We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oak Hill is a Keeper”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Natchez
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Historic Oak Hill Inn
Ranked #2 of 40 Natchez B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Fairhope, Alabama
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Oak Hill is a Keeper”
Reviewed July 28, 2008

One of our top B&B finds ever. A lovely, intimate, thoughtfully restored property that gives the antebellum home experience along with the personal attention that makes it seem like staying with old friends. We stayed three nights in the beautifully appointed, antique-filled ground floor Beatty suite and enjoyed every minute of it. This B&B is perfect for the first time Natchez visitor (like we were) because the personable owner/host is on site and eagerly gives advice on restaurants, what house tours are a must, shopping and other sights. Awesome breakfasts (in quality, quantity and variety) beautifully served in the formal dining room. Leisurely breakfast conversation with other guests and our host made a great start to our busy days of sightseeing. The inn's location on a quiet street at the edge of downtown makes for an easy walk to many of the home tours and restaurants.

  • Liked — Personal attention
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pandgtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

977 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    965
    10
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
149
551
28
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2008

The house is gorgeous, yet not stuffy. You can feel comfortable here.
When you arrive, you will be greeted with yummy chocolate chip cookies and cold iced tea. Doug will answer any questions you have. He is very knowlegeable of the area. Then you can sit on the front porch or perhaps you'll choose to sit in the back near the sound of the waterfall (fountain). Sleep soundly in your comfortable bed and wake up to the aroma of a delicious breakfast each morning....more than anyone could eat !
Then enjoy your day.

We would definitely stay here again.

  • Liked — breakfast in the gorgeous dining room
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank readteach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snellville, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 25, 2008

Over the years, we have visited many B&Bs across the USA, several providing pleasant surroundings and decent food. However, never have we been treated as generously and warmly as we were at Natchez Historic Oak Hill Inn in Natchez, Mississippi. We stayed at Oak Hill Inn, a lovely antebellum house, for four days in July 2008, experiencing a delightfully relaxing time in this home which is filled with antiques and other personal treasures belonging to the proprietors who also live on site. The Inn provides up-to-date amenities that enable visitors to remain in touch with the outside world, while also being immersed in the history of Natchez.

We were warmly greeted by one of the owners, who insisted on carrying our luggage from the car to the house ~ and, again, upon readying ourselves for leaving, our luggage was taken from the house and placed in the car by one of the owners.

Our room, the Beatty Suite (named after the builder of the house), was a large space with high ceilings, a fireplace, a beautifully adorned and very comfortable antique queen-size half tester bed, many other period pieces, beautiful fresh flower arrangements, two closets for hanging garments, one of which housed a small refrigerator containing a variety of (complimentary) soft drinks and bottled water, as well as an iron and ironing board. There was also a flat screen satellite TV and numerous other decorative items in the suite that helped make it cozy and attractive. A picture of part of this suite can be seen on the Inn's website. The private bathroom has a granite surround, walk-in shower with a rainfall shower head and a vanity sink and mirror that look as if they could always have been part of the house. The primary entrance to this first-floor suite is just off the main hallway and there is also a private access door to the Inn's library which contains many books and works of art of special interest, in addition to the beautiful period furniture.

Some of the best breakfast food we have ever eaten during our travels throughout the United States and Europe was enjoyed by us at Oak Hill Inn, all of which was served on fine china, crystal and silver. Coffee and tea were available each morning at 7:30 A.M. Breakfast was served at 8:30 A.M. The dining table was adorned each day with freshly-cut flowers from the beautifully kept gardens surrounding this home. There were fresh figs, also from the owners' gardens, which were a part of the daily fresh fruit cup. A full breakfast was prepared and offered each day. All of the food was scrumptious, the service impeccable and the menu varied each day. Although it was difficult for us to select our "favorite" breakfast food which was served, the outstanding creme brulee French toast was "out of sight." Throughout the day, the owners' special iced tea blend, along with their delicious home-made cookies, were available to guests.

After breakfast each morning, new guests were offered a tour of the Inn by one of the owners. The tour was replete with information about the furnishings and the history of the Inn. The owners are also extremely knowledgeable with regard to the history of Natchez and what may be of interest to visitors to "do and see" in the area.

What seemed to us to be the ultimate hallmark offering of this B&B are the owners' attention to every detail ~ not just to the Inn's cleanliness, proper maintenance and upkeep, but to every other aspect of their home ~ including their unobtrusive way of helping each guest feel perfectly at ease and "at home" in such grand, but still "homey", surroundings. If you like what we describe as "casual elegance", you should enjoy staying at the Natchez Historic Oak Hill Inn ~ which offers great value at extremely reasonable rates. In our view, Oak Hill Inn is "FIVE-STAR" in every way! We have already made reservations for a return visit to Oak Hill Inn during the Natchez Spring Pilgrimage in 2009, at which time we will be staying for a week.

Barry L. Homan and Bailey Conaway, Snellville, Georgia

  • Liked — Everything!
  • Disliked — There was nothing we did not like.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank BARBAITRAVELERS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2008

Stayed at Oak Hill B&B during a celebration of our silver anniversary. Could hardly have made a better choice! We stayed in one of the upstairs rooms for $100 (plus tax) a night. The room included air conditioning, satellite TV, a shared full bath (since we were the only ones upstairs, this caused no problems), and GLORIOUS period-type furniture. Free amenities include soft drinks at any time, cookies, local calls, covered parking, a guided tour of the house (with its period decorations), and a freshly-made, full breakfast. You can relax on the well-manicured grounds, read in the well-equipped library, or just stay in the bedroom.

The owner was quite helpful to our late arrival (we got stuck in horrendous traffic) and to any guidance we needed for seeing the city. He seemed genuinely interested in historic preservation and restoration. He made us feel as if we were welcome guests in his home, not just customers for his business.

  • Liked — Genuine warmth of host
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RabePaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shepherd, Michigan
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2008

After horrible weather delayed my picking up my friend from the Jackson Airport, we arrived at Oak Hill around midnight. Doug could not have been more gracious and we quickly got settled in for the night. We were the only ones there that night so it was quiet. House is wonderfully restored and antiques are from his family. Breakfast was great!

The only complaint is the placement of the air-conditioner in the 'blue room'-- it is right over the bed. But hey! stay in another room!

Overall, I hope to visit again.

  • Liked — Peaceful place to stay
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank eppy63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisiana
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2008

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Oak Hill. The house was beautifully restored, the host gracious and accommodating, the homemade cookies and breakfasts delightful (Creme brulee' French toast?!) and the location convenient to town. We loved walking through the neighborhood to town and sitting on the front porch enjoying the breeze. We very much enjoyed our hosts and are happy to recommend this bed and breakfast to anyone headed to Natchez.

  • Liked — Location and hospitality
  • Disliked — bathroom
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WanderingBella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denber
1 review
Reviewed June 7, 2008

Our stay at your lovely B&B was more then we expected. Not only is your B&B lovely and full of beautiful antiques, but you are all gracious hosts. We truly appreciated all the little details like cookies in the evening, sharing a glass of wine with us, fine table service for breakfast that was exceptional! You also provide us with helpful information about Natchez, great places to dine, and many interesting facts and historical tidbits. By far we enjoyed our stay with you then any other place we stayed at and I must say that includes Monmouth. We would recommend your B&B to anyone with a 5 star rating for ambience, friendliness and gourmet food. Thanks for making a short trip to Natchez and memorable trip.



A special thanks for bearing with us for the really late arrival and the gracious greeting when we finally got to Natchez.

  • Liked — Friendlyness of the owners
  • Disliked — What's not to like - only that our stay was short
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sahinds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Natchez hotels
0.9 mi away
Starlings Natchez
Starlings Natchez
#2 of 17 in Natchez
209 reviews
1.0 mi away
Monmouth Historic Inn & Gardens Natchez
0.5 mi away
Natchez Grand Hotel
Natchez Grand Hotel
#4 of 17 in Natchez
629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Dunleith
Dunleith
#6 of 17 in Natchez
257 reviews
0.2 mi away
Stone House Musical B&B
Stone House Musical B&B
#1 of 40 in Natchez
489 reviews
0.8 mi away
Devereaux Shields House
Devereaux Shields House
#4 of 40 in Natchez
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Historic Oak Hill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic Oak Hill Inn

Property: Historic Oak Hill Inn
Address: 409 S Rankin St, Natchez, MS 39120-3585
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Mississippi > Natchez
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Natchez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautifully restored antebellum home built in 1835. Oak hill sits on a beautiful acre of gardens ans fountains in the historic garden district. The front of this mansion was built facing the Mississippi River for wonderful breezes. Guests can relax on the veranda or on the courtyard. A gourmet breakfast is served in the original Dining room under an 1850s Waterford crystal gasolier. Guests are greeted with homemade chocolate chip cookies iced tea and complementary soft drinks and mint juleps. Rooms are spacious and decorated with period antiques. There is a library guests can use with thousands of books, many Natchez related. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing