We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pilgramage to Natchez”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Devereaux Shields House
Ranked #4 of 41 Natchez B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Pilgramage to Natchez”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

We actually stayed in Aunt Clara's Cottage just down the street from Devereaux Shields but owned by Nancy and Ron. Aunt Clara's was very charming. The room was large and very clean and had a very nice bathroom. Nancy and Ron were very charming and hospitable and the breakfasts were wonderful. We were a little concerned at first because we had to go through what appeared to be a bad part of town but once we got to the location we were very pleased. We would actually stay there again.

Room Tip: All of the rooms we saw looked very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fogbelt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VictorianComfort, Owner at Devereaux Shields House, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear “Pilgrimage to Natchez” Guests,

We appreciate your kind comments regarding our beautiful B&B, luxury amenities and the fine southern hospitality that we strive to provide our Natchez guests. We do wish to help educate you further on your characterization of Natchez and perhaps better appreciate our city. The current structure of Natchez housing is an outgrowth of its historical beginnings and subsequent development. Our many large antebellum homes, the most surviving the Civil War within the U.S., were originally constructed upon very large plots of land. Small homes were initially constructed near the antebellum homes to support working staff, which planted the seeds for both whites and blacks to live together. You did explain that some countries such as South Africa may have different practices. As Natchez developed, additional homes were subsequently built as smaller pieces of land were sold off throughout the city as times became harder due to post-Civil War events, Depression and decline in the strength of the region’s cotton industry. Our beautiful city of today enjoys a rich history that benefits from contributions of many cultures, including the Natchez Indians, French, British, Spanish and finally our early Americans. We will be celebrating these many contributions in our tri-centennial in 2017 as the first settlement on the Mississippi River with many plans in the works. We look forward to helping you to enjoy your return stays and appreciate our Natchez heritage.

Ron & Eleanor
Owners/Innkeepers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    289
    41
    8
    2
    0
See reviews for
66
203
4
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
King's Lynn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Everything you would expect from a top class B&B in a historic house - stayed in Victoria room at Aunt Clara's cottage which was delightfully furnished. From the welcoming drink when we arrived, to the tour of Ron's model railway before we left, the whole experience was exceptional.

Breakfast was a high spot, as others have noted and a special mention must go to the staff, who were helpful, friendly and efficient.

Natchez is a charming place, Ron and Eleanor are the perfect hosts and they will ensure you get the best out of your stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CMOTD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Our family of 4 was so happy to find accomodations in Natchez at a Bed and Breakfast that allowed us to stay together in one room. Our girls aged 13 and 9 loved the antiques and the 4-poster canopy bed in Aunt Clara's Cottage which is just down the street from the main house. Our hosts were so nice and helpful and the breakfast was just delicious. There were other people in the cottage but it was quiet unless you wished to go out and visit in the common room. We hope to go back again one day.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Alice Room. It has one queen bed and one double.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Charles, Louisiana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

We found Devereaux Shields on the internet and wasn't sure what to expect. Although the pictures were beautiful they didn't do justice to the charm and beauty of Devereaux Shields. As we drove up to the house, there were candles glowing in all the windows to welcome us. The grounds were emaculate with beautiful landscaping and the peaceful sounds of waterfalls and fountains. As we entered the house the charm and beauty of the south surrounded you everywhere....The level of excellence was evident in every room as even the smallest details were tended to from the cleanliness of the rooms to the aroma of fresh brewed morning coffee on the table outside our room awaiting us each morning. We stayed in the Rose suite and it was absolutely wonderful. The rooms were spacious, the beds were comfortable and the southern decor was charming. Ron and Eleanor were wonderful hosts. The breakfast was excellent and beyond what we expected. Eleanor's recipes were fabulous. We enjoyed the whole experience.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 807Tami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoover, AL
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

The Devereaux Shields B&B has 2 properties on the same block and we stayed at the cottage. We checked into the main house and the owner, Ron (a retired rocket scientist), was informative and helpful and took us for a tour of the upstairs of the main house - it was chuck full of wonderful furniture you would expect in a southern gentry home.
The breakfast was served in the cottage and was a three course tasty (dare I say gourmet) breakfast. After breakfast, we went to Longwood, the tour was well worth the time spent -very interesting.
Ron and Elenor both reccomended the Cotton Alley Cafe. We would definately give it 4 stars - It was wonderful. Of the three places we tried, Cotton Alley was the best.

Room Tip: the rooms in the main house are upstairs, the cottage rooms are all on 1 level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tori0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Our room was spacious and well appointed. We had a nice breakfast the next morning and met lively charming people who gave us some good travel tips about sites to see. They particularly recommended visiting Longwood and we agree.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AudenHoggart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temple, Texas
Level Contributor
94 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Natchez is a typical charming Southern town and the Devereaux Shields house is a perfect compliment to the city. It oozes with "Southern Hospitality". Ron and Eleanor are the perfect hosts and we enjoyed every minute of our stay. We stayed in the "Elmo" room in Clara's cottage and it was perfect. The room is beautifully appointed with an intricately carved King size headboard and footboard. The bedspread and window covering were also beautiful. The linens were so soft and felt delightful when you slipped between the sheets in the evening. We loved sitting on the front porch and visiting with our "new friends" who were also staying there. Elmo's room is on the same side of the hallway as the kitchen and dining area, so there were no other rooms next to ours. I was afraid we would keep others up while watching tv, but I never heard any noise from any other guests, so hopefully they didn't hear any from us. The breakfasts were wonderful. They start off with a bowl of fresh fruit which is full of 5 or 6 different fruits, and biscuits. The first day we had quiche and the second day we had eggs benedict casserole. Both were excellent. While we were eating, our room was being tended to, as I noticed that a Make-up towel that I used was removed. Everything about the room was first class and clean. Ron was so helpful with dinner recommendations. He called in a reservation for us at Magnolia Grille and when we got there our table was by the window so we could watch the sun set over the Mississippi. The best part of staying here was the comraderie of guests. What fun it is to meet other people from around the World and find what is different or the same with each of us. This was our first visit at a B & B, but it won't be our last.

If you're a model train fan, ask Ron to see his Train Room. Impressive!

Room Tip: Loved the Elmo. Big bedroom and roomy bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TXFlowerLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Natchez hotels
1.0 mi away
Monmouth Historic Inn & Gardens Natchez
0.6 mi away
Natchez Grand Hotel
Natchez Grand Hotel
#3 of 16 in Natchez
614 reviews
0.8 mi away
Stone House Musical B&B
Stone House Musical B&B
#1 of 41 in Natchez
485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Starling's
Starling's
#5 of 41 in Natchez
202 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Natchez Pearl
The Natchez Pearl
#6 of 41 in Natchez
82 reviews
9.0 mi away
Brandon Hall Plantation
Brandon Hall Plantation
#7 of 41 in Natchez
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Devereaux Shields House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Devereaux Shields House

Property: Devereaux Shields House
Address: 709 N Union St, Natchez, MS 39120-2950
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Mississippi > Natchez
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Natchez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Devereaux Shields House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to a comfortable balance of peace, style, history and hospitality at the Devereaux Shields House conveniently located in the historic district of Natchez, Mississippi. Step into the past in 6 elegant rooms in our Victorian main house and charming Victorian Cottage. All rooms have private baths, great beds and a full Southern-style breakfast, free Internet, snacks & beverages. Enjoy Southern Hospitality at its Best – because it’s not what we do, it’s who we are. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Devereaux Shields House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing