We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Great tour guide

The mansion is amazingly beautiful and well worth the visit. Out of the many homes we visited this... read more

Reviewed 2 days ago
thereses265
,
Fort Walton Beach, Florida
via mobile
Excellent Docent

A friend and mine made a beeline to Stanton on our first (and hopefully not last) trip to Natchez... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Mfgib197
,
Atlanta, Georgia
Read all 736 reviews
  
Reviews (736)
Filter reviews
687 results
Traveler rating
428
187
51
16
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
428
187
51
16
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the carriage house restaurant tour guide biscuits fried chicken beautiful house patrick swayze antebellum homes original furnishings family members front door period furniture old house gift shop lovely home second floor bed and breakfast my favorite
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 687 reviews
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

The mansion is amazingly beautiful and well worth the visit. Out of the many homes we visited this weekend, Stanton provided one of the best tours. Our guide new her history well, and included anecdotal notes about the family, the local culture and how the two were intertwined. She projected her voice to make sure everyone was included and managed the tour well so each person had the opportunity to see each exhibit. The discussion was about the whole living experience of this antebellum home including information about those who served the family.

Thank thereses265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

A friend and mine made a beeline to Stanton on our first (and hopefully not last) trip to Natchez. We both love Southern history and antebellum architecture and were highly impressed with our young tour guide. I made the comment that this was one of the best historical-landmark tours I've ever taken (and I can be a discriminating critic since I have a Masters and almost PhD in American history).

Thank Mfgib197
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

The surroundings to the house are lovely and the house is large and well-appointed. The guide was exceedingly well informed and gave us a lot of great history about the area and era as well as about the home. At the end of the tour is a small but nice gift shop. The tour did take a little more time than some people could spare, and one problem was that there was nowhere for people to sit and take a load off their feet if need be. So go but don't plan to take off in a hurry, because it is worth hearing all that the guide has to share. We were glad we included this mansion in our day's visit to Natchez.

Thank Moniquepeep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Beautiful antebellum home. Tour guide was wonderful and very informative. The inside of the home is just as breath taking as the outside. Definitely worth the visit.

Thank Rebecca W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

old plantation with beautiful gardens and a great restaurant for lunch or dinner....easy walk from any hotel or bed and breakfast

Thank buzitaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

A beautiful home with stunning architecture and grand furnishings! Very neat and informative tour! I plan on returning!

Thank mander8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

From the carpet to the ceiling your eyes will not be bored. The history you gain from the guide is amazing... They are one of a kind. We throughly enjoyed our tour here as well as the lunch which is available on site. We spent 3 hours here just walking and looking once our tour was over. This stop is a must.

Thank Heather G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We attending the biannual concert "All Shook Up" at Stanton Hall. The "concert" is a very small audience with a duet performing. The singer and musician are far beyond talented and covered over 8 different styles of music. Their love of Mississippi and music was infectous. Do not miss this if your stay allows you to attend this delightful concert.

Thank melori4937
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Been to many old large houses in the past. This is just an old large house that was built by a plantation owner. Not impressed. If you like big old houses this tour is for you. Rating... fair.

Thank Iralgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2018

This was the most beautifully appointed home we visited. It was huge with elaborate plaster decorative touches, beautiful gasoliers, furniture, carpets - the best of everything at that time. The dining room was huge with over 500 pieces of the original China. Our guide was the epitome of a Southern lady with her soft voice and charming demeanor. She was devoted to the preservation of this mansion and teaching its history to visitors.
The Carriage House restaurant on the property had delicious southern cuisine and tiny soft biscuits. Highly recommend visiting the mansion and restaurant.

1  Thank Susan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews