We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a Great Host” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stone House Musical B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Stone House Musical B&B
Ranked #1 of 41 Natchez B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Alabama
1 review
“What a Great Host”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2008

Four ladies visited In Natchez for the Fall Pilgrimage 2008 and stayed at the Antebellum Music Room. Accommodations in the Cottage were well- appointed and immaculately clean. The breakfasts were not your usual fare and were sumptuous.
The piano concert provided by the host was magnificent and such an extraordinary treat. Any visit to Natchez will be special with a stay at the Antebellum Music Room.

  • Liked — piano concert
  • Disliked — nothing comes to mind
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank JulieRAlabama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

470 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    465
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
86
275
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Fairhope, AL
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2008

We stayed two nights at the centrally located Stone House in October 2008. Our room was the main bedroom and it was large and spotless. Our room as well as the rooms in the rest of the house were furnished with antiques common to the area and the period in which the house was built.

Mr. Stone serves a generous southern breakfast that was well received by us and the guests who were staying at the cottage behind the main house.

Mr. Stone took time to answer all of our questions about the area, things to see and places dine.

The highlite of our stay was the concert of classical music Joe Stone performed for all of the guests. He provided a brief commentary for each piece he played as well as, a discussion of music after he finished playing.

We have been staying at B&Bs for 30 years and his concert was truely an unique experience.

  • Liked — The concert of classical music.
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveZ99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pearl, MS
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2008

We were extremely happy with the two nights we spent at the Stone House Antebellum Music Room. Mr. Stone took time to talk with us about many subjects, including local history, his gallery of rare maps and prints, and the restoration process.
We stayed in the cottage behind the main house. It was quiet and private. It even included a sitting room with a piano. (One of the highlights of our visit was a private piano concert with works by Brahms, Schubert, Debussy, and others. Mr. Stone included a short commentary between the pieces, sharing interesting bits of music history and biographical information about the composers).
The breakfast was delicious and generous. Be sure to let your host know if you need coffee early or need particular amenities. He graciously provided everything we asked for.
I would particularly recommend this B & B experience to a person who needs a day or so to retreat (with or without a significant other). My husband and I felt as if our soul’s internal batteries had been recharged. I am full of creative energy!

  • Liked — Personal attention/personability of the host
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CheenaPearl_MS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muenster, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2008

My wife and I stayed one night in the wonderful little cottage beside the main house.
It was recommended to us by the Lady in the visitors center with the words „the owner does some music for his guests“. Indeed, he does, but no only this.

The accommodation is first class, perfect and clean. The Owner, Mr. Joe Stone, gave us very interesting introduction in the history of his antebellum house.
In the evening Mr. Stone, who is a very good musician, gave us a piano concert with music of different classical composers. Included was a fine glass of wine. It was a pleasure, talking with Mr. Stone after the concert!
The cooked Breakfast next morning was extraordinary and much better, than you get in a „normal“ hotel or Restaurant.
The stay was just like visiting an old friend - really great!
So if you come to Natchez: Stone House is a must !!

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank udi-ms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Missouri
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2008

Unfortunately we only had one night at this fabulous B&B. We stayed in the cottage house which was great. It was quiet and very relaxing. The A/C worked great in the sweltering Mississippi heat and we had no troubles sleeping that night! Joseph Stone has a fantastic family history and wonderful collections of pottery, maps and some ship memorabilia. The house itself is great because it's so unique and inviting. I'm only sorry that we did not get to hear Joseph play the piano for us. This is definitely the place to stay in Natchez!

Stayed June 2008
Helpful?
Thank AntebellumLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2008

We felt like driving into the nostalgia for the past on the very private site of Mr. Joseph Stone`s antebellum house in Natchez, Tn.

Very friendly hospitality, a full Southern breakfast and of course a detailed tour of the historic mansion made us welcome even though we had a baby boy with us, who loved doorknobs and mirrors.

The adjacent former kitchen cottage was our ´suite`, all furnished with period antiques.

However the setting was not all that would make us return, another highlight was a chamber piano concert by Mr. J. Stone himself. Classical music in an Antebellum Music Room - we will cherish our memory of a very special wedding anniversary. Thank you.

In the stirring experience of historical Natchez Mr. Stone`s house and garden are lovely places to return to – to the quiet beauty of former times and a warm hospitality.

Brigitte and Juergen Lange
Berlin, Germany
March 2008

  • Liked — private piano concert
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank jubrila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, AR.
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2008

Antebellum Music Room B&B was the perfect vacation! The
room (suite) was spotless, comfortable and beautifully
decorated with period furniture. But Joseph Stone, the owner,
was the best part of the stay! He is a very intelligent and
interesting person. He prepared us wonderfully delicious
breakfasts every morning. A wonderful piano concerto with
wine was included, as well as access to his handsome billiard
room. Mr. Stone was also helpful with restaurant suggestions,
directions, etc. And of course, his knowledge of Natchez history
and his family's heritage was immense. I will definitely stay
at "The Stone House" the next time I visit Natchez!

  • Liked — Everything!
  • Disliked — I liked everything!
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Janiceleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Natchez hotels
0.9 mi away
Monmouth Historic Inn Natchez
0.6 mi away
Natchez Grand Hotel
Natchez Grand Hotel
#3 of 16 in Natchez
4.0 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
0.9 mi away
Starling's Rest Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Devereaux Shields House
Devereaux Shields House
#4 of 41 in Natchez
5.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
1.0 mi away
Linden Bed and Breakfast
0.5 mi away
1888 Wensel House B&B
1888 Wensel House B&B
#8 of 41 in Natchez
5.0 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stone House Musical B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stone House Musical B&B

Property: Stone House Musical B&B
Address: 804 Washington St, Natchez, MS 39120-3566 (Formerly J.N. Stone House Musicale B&B)
Location: United States > Mississippi > Natchez
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Natchez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This unique B&B includes a private classical piano concert with wine, and a gallery of rare maps, prints & books. A generous hot breakfast is served in the dining room on antique Limoges china. Among the smallest B&B's in Natchez, it includes the Master Bedroom and a Cottage with two bedrooms. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing