We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay for an anniversary!! Loved it!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Natchez
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Historic Oak Hill Inn
Ranked #2 of 40 Natchez B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Florence, ms
1 review
“Great place to stay for an anniversary!! Loved it!!”
Reviewed July 26, 2009

My husband and I stayed here for two nights for our 11th anniversary. Doug was so great. There was freshed baked cookies waiting on us and tea. The room was so great. The house was so nice. We loved sitting on the front porch. It was so romantic. Loved the tour of the house. Doug had great stories about the stuff he had and wow what a great guy. This is our second time to stay at a bed and breakfast and this is our favorite place. We felt so welcomed there and Doug had great tips on where to go and what to do. The breakfast was so great. They really know how to make your stay very special. You will not go wrong staying here.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rachtolbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

968 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    956
    10
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
144
548
27
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 26, 2009

This is a delightful place, conveniently located. It's an easy walk through town to the river, with many beautiful homes and businesses along the way. (Natchez is best seen on foot.) The accommodations are wonderful. Everything is extremely clean and the proprietors are so attentive and pleasant. And one of the best breakfasts I have ever had. The home is very authentic and beautiful (nothing tacky in the whole place; a feat in the B&B world). The back courtyard is amazing; I'd want to sit back there and sip iced tea all afternoon. Overall: fantastic.

  • Stayed July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vonramsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
1 review
Reviewed July 22, 2009

All the glowing reviews you read about Oak Hill Inn are true! My mom and I stopped in Natchez on a cross-country trip, remembering all the beautiful homes and gardens that we saw there in earlier trips in the 1970's and early 80's when my dad was still alive. I wanted to make this revisiting of Natchez a special experience for my mom so I researched the options thoroughly, and settled on Oak Hill Inn. The stay could not have been better. The house, grounds, and hospitality of the hosts were all impeccable. They gave us sterling recommendations of what to see and where to dine, and following a delicious breakfast we were treated to the most in-depth and fascinating home tour of our entire trip. Do not miss the tour! The beauty and history/meaning behind the objects d'art are truly remarkable. Thank you for a wonderful experience that my mom and I treasure deeply.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank operamark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, MS
1 review
Reviewed July 14, 2009

Doug met us in the parking garage and offered to carry our luggage. He had fresh iced tea ready for us and fresh baked cookies. Our room was gorgeous and very, very comfortable. Didn't realize until the next morning that those pillows that felt so nice and cool were special pillows called chillows. Doug had a list of places to visit within a short distance. The breakfast was one of the best things about the stay. Leaving was the worse thing.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MotorcycleCites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississippi
1 review
Reviewed July 13, 2009

The owners were very concerned about your comfort and well educated on the history of the city. The gourmet breakfast was wonderful.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank randalwes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, MS
2 reviews
Reviewed July 12, 2009

My best friend and I spent a night at Oak Hill to get away and relax. We wish we could have spent at least one more night and would love to go back again to spend more time sitting on the front porch overlooking the quiet street or on the back porch by the fountain. Doug was a perfect host, greeting us with some truly delicious iced tea and cookies and carrying our bags upstairs to our room. Our room had two beds and plenty of space, with a bathroom just outside the door. Everything was spotlessly clean and inviting.
The next morning we went down for a beautiful breakfast of Eggs Benedict, cheese crepes, fresh muffins, and melon with sweet figs picked from the back yard. Everything was delicious and perfectly presented on antique china. After breakfast, Doug took us on a fascinating tour of the house, answering any questions and entertaining us with the history of the town, the house and his great aunt's antiques, which fill the house. It was clear Doug and Don take great pride in their home and love sharing it. Perfect hospitality!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Madison09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2009

What a lovely home, and fabulous hosts. Doug and Don went way beyond our expectations, greeting us with cold iced tea and fresh chocolate cookies, then carried our bags to the most wonderful room- cozy yet decorated in the period of the house. The house and porches are meticulously maintained- with lovely places to relax both inside and out. Secure, off-street parking next to a beautifully landscaped back patio area made us feel we'd chosen wisely as soon as we arrived.

The breakfast- you'll have to experience it to believe it. It alone was worth the price of our stay. Eggs benedict, raspberry cream crepe, fresh homemade muffins, and more- all served on period china. Coffee available early for those who can't sleep in. We were still talking about that breakfast a week later.

The after-breakfast tour of the home is just fabulous. So many interesting stories of the antiques in the home- it is obvious that it was furnished with loving attention to the detail of the period.

Overall, Doug and Don are the consummate hosts- you will do no better than the Oak Hill Inn when visiting lovely Natchez, MS.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravellingTexan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Natchez hotels
0.9 mi away
Starlings Natchez
Starlings Natchez
#3 of 17 in Natchez
203 reviews
1.0 mi away
Monmouth Historic Inn & Gardens Natchez
0.5 mi away
Natchez Grand Hotel
Natchez Grand Hotel
#4 of 17 in Natchez
621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Dunleith
Dunleith
#6 of 17 in Natchez
252 reviews
0.2 mi away
Stone House Musical B&B
Stone House Musical B&B
#1 of 40 in Natchez
488 reviews
0.8 mi away
Devereaux Shields House
Devereaux Shields House
#4 of 40 in Natchez
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Historic Oak Hill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic Oak Hill Inn

Property: Historic Oak Hill Inn
Address: 409 S Rankin St, Natchez, MS 39120-3585
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Mississippi > Natchez
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Natchez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautifully restored antebellum home built in 1835. Oak hill sits on a beautiful acre of gardens ans fountains in the historic garden district. The front of this mansion was built facing the Mississippi River for wonderful breezes. Guests can relax on the veranda or on the courtyard. A gourmet breakfast is served in the original Dining room under an 1850s Waterford crystal gasolier. Guests are greeted with homemade chocolate chip cookies iced tea and complementary soft drinks and mint juleps. Rooms are spacious and decorated with period antiques. There is a library guests can use with thousands of books, many Natchez related. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing