We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous & gracious!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Natchez
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Historic Oak Hill Inn
Ranked #1 of 41 Natchez B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 18, 2013

We were transported to another era where the finest of furnishings and true Southern Hospitality were the order of the day. Doug and Don were thoughtful hosts, from assisting us with our luggage to the home baked chocolate cookies and beverages awaiting us upon our arrival. When our mint juleps were served on the veranda, each was presented on its own little silver tray with a fresh flower!
Our breakfast the following morning was a culninary delight, topped only by the charming tour of the house and its many treasures that followed it. I hope to return!

Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
Thank rampchic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,017)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

620 - 626 of 1,017 reviews

Reviewed April 16, 2013

From the moment we pulled into the covered parking on property Doug and Don were the perfect hosts. They immediately welcomed us into their home, carrying our bags to our room, offering us beverages (the mint julep was a great touch of southern hospitality), and generally putting us at ease. As others have mentioned Doug gave us a tour of their home with detailed information on its 178 year history.
Their home has been lovingly restored with period antiques. The landscaping, flowers, crape myrtles, etc are Old South perfection. We especially enjoyed sitting on the front porch in rocking chairs, gas light gently flickering, watching the sun set, and listening to the church bells ringing in the distance. Peace and solitude just as it would have been 130 years ago.
Breakfast was fantastic -- prepared by someone (Doug) who obviously has a gift for, and enjoys cooking. Baked eggs creole, sausage, fresh melon balls, made from scratch croissants, banana nut muffins, orange juice, -- a delicious, generous meal to begin a day of touring historic Natchez, the Trace, or just kicking back and enjoying the flavor of the Old South.
The upstairs room was spacious, impeccably clean, and the bed was very comfortable. Linens, towels, and provided toiletries were tops.
A most excellent lodging experience that I highly recommend.
Terry & Jane
Fayetteville, GA

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Terry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

A delightful time was had by the four of us who spent a Saturday night at Oak Hill. The mint julep on the porch was perfection, as was the home itself. Our hosts were gracious, accomodating and informative. Breakfast Sunday morning was as good, if not better, than any 5 star restaurant - eggs benedict, bread pudding, fresh pineapple, etc, all served on antique china in a beautifully appointed, period dining room. I would highly recommend Oak Hill and hope to return some day in the future.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nancy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

This was a first for my husband and I at a B&B. Everything about the stay was perfection.
The hospitality was great from beginning(homemade cookies, assortment of cold drinks) to the end(a very informative tour of the historical home ) I experienced my first mint julep while sitting
outside admiring the most beautiful yard, fountain with goldfish, flowers,more than i ever expected.The breakfast (everything homemade) was served in a beautiful dining room on 1800 china.The food alone was worth the stay; alone.My husband is very simple about his food but he has not stopped talking about how wonderful his "gourmet breakfast" was. It would be hard to begin to tell someone about the delicious the food . When we were leaving a lady was delivering fresh eggs. She stopped to talk to me about her chickens. They only cook with fresh foods and you knew after the first bite!One other thing I'd like to stress is the cleanliness of the entire place from inside to outside. Our room and bathroom were immaculate. Chocolate on the night stand each night and when we came in late there was cookies and a stocked frig waiting for us . Thanks to Don and Doug for making a trip "something to write about"

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank debbie1122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

I came from British Columbia for the Spring Pilgrimage. My friends and I stayed at this most wonderful B&B. Best inn ever. Doug and Don are wonderful hosts and we got the best tour of an antebellum house. The breakfasts are a gourmet delight.
Thank you Doug and Don.

Room Tip: Every room is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DaliaL998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Another memorable visit to Natchez and the Historic Oak Hill Inn is always a main attraction. We live in New Orleans and Natchez has become our quick getaway destination. Thankfully, we found the Historic Oak Hill Inn a few years ago and what a treat. This year I called too late for a room during the Spring Pilgrimage but asked to be put on the waiting list and lucky for us, Doug (one of the owners) emailed me with an opening. We were on our way!! Upon our arrival, we were greeted by the owners, given a short tour since we had been there previously, and shown to our room. The house is just a dream and as soon as you walk in you feel at peace. Although it is furnished with beautiful antiques and period pieces, it never feels fussy or too formal to be enjoyed. We stayed in one of the two upstairs bedrooms and each room prettier than the other. Early afternoons, guests are treated with mint juleps and wine and homemade chocolate chip cookies. Since the weather was perfect, we had ours out in the garden. Other reviews will tell you about the other rooms of the house but just know that every room is accessible to the guests for their enjoyment. Each morning guests are treated to a breakfast as good or better than any you would be served in the best restaurants. The dining room is a spectacular room and our meal was served on old Paris porcelain china. At the end of breakfast, if you're lucky, the owners will join you for a little history of the Natchez, the house, and act as your travel guide with suggestions on what to do and where to go. This wasn't our first time staying at the Historic Oak Hill Inn and I know it won't be our last. The house is perfect for couples (3 couples could have the whole house) or for a girls weekend. Thanks so much, Doug and Don, for a great trip. We'll see you soon! Robin and Joey

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jldrod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Can't say enough about the wonderful Oak Hill Inn and the heart-warming innkeepers, Doug and Don! We were welcomed like family and felt at home immediately. We had the pleasure of staying for three nights in the main floor room. We planned our stay to coincide with the annual Spring Pilgrimage. The pictures of the inn portrayed on the website are exactly as we found as we walked through the door. I knew we would be in for a special treat when I personally spoke with Doug and Don on the phone to book our room. They were courteous
and efficient in assisting us with our reservations. Upon arrival we were met by the innkeepers and shown to our amazing room and given a brief tour of the home. No words can describe the
the antebellum grandeur of this lovely Natchez home filled with antiques and family treasures. It is obvious the innkeepers love what they do and the amazing historic restorations they made to Oak Hill Inn to make your stay a memorable one. Oak Hill Inn is truly a historic gem that you have to experience first hand. The gardens with a fountain, flowering azaleas, beautiful shrubs, plants, and Spanish moss in trees immediately gave you a feeling of Old Natchez. We were warmly greeted by Doug and shown to our beautiful room, fit for royalty! The room was decorated with beautiful old Paris procelain on the fireplace mantel, gorgeous oriental rugs,
antique tester bed, lovely accessories, and a huge bathhroom with a "rain forest" shower with plently of fluffy white towels and toiletries in the closet. The room was immaculate and spotless as well as the rest of the Inn. The library was filled with antiques and books, a nice room to sit and relax. The living room with its many beautiful furnishings, including a harp was unbelievable! We were offered mint juleps, which were most enjoyable while sitting on both the back garden patio and the large inviting front porch of the house. The front of the house gave you a feeling of old Natchez with his rocking chairs, gas lights, and louvered doors covering the beautiful antique door and the beautiful flora of the garden. Mint juleps were the norm and offered to guests late afternoon as well as homemade double chocolate chip cookies! I thought this was a very nice touch! Breakfast was served in the antique filled dining room, meticulously decorated with old Paris procelain, gorgeous mural on the wall, and dining table set for royalty. The breakfast served are gourmet, delicious, plentiful, and served to us as if every guest is a king and queen. Since we were there for 3 days, each breakfast was a culinary adventure! A sample of one breakfast consisted of baked Creole eggs and sausage warm pecan bread pudding, banana nut muffins, homemade yummy biscuits, fresh pineapple, fresh orange juice, homemade jams, and coffee. The portions were very generous. Others items served for the other breakfasts we enjoyed were spinach quiche, cheese and asparagus fritatta, biscuits, homemade croissants, fresh fruits, the most delicious apricot french toast, and blueberry french toast. The breakfast was more than enough to get you by until dinner.
Doug would join us at the end of breakfast to give us tips of what to do in Natchez. He was most helpful and this was a good way to interact with the inn guests. I always enjoyed this and he would share stories about the house and Natchez. Since we were there for the Spring Pilgrimage, he would give us tips about the houses in helping us decide which ones to tour.
On our final day, we got the best tour of the best house in Natchez -- the Oak Hill Inn. Doug
gave his guests a private tour of the Inn, which has been restored to its present grandeur.
The tour included wonderful stories and heirlooms from his own family and families past.
This was a real treat. Staying at Oak Hill Inn was the highlight our trip to Natchez. We loved touring the old homes and hearing about the history of each. If you plan your visit during the Spring Pilgrimage, you will be in for a special treat. I thought it was a nice touch to see the owners of the homes and to have them personally greet you and share their family history with you. We can't say enough about the Oak Hill Inn and the friendly innkeepers, Doug and Don.
They go out of their way to make your stay a memorable one. You will be very happy to stay at the beautiful Oak Hill Inn, which is walking distance to town, and in an area surrounded by antebellum homes. You will enjoy touring the lovely homes and historic churches. Our Natchez Spring Pilgrimage visit was definitely enhanced by our stay at Oak Hill Inn. It is definitely "top notch." You will not be disappointed! We came as guests and felt like family when we left!
Thank you Doug and Don. You are the best!!!
Marge and Gus

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelerWaukegan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Natchez hotels
0.9 mi away
Starlings Rest
Starlings Rest
#4 of 17 in Natchez
219 reviews
1 mi away
Monmouth Historic Inn & Gardens Natchez
0.5 mi away
Natchez Grand Hotel
Natchez Grand Hotel
#2 of 17 in Natchez
659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Stone House Musical B&B
Stone House Musical B&B
#2 of 41 in Natchez
502 reviews
0.8 mi away
Devereaux Shields House
Devereaux Shields House
#5 of 41 in Natchez
363 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bisland House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Historic Oak Hill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic Oak Hill Inn

Address: 409 S Rankin St, Natchez, MS 39120-3585
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Mississippi > Natchez
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Natchez
Price Range: $125 - $225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautifully restored antebellum home built in 1835. Oak hill sits on a beautiful acre of gardens ans fountains in the historic garden district. The front of this mansion was built facing the Mississippi River for wonderful breezes. Guests can relax on the veranda or on the courtyard. A gourmet breakfast is served in the original Dining room under an 1850s Waterford crystal gasolier. Guests are greeted with homemade chocolate chip cookies iced tea and complementary soft drinks and mint juleps. Rooms are spacious and decorated with period antiques. There is a library guests can use with thousands of books, many Natchez related. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing