We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Mother's Day Weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Stone House Musical B&B
Ranked #2 of 41 Natchez B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 12, 2013

An excellent place to relax and enjoy the city of Natchez. Quiet, peaceful & walking distance from the heart of the city. The Host, Joe Stone does an outstanding job of everything. Breakfast was excellent, the cottage is very well kept, Joe gave great recommendations on restaurants, events & attractions the city had to offer. This was our first trip to Natchez & we will definitely return soon.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Joey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (508)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

268 - 274 of 508 reviews

Reviewed May 7, 2013

This was the perfect place for a "girlfriend getaway" for me and two friends. We stayed "out back" in the cottage,but were just steps away from the delicious breakfasts Joe served each morning. They were truly exceptional. Joe is a very charming and informative host. His family home is filled with interesting history and memorabilia and he generously shares that with his guests. He is also a very talented pianist and treats his guests to an afternoon concert (with wine!!) during their stay. The location is excellent...a nice quiet area within peasant walking distance to the river, restaurants and bars, several of the old antebellum mansions and historic churches and shopping. We had a wonderful trip to Natchez and staying at Joe's B&B made it that much more enjoyable.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

This is a wonderful B&B. It is unique (in a good way). We were in the cottage, which was clean and quiet.

We have found sometimes at a B&B that the hosts have been doing it a little too long. Maybe the dream has turned to drudgery. Not here. Joe is a great host. A southern gentleman.

It is a pleasant walk to the historic district. The concert was delightful. If you are staying in Natchez, you need to check this place out.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2013

This cottage mansion was the perfect place for my girlfriend birthday weekend. The antique filled 2 bedroom cottage, attached to the home by a porch-way, was very comfortable. Located in the historic district, we were within walking distance to the downtown area. Our host, Joe Stone, was just charming! This gentle soul has a wealth of knowledge to share and is extremely talented. His concert was fabulous. If you love music, his concert is a MUST on your Natchez to do list. He is a great cook, too. He delighted us each morning with a delicious breakfast served on beautiful antique china. He even got up early to pack us a special "to go" breakfast when we had to leave very early to start our long trip back home. Thanks to our charming host, this was a very memorable trip.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jpolka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

My husband and I spent one night last week at the wonderful J.N. Stone House Musicale B&B. The owner, Joe Stone, spent so much time with us describing each room in the house. He discussed how he restored the family house to its present glory and delighted us with his explanation of the family relics in each room. It was a fascinating walk through history! Each evening Joe performs a classical recital for his guests. We sat there mesmerized by the details he provided before each piece that he played. His playing is exquisite! Joe also furnishes wine for the concert. Our room was very comfortable, and the breakfast the following morning was delicious--a real gourmet treat. Our stay at the Stone House was the highlight of our Natchez visit. We can highly recommend this delightful B&B!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carolinaclaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Stone House Bed and Breakfast in March. We loved getting to know Joe. He was full of great advice on which antebelllum homes to visit, which restaurants to eat at, the history of Natchez, how he is related to half of the town, and all the local attractions. Joe performed an exquisite hour long piano concert (from memory)...taking time in between each piece to explain its' time period,style and significance. His college and graduate work in music is impressive. Joe set up billiards in the billiards room for us to play; serving us wine to help improve my game. He then spent an hour or more discussing classical music with my husband who can never get enough of that stuff :) He next went with us to find the best BBQ in town. (his cousin owns it!) Joe gave us a tour of the Stone House, explaining the antiques and history. One of my favorite objects on display was a signed note from Harper Lee (To Kill a Mockingbird) to Joe's mother, who she grew up with. All this, and Joe makes a killer breakfast too! We have tried to recreate his lemon basil poached egg dish, but it is not the same. Maybe because I didn't bother to serve it on Limoges china. My husband and I had a wonderful stay in Natchez, but the hi-light was definitely getting to know the talented Joe Stone and the history of Stone House. (that BBQ is a pretty close second :)

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

We spent 3 nights during a visit to Natchez at the Stone House. Our host, Joe Stone, whose family has owned and lived in the house longer than my family has been in America, made our stay comfortable and memorable. In fact, it is hard to judge his B&B against others because the experience at Stone House is one of a kind. Where else does the host provide his guest with a personal, professional, concert? Many stately homes have a music room, but Joe filled his with music. "Our" concert, shared with only one other couple, was the highlight of our trip. Mr. Stone is not only a polished musician, he is a son of Natchez, the scion of an old Natchez family, with a knowledge broad and deep of the history of that place, and he is a charming and voluble raconteur, willing to share.
The house itself is historic, starting life in a different century as a rich man's billiards pavilion and later expanding into a residence, and is furnished with history and art and what would be called artifacts if it weren't that they are actually the Stone family's possessions that have come down to Joe over the years. The setting is on a residential street, quiet and safe, but just a short walk from restaurants and shops, and parking was not a problem.
Joe Stone prepares the breakfast himself. If our three breakfasts were a proper sampling, he knows what he is doing and it is delicious and authentic. Tiny deep-south style biscuits, warm and buttery, shared a basket with miniature scones, flavored with vanilla or jam. The house specialty, a ham preparation whose recipe is secret until you ask Joe, is redolent of maple and spices. The egg dishes varied from delicately poached to tender quiches. Breakfast was not only delicious, but was made additionally enjoyable by good conversation.
I am not a B&B guy: I have spent decades as a business traveler and normally much prefer the services and anonymity of a hotel. However, I am making a definite exception for Stone House and it's host, and our new friend.

Room Tip: There is one room in the main house; the other "room" is a cottage next door. Both are nic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ZedOConnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Natchez hotels
0.9 mi away
Monmouth Historic Inn & Gardens Natchez
0.4 mi away
Dunleith
Dunleith
#6 of 18 in Natchez
273 reviews
0.6 mi away
Natchez Grand Hotel
Natchez Grand Hotel
#3 of 18 in Natchez
671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Brandon Hall Plantation
Brandon Hall Plantation
#4 of 41 in Natchez
125 reviews
0.8 mi away
Devereaux Shields House
Devereaux Shields House
#5 of 41 in Natchez
370 reviews
0.1 mi away
GardenSong B&B
GardenSong B&B
#6 of 41 in Natchez
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stone House Musical B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stone House Musical B&B

Address: 804 Washington St, Natchez, MS 39120-3566 (Formerly J.N. Stone House Musicale B&B)
Location: United States > Mississippi > Natchez
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Natchez
Price Range: $148 - $156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Stone House Musical B&B 3.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This unique B&B includes a private classical piano concert with wine, and a gallery of rare maps, prints & books. A generous hot breakfast is served in the dining room on antique Limoges china. Among the smallest B&B's in Natchez, it includes the Master Bedroom and a Cottage with two bedrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia and Orbitz so you can book your Stone House Musical B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing