We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderfully unique”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Stone House Musical B&B
Ranked #1 of 40 Natchez B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sugar Land, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Wonderfully unique”
Reviewed October 31, 2013 via mobile

I heartily agree with all of the positive reviews below. Joe is a warm and gracious host and a marvelous cook. His home and its furnishings are lovely, and you will thoroughly enjoy his musical program. It addition, if you are interested in antique maps and prints, you will love perusing Joe's amazing collection. We were very comfortable in the cottage, and hope to return.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heelergrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

488 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    483
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
91
285
6
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Spring, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2013

My wife & I spent two nights at Joe Stone's beautifully restored family home in Natchez on our way between Vicksburg & New Orleans. What a wonderful host, interesting man & gifted musician. The breakfasts each morning were delicious, the antique furnishings in the room & throughout the home wonderful to see, and to top it off, Joe treated us to a live classical piano recital one evening. This alone makes his B&B unique and worth the stay! Not sure when we'll visit Natchez again, but The Stone House will likely be where we'll stay.

Room Tip: The large room in the main house is excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CWHistoryNut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US Midwest
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

This bed and breakfast is a real gem. If you like a clean, quiet, room with tons of atmosphere, good food, and a warm gracious host, this is the place for you. There are many choices for rooms in Natchez, but after researching places to spend three nights with a couple of friends, the cottage seemed perfect. My friends told me more than once that I had made the right choice for our base in Natchez. We loved the Stone House. The compact cottage attached to the house by a porch/deck has two bedrooms plus an entrance room which is furnished and served as extra space in which we stored belongings and gathered to chat. The attached private deck also provides a spot for reading or chatting. Each of us found space to place our luggage and to store toiletries and clothing. The cottage was totally quiet. In addition, I wouldn’t hesitate to stay in the bedroom in the main house because the location is sufficiently private to ensure a quiet, undisturbed night’s sleep.

Other reviews describe the amazing house. It truly is like a museum yet is livable and lovely. In addition to the history and the furnishings, there are some unique architectural features worth a visit. Joe Stone’s personal collections, tastefully arranged through the rooms, also provide additional interest.

Joe is a warm Southern gentleman who is a Juilliard trained musician with an impressive performance resume. Attending one of his musicales in the home is a real treat for guests with varying levels of musical sophistication. Joe’s program is enjoyable not only for the musicality and technical skill he demonstrates, but because it is varied and is introduced with brief descriptions of each piece. We knew what to expect from each selection and how to listen. In the intimate setting of a music room, the experience was far superior to that of a concert hall where the performer is so far from the listener. Where else can one have a superior stay at a bed and breakfast and also have an incredible musical experience? This place is amazing.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashley341
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natchez, Mississippi
1 review
Reviewed October 7, 2013

My husband and I stayed in Natchez for two nights at the Stone House and were so happy we did!
The accommodations were perfect. Joe's breakfast was fabulous and his concert was incredible. We also thoroughly enjoyed his knowledge of the area as it pertained to his family and the Civil War. It was truly a history lesson. Would definitely go back!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carmadog23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selma, Alabama
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 2, 2013

The Joseph Stone House is truly worth a visit. Mr. Stone is a pleasant and gracious host, and his concert is both soothing and uplifting--his music choices and his skills at the piano are exceptional. The Stone House is elegant, the furnishings are quality, and the atmosphere is casual and homey. The bed and breakfast accomodations are first rate. The man has done a superb job restoring his home to its former condition. Most of all, Mr. Stone gives you a history lesson of his family and the Natchez area that he connects to portraits and photos in his home. From the time you drive up until you get into your car to leave the experience is one of complete enjoyment. In this house you feel like you are in the 19th century, especially when you are in the billiard room. The map collection is a real treat.

Room Tip: Stay in the front bedroom, It is "homey luxury."
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marcel b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
563 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 240 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We started our 16 night vacation with two nights at the Stone house and what a way to start a trip. We elected to stay in the addition for privacy and we loved it. Quiet, excellent beds and furnishings.
Great Breakfast.
Great and knowledgable host.
My favorite part was the concert. I felt that alone was worth the stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joedvet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langley City, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

The extensive history and lavish furnishings made for a fascinating stay. It was only outdone by the hospitality of Mr Stone. His delicious food and his impressive musical talent was truly enjoyed by us, as well as the many great conversations we had.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MattKrieger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Natchez hotels
0.9 mi away
Starlings Natchez
Starlings Natchez
#3 of 17 in Natchez
203 reviews
0.6 mi away
Natchez Grand Hotel
Natchez Grand Hotel
#4 of 17 in Natchez
622 reviews
0.9 mi away
Monmouth Historic Inn & Gardens Natchez
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Devereaux Shields House
Devereaux Shields House
#4 of 40 in Natchez
342 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Natchez Pearl
The Natchez Pearl
#5 of 40 in Natchez
83 reviews
0.1 mi away
GardenSong B&B
GardenSong B&B
#7 of 40 in Natchez
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stone House Musical B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stone House Musical B&B

Property: Stone House Musical B&B
Address: 804 Washington St, Natchez, MS 39120-3566 (Formerly J.N. Stone House Musicale B&B)
Location: United States > Mississippi > Natchez
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Natchez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Stone House Musical B&B 3.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This unique B&B includes a private classical piano concert with wine, and a gallery of rare maps, prints & books. A generous hot breakfast is served in the dining room on antique Limoges china. Among the smallest B&B's in Natchez, it includes the Master Bedroom and a Cottage with two bedrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Stone House Musical B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing