We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Devereaux Shields House
Ranked #7 of 41 Natchez B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 22, 2009

I just stayed at this B&B and was pleasantly suprised to see the room. It was so pretty and clean. We stayed in Aunt Clara's carraige house with our 2 pugs. The owners were very nice and helped us pick out a restaurant that evening. They recommended Center City Bistro which is Greek but has something for everyone. The food there was very good especially the oyster appetizer. The breakfast we had at the B&B was very good with great service from the friendly staff there. I would absolutely stay there again. It felt like a home away from home since the people were so nice. I left my purse on the front porch and the staff there tracked me down to give it to me. Very nice!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1020mbc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (362)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

332 - 338 of 362 reviews

Reviewed September 9, 2008

I stayed in the Devereaux Shieds cottage for one night and enjoyed my stay. This cottage was just down the street from the main house. My room was very comfortable and clean. The owners provide a communal fridge for their guests in the dining area. The breakfast in the morning was substantial. I headed out to the Frogmore Plantation in the morning and enjoyed this historical site.

Downtown was a 10 minute walk, so all the main attractions are within walking distance.

  • Stayed: August 2008
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank MarathonTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2008

During our Southern States tour in March 08 we stayed for one night in the Devereaux-Shields House. I must say that our stay was really pleasant.

The proprietors, Ron and Eleanor Fry, were very kind and hospitable. Ron gave as a private tour thru the house after our arrival, explaining us the history of the building. The suites are large, pleasantly and carefully decorated according to the style of the house. Everything was perfectly clean.

For our next stay in Natchez we will certainly book rooms in the Devereaux-Shields-House again.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank AK7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2008

Our family enjoyed a two-night stay in Natchez during Spring Pilgrimage. Eleanor and Ron were both welcoming and knowledgeable about the area. The Rose Suite, two large bedrooms with shared bath, was ideal for our family. The master bedroom was very spacious and the king-sized bed was very comfortable. The adjoining bedroom contained a queen sleigh bed and another TV, to our teenage daughter's delight. It's often difficult to find B&B accommodations for three, so we were quite pleased. We enjoyed delicious breakfasts as well as the sodas and water available anytime of day. My husband and daughter enjoyed coffee each morning in the upstairs nook overlooking the garden. A very pleasant stay!

Stayed: March 2008
Thank ShariLKB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2007

Lovely surroundings, tasty breakfasts, caring hosts made our
3 day stay very pleasant.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank bluesox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2007

What a wonderful visit to such a beautiful city and an ever relaxing Bed n Breakfast. We recommend this whole heartedly.
Ron and Eleanor were so welcoming and made us feel so at home. We can't wait to return.

Stayed: December 2006
2  Thank hotshot22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled with family
Thank Carambarcoco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Natchez hotels
0.6 mi away
Natchez Grand Hotel
Natchez Grand Hotel
#4 of 17 in Natchez
655 reviews
1.0 mi away
Monmouth Historic Inn & Gardens Natchez
0.8 mi away
Stone House Musical B&B
Stone House Musical B&B
#1 of 41 in Natchez
502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
Brandon Hall Plantation
Brandon Hall Plantation
#4 of 41 in Natchez
117 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Natchez Pearl
The Natchez Pearl
#5 of 41 in Natchez
90 reviews
0.8 mi away
Bisland House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Devereaux Shields House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Devereaux Shields House

Address: 709 N Union St, Natchez, MS 39120-2950
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Mississippi > Natchez
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Natchez
Price Range: $135 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Devereaux Shields House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to a comfortable balance of peace, style, history and hospitality at our Natchez bed and breakfast conveniently located in the historic district of Natchez, Mississippi. Step into the past in 6 elegant rooms in our Victorian main house and charming Victorian Cottage. All rooms have private baths, great beds and a full Southern-style breakfast, free Internet, snacks & beverages. Enjoy Southern Hospitality at its Best – because it’s not what we do, it’s who we are. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Devereaux Shields House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing