any special needs. The downstairs bedroom is the one to have for adults. Queen/King 4 poster bed (nice size and comfortable), plus a great spacious bathroom with a unique full room shower. In room refrig stocked with waters and soft drinks (free). The upstairs bedroom nice too, but the one downstairs is the one I would recommend.

The breakfast is tasty, with many options...Please note,, if you have any special requests (grits, sweet rolls, etc.), please advise the owners. It was not until we checked out that we knew we had -options- for different breakfast entrees.

The grounds at Oak Hill in impeccable shape. Wonderful flowers, gardens, and just a very commfy home. Antiques in the home, and a relaxing library and front porch.

We only spent 1 night (on way to Seaside FL), but could have spent 2. We were there mid week, booked it last minute (1 week notice) and paid about 375.00 for the home, incl breakfast. Free wireless internet

If coming back to Natchez, we would stay at Oak Hill again.

Mark E

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kctraveler99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, Calif
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2009

The Historic Beauty, the exquisite breakfast, the gorgeous antiques and hospitality of the owners of Oak Hill make this one of the most relaxing, yet educational vacations I have ever had.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 1stream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruston, LA
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2009

My husband and I stayed here to celebrate our 20th anniversary. We found Oak Hill on the internet and read the reviews. Thought it would be nice to try it. Little did we know what a "jewel" we would find when we arrived. Everything was so beautiful! Southern hospitality at its finest! The cookies were delicious, I wish I had asked Doug for the recipe. Our room was so beautiful and the antique furnishings were gorgeous!!!! We visited with our housemates and they were so nice. This was our first trip to Natchez, and our first B&B. We were not disappointed. This was the best!!! We are planning to make a return visit with our daughter and son-in-law. If you are looking for a B&B that's quiet and relaxing, at a reasonable rate, you should try Oak Hill. We are certainly glad we did.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jhamm54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, ms
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2009

My husband and I stayed here for two nights for our 11th anniversary. Doug was so great. There was freshed baked cookies waiting on us and tea. The room was so great. The house was so nice. We loved sitting on the front porch. It was so romantic. Loved the tour of the house. Doug had great stories about the stuff he had and wow what a great guy. This is our second time to stay at a bed and breakfast and this is our favorite place. We felt so welcomed there and Doug had great tips on where to go and what to do. The breakfast was so great. They really know how to make your stay very special. You will not go wrong staying here.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rachtolbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2009

This is a delightful place, conveniently located. It's an easy walk through town to the river, with many beautiful homes and businesses along the way. (Natchez is best seen on foot.) The accommodations are wonderful. Everything is extremely clean and the proprietors are so attentive and pleasant. And one of the best breakfasts I have ever had. The home is very authentic and beautiful (nothing tacky in the whole place; a feat in the B&B world). The back courtyard is amazing; I'd want to sit back there and sip iced tea all afternoon. Overall: fantastic.

  • Stayed July 2009
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vonramsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Natchez hotels
1.0 mi away
Monmouth Historic Inn Natchez
0.5 mi away
Natchez Grand Hotel
Natchez Grand Hotel
#3 of 16 in Natchez
4.0 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Vue
Hotel Vue
#8 of 16 in Natchez
4.0 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Stone House Musical B&B
Stone House Musical B&B
#1 of 41 in Natchez
5.0 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
0.8 mi away
Devereaux Shields House
Devereaux Shields House
#4 of 41 in Natchez
5.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
1.2 mi away
Linden Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Historic Oak Hill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic Oak Hill Inn

Property: Historic Oak Hill Inn
Address: 409 S Rankin St, Natchez, MS 39120-3585
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Mississippi > Natchez
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Natchez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautifully restored antebellum home built in 1835. Oak hill sits on a beautiful acre of gardens ans fountains in the historic garden district. The front of this mansion was built facing the Mississippi River for wonderful breezes. Guests can relax on the veranda or on the courtyard. A gourmet breakfast is served in the original Dining room under an 1850s Waterford crystal gasolier. Guests are greeted with homemade chocolate chip cookies iced tea and complementary soft drinks and mint juleps. Rooms are spacious and decorated with period antiques. There is a library guests can use with thousands of books, many Natchez related. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing